English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 October 2003, 23:31   #1
Enverex
Fantasy Man!

Enverex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,318
Lightbulb Amiga <<>> PC file Transfer

The latest version of the Linux Kernel (2.6 Alpha 6) has AmigaFFS support and it is no longer in exprermental state.

Now I had a thought that if you needed to transfer lots from your PC to Amiga or visa versa then all you need to do is put the Amigas HD in your PC (a 2.5" external drive bay is the best idea) mount it, then you can copy whatever you want to, or from the drive).

Just a thought for large files or bigger scale work.

I am just compiling the new Kernel on my Laptop so I will report how it goes when I have it all set up.

Apparently you can also mount ADF files as drives too, which means you can easily copy from disk images to the Amiga drive.

Last edited by Enverex; 02 October 2003 at 23:59.
Enverex is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 October 2003, 00:46   #2
Severin
Registered User
Severin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gloucester / UK
Posts: 700
Send a message via ICQ to Severin
alright for some

I'm on 2.4.21 here...
Severin is offline  
Old 03 October 2003, 00:54   #3
Enverex
Fantasy Man!

Enverex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,318
Quote:
Originally posted by Severin
alright for some

I'm on 2.4.21 here...
Then upgrade....... its not the hardest thing in the world
Enverex is offline  
Old 03 October 2003, 05:48   #4
Miggy2TheMax
Junior Member

Miggy2TheMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Australia
Age: 39
Posts: 374
Thats how I transfered most of my files, it works great just compress your amiga files before transfering, just for sanity check. The only problem that I came across was when I tried to do this with an ICD drive, the drive was plugged into a 1.3 A500. I think the Partition table must be controller specific or something wierd like that (not sure) because when i tried to either read the partition table or mount the drive it would not work. If anyone can shed light on this one it would be pretty kewl, but its not do or die have other miggy with HD and 2.04, and all is well there.
Miggy2TheMax is offline  
Old 03 October 2003, 14:25   #5
Severin
Registered User
Severin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gloucester / UK
Posts: 700
Send a message via ICQ to Severin
Quote:
Originally posted by NightShade737
Then upgrade....... its not the hardest thing in the world
I did, last week to 2.4.21... PPC debian is a bit behind i86... and I need customized kernal as well, not just a straight re-compile job

I've heard rumours that 2.4.23 will be released soon though

For what your doing, my 2.4.19 version supports amiga RDB devices as does 2.4.21

But if I want to copy files from my A4000 to my A1-XE, I just ftp them through a LAN

The easiest way to transfer stuff from PC to 1200 is the bung a PCMCIA network card in the 1200, forget about samba etc. just set up an ftp server on the pc and log onto it from the amiga through miami/genesis/termiteTCP and AmiTradeCenter/AmFTP etc...
Severin is offline  
Old 03 October 2003, 14:31   #6
Severin
Registered User
Severin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gloucester / UK
Posts: 700
Send a message via ICQ to Severin
Quote:
Originally posted by Miggy2TheMax
The only problem that I came across was when I tried to do this with an ICD drive, the drive was plugged into a 1.3 A500. I think the Partition table must be controller specific or something wierd like that
Yep, most A500 (And early zorro boards)harddrive systems used their own partitioning tables / installation / partitioning software. Make a backup of the driver disk, it is specific to that make of controller. you will also find that most if not all of them are incompatible with the standard RDB setup and hdtoolbox
Severin is offline  
Old 03 October 2003, 22:51   #7
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,282
I wonder if thsi filesystem could be added to Mac OS X, I would like to hook up the miggy drive to my iBook and then transfer teh shite through the LAN
Akira is offline  
Old 12 October 2003, 19:34   #8
Syko
Now got GSX750F :))
Syko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Halifax UK
Age: 53
Posts: 584
If you had removable HD bay on Amiga and Linux box, and run LinUAE, you could access HD directly???

Currently getting Mandrake 9.2 RC2 down, so will try when done...

