English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 October 2003, 19:10   #21
yadster
Junior Member
yadster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Yorkshire UK
Age: 47
Posts: 160
Why don't you try an old game that probably doesn't take up much memory to see if that works. I'm guessing something like Bubble Bobble would be a good place to start but I'm sure others will be able to suggest some more.
yadster is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 09 October 2003, 21:10   #22
Mozzy
Registered User
Mozzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: England
Age: 37
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally posted by Mozzy
i can only GET moonstone and cannonfodder 2 to install and run :/ all the rest have that cant allocate message.. even basejumpers which is one disk and is well bizzare
to be honest im thinking of putting the comp back on ebay as i thought id be able to do a lot more with a stock machine. as it stands i have 2 working whdloads and a standard install of gunship 2000 aga (which refuses to work on joystick )
however that would render me amigaless
Mozzy is offline  
Old 09 October 2003, 22:59   #23
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,129
Or you could go the other route, buy a cheap second hand accelerator card with any extra memory (hell even 2Mb fast would mean 95% of WHDLoad games would run) and you'll have a much better machine.

With 8Mb and above you will not know how you lived without it!
Codetapper is offline  
Old 09 October 2003, 23:17   #24
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,956
Dude, give it a chance. There's somethng you are doing wrong with it, since with a meg and a half loads of OCS games WILL run.
Akira is offline  
Old 09 October 2003, 23:23   #25
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,552
Gary got 200 games running from CD on a stock CD32!

Now if he can do that then the 1200 is perfect!!

You need to check your WB settings, and you have all the needed files etc..

Also if you are booting to WB then use the ICONS!!

Have a browse around the net and download some ready made installs.. check that the Preload option within the Icon Tooltypes isn't set and you should be fine
BippyM is offline  
Old 10 October 2003, 02:16   #26
gary
Junior Member
gary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Australia
Age: 44
Posts: 276
Quote:
Originally posted by Mozzy
roughly 1.45 - 1.65 mb
Theres your problem right there. Unless you can get hold of a fast ram expansion card, BOOT WITHOUT A STARTUP SEQUENCE. ou should have about 1.8 meg free. How big is your hard drive? Maybe the hard drive buffers are chewing up too much memory.

AVAIL ; <- How much memory do you have free?
cd GAMEDIRECTORY
WHDLOAD GAME.SLAVE PRELOAD NOVBRMOVE

Also, you may like to try some of the smaller pre-AGA games first plenty of which will work assuming you don't fill your system with rubbish first. (eg: Buggyboy/Bubblebobble/IK+/StuntCarRacer/Lotus1,2,3/etc..) Forget Workbench it just wastes memory which you desperately need, use the CLI.

To boot without a startup-sequence you will need to hold down both mouse buttons while the system starts up and then select that option from the menu which appears.
gary is offline  
Old 10 October 2003, 13:39   #27
Mozzy
Registered User
Mozzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: England
Age: 37
Posts: 82
yeah i figured that boot without startup for myself and i figured out what should be a working command line

whdload gamename.slave <preload if it worked if not i leave it out>


and i got a 1200 to be able to experience the aga games, if i cant play em i may as well just flog the machine and try and fix my 600.

i was never really attatched to the amiga scene anyway (in the way that i am to the c64) and i only really liked one or 2 games (most being ones i either cant run or have to register whdload for
Mozzy is offline  
Old 10 October 2003, 21:56   #28
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,956
Pfffff.
Akira is offline  
Old 10 October 2003, 22:08   #29
yadster
Junior Member
yadster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Yorkshire UK
Age: 47
Posts: 160
My Spectrum 128K is better than your C64
yadster is offline  
Old 11 October 2003, 11:04   #30
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Sounds like you need to install the Classic WB Lite designed for exactly this kind of situation...........
.........and as for playing AGA games read the text files, specifically the tiips & FAQ, that come along with it. It'll explain how to run AGA games even if you only have 2MB chip.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 11 October 2003, 14:26   #31
Mozzy
Registered User
Mozzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: England
Age: 37
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally posted by yadster
my spectrum 128k is better than your c64!
blasphema!
Mozzy is offline  
Old 11 October 2003, 16:10   #32
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
Evil grin

Quote:
Originally posted by yadster
My Spectrum 128K is better than your C64

Hmm is that why the speccy outsold the c64?? Oh wait it didnt even come close did it?
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 11 October 2003, 18:38   #33
ant512
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 942
Quote:
Originally posted by Unknown_K
Hmm is that why the speccy outsold the c64?? Oh wait it didnt even come close did it?
In Britain, the Speccy was the dominant 8-bit computer.
ant512 is offline  
Old 13 October 2003, 02:34   #34
gary
Junior Member
gary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Australia
Age: 44
Posts: 276
Quote:
and i got a 1200 to be able to experience the aga games, if i cant play em i may as well just flog the machine and try and fix my 600.
Well you can always use floppies or the hard drive installable AGA games and CD32 conversions. But in this case the WHDload AGA games usually require some fast ram. I really just don't want people to think a standard A1200 is not useful for playing WHDload games.
Personally my favourite Amiga games were non AGA anyway. The demos were usually better though

Quote:
In Britain, the Speccy was the dominant 8-bit computer.
My Spectrum 128K is better than your C64
It is 2003. Surely this debate is over by now?
gary is offline  
Old 13 October 2003, 02:45   #35
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,552
Next week it'll be Amiga vs ST
BippyM is offline  
Old 13 October 2003, 12:41   #36
yadster
Junior Member
yadster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Yorkshire UK
Age: 47
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally posted by yadster
My Spectrum 128K is better than your C64
I was only having a larf. I had great fun with my Speccy and even more fun with my Amiga. It's just I can't help but laugh when people say "ooh my PS2 is better than the X-Box" or whatever - nothing changes from when I were a lad and I doubt it will. I'm proud of my Amiga - nuff said.
yadster is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mediator 1200 TX and LT4 In Stock At AmigaKit.com amigakit.com MarketPlace 0 08 August 2012 22:07
Indivision 1200 question /out of stock? CFOU! support.Hardware 21 21 December 2009 22:37
WHDLoad: UAE vs. Stock A1200 r.cade support.Hardware 8 20 June 2007 20:12
Possible to run cd32 games on an stock 1200? _ThEcRoW support.Other 17 20 September 2006 16:19
whdload problem on stock 1200 Unregistered support.Games 25 07 June 2006 19:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22274 seconds with 11 queries