Wonder if you could make LinAmiga, like Lindows - only better Wouldn't mind trying on a dual 64bit machine... time for cold shower!
Syko is offline  
Old 12 October 2003, 19:48   #9
Enverex
Fantasy Man!

Enverex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,318
Bah, my old 540MB Amiga drive really is dead, it even gives a different Name, ID and Serial number every time I plug it into my PC.

Oh well.

I cant get to my actual Amiga drive at the moment as my dad have moved everything back in the Attic to soundproof and finish the walls off so I can (eventually) move up there.

When I get it back I will check it out and see if it all works as planned......
Enverex is offline  
Old 13 October 2003, 00:22   #10
Mojo
Junior Member
Mojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: -
Posts: 132
Send a message via ICQ to Mojo Send a message via AIM to Mojo Send a message via Yahoo to Mojo
haha, linMiga Ive heard lindows is pretty poo...
Mojo is offline  
Old 13 October 2003, 11:11   #11
mtb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Italy
Age: 34
Posts: 442
Re: Amiga <<>> PC file Transfer

Quote:
Originally posted by NightShade737
The latest version of the Linux Kernel (2.6 Alpha 6) has AmigaFFS support and it is no longer in exprermental state.

Now I had a thought that if you needed to transfer lots from your PC to Amiga or visa versa then all you need to do is put the Amigas HD in your PC (a 2.5" external drive bay is the best idea) mount it, then you can copy whatever you want to, or from the drive).

Just a thought for large files or bigger scale work.

I am just compiling the new Kernel on my Laptop so I will report how it goes when I have it all set up.

Apparently you can also mount ADF files as drives too, which means you can easily copy from disk images to the Amiga drive.
Even if experimental, works fine also with 2.4 ( sometimes it doesn't recognize a partition ( eg. hdb2 ) and you have to reboot, but it isn't a great problem for me ). Also with 2.4 i possible to mount adf disks.
mtb is offline  
Old 14 October 2003, 17:21   #12
Syko
Now got GSX750F :))
Syko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Halifax UK
Age: 53
Posts: 584
If mtb's right, it looks like the LinAmiga is go...

Mojo; yea I thought of LinMiga, but figured if you don't hammer the point home, the PC crowd will never work it out OTOH, LinMiga wouldn't infringe any copyrights...
Syko is offline  
Old 14 October 2003, 17:53   #13
Mojo
Junior Member
Mojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: -
Posts: 132
Send a message via ICQ to Mojo Send a message via AIM to Mojo Send a message via Yahoo to Mojo
a new distro perhaps??
Mojo is offline  
Old 15 October 2003, 12:22   #14
mtb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Italy
Age: 34
Posts: 442
Quote:
Originally posted by Syko
If you had removable HD bay on Amiga and Linux box, and run LinUAE, you could access HD directly???

Currently getting Mandrake 9.2 RC2 down, so will try when done...

Wonder if you could make LinAmiga, like Lindows - only better Wouldn't mind trying on a dual 64bit machine... time for cold shower!
I dunno what is lindows, but note that linuae is far behind winuae, very far. No jit in primis ( there is a patch for 0.8.20, but nothing works, crashes always ), and also less stable.
mtb is offline  
Old 15 October 2003, 12:46   #15
Enverex
Fantasy Man!

Enverex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,318
Lindows is a Dirstrobution of Linux that looks like windows and runs some Windows software, but failed as it was quite yak.
Enverex is offline  
Old 16 October 2003, 12:11   #16
mtb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Italy
Age: 34
Posts: 442
Quote:
Originally posted by NightShade737
Lindows is a Dirstrobution of Linux that looks like windows and runs some Windows software, but failed as it was quite yak.
So LinAmiga won't run very well amiga software, but it can resemble quite close the amiga look with for example the window manager called amiwm, the shell script from amigashell, the filemanager called worker. Also there are various themes for various window managers with an amiga-like look.
mtb is offline  
Old 16 October 2003, 12:36   #17
Syko
Now got GSX750F :))
Syko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Halifax UK
Age: 53
Posts: 584
LindowsOS is a distro of Linux that uses Wine to run Windows s/w, the clever bit being that it can detect windows CD's, and autorun the installer through wine, giving virtualy transparent support. See here for details: http://www.lindows.com/ Walmart stock them in the US for $200... that's for an 800MHz Duron w/256MB RAM and onboard GFX, not the best spec ever, but it does everything most people need a computer for...

What I was thinking of, was having a minimum Linux install, running LinUAE. Yes I know they don't have Toni, so it's not as good as WinUAE but hey, you can't have everything, and this way you've effectively got AmigaOS running on fast as fuck h/w, big 3D cards, pro-quality sound cards, 100Mbs networks, the lot.

Because there's nothing but LinUAE running, there wouldn't be that much overhead, so you should get all the performance the emu can give... the other alternative would be to use the mini-version of Win98 with WinUAE, but that wouldn't be free and BG ain't likely to give permission...
Syko is offline  
Old 16 October 2003, 12:53   #18
mtb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Italy
Age: 34
Posts: 442
Quote:
Originally posted by Syko
LindowsOS is a distro of Linux that uses Wine to run Windows s/w, the clever bit being that it can detect windows CD's, and autorun the installer through wine, giving virtualy transparent support. See here for details: http://www.lindows.com/ Walmart stock them in the US for $200... that's for an 800MHz Duron w/256MB RAM and onboard GFX, not the best spec ever, but it does everything most people need a computer for...

What I was thinking of, was having a minimum Linux install, running LinUAE. Yes I know they don't have Toni, so it's not as good as WinUAE but hey, you can't have everything, and this way you've effectively got AmigaOS running on fast as fuck h/w, big 3D cards, pro-quality sound cards, 100Mbs networks, the lot.

Because there's nothing but LinUAE running, there wouldn't be that much overhead, so you should get all the performance the emu can give... the other alternative would be to use the mini-version of Win98 with WinUAE, but that wouldn't be free and BG ain't likely to give permission...
I have understood what you want to do, but all the performance the emu can give are not far from a std 4000 ( cpu faster but overall similar for what i remember ) on my p4 1800.

The idea is good, but the results are not so good imo.

But if you try it let me know your impressions.
mtb is offline  
Old 20 October 2003, 15:48   #19
Syko
Now got GSX750F :))
Syko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Halifax UK
Age: 53
Posts: 584
With WinXP Pro, Athlon1800, 512MB RAM, clocked GF3; I'm getting an 600MHz 68040 acording to the benchmarks (If I remember right...) and I'm pretty sure that's a little quicker than the 68040/40 in my A4000.....

and the p96 speed shows increased performance almost everywere as well...

without the performance overhead of XP, I reckon it should be even faster... Unfortunately LinUAE isn't as advanced as WinUAE coz Toni's the best!

Still, can't have everything!
Syko is offline  
Old 08 November 2003, 15:24   #20
mtb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Italy
Age: 34
Posts: 442
Quote:
Originally posted by Syko
With WinXP Pro, Athlon1800, 512MB RAM, clocked GF3; I'm getting an 600MHz 68040 acording to the benchmarks (If I remember right...) and I'm pretty sure that's a little quicker than the 68040/40 in my A4000.....

and the p96 speed shows increased performance almost everywere as well...

without the performance overhead of XP, I reckon it should be even faster... Unfortunately LinUAE isn't as advanced as WinUAE coz Toni's the best!

Still, can't have everything!
Take a look @ this project, seems really interesting.

I have tried it for few minutes and jit has not crashed . Note that takes a lot of time to compile with jit, if you are not experienced is better if you download the pre-compiled binary.
mtb is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
File Transfer Help needed. Amiga Junkie support.Hardware 12 09 July 2009 12:35
Amiga to PC file transfer over lan Uplink7 support.Hardware 3 07 January 2005 07:15
More Amiga - PC file transfer ant512 Amiga scene 2 14 October 2003 16:54
File transfer leongt New to Emulation or Amiga scene 2 23 June 2002 19:54
File Transfer Jamie support.Hardware 5 27 March 2002 02:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22687 seconds with 11 queries