English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 September 2003, 19:53   #1
Mozzy
Registered User
Mozzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: England
Age: 37
Posts: 82
relockick

we all know it was possible to downgrade the amigas kick rom temporarily with this app. but is there a similar method to UPgrade the rom?
Mozzy is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 26 September 2003, 20:07   #2
rattus
Registered User
rattus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 328
I think so...

I understand CD32 emulators (made for 1st generation A1200s) use this method to upgrade the KS3.0 to KS3.1 used by the CD32...
rattus is offline  
Old 26 September 2003, 21:20   #3
yadster
Junior Member
yadster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Yorkshire UK
Age: 48
Posts: 160
Funny you should say that I've just download a utility today called BlizzMagic from Aminet. I managed on my A1200 kickstart 3.0 with a Blizzard 030 to use this utilty to load a 3.1 kickstart rom on bootup and have managed to succesfully install OS3.5. Am gonna buy OS3.9 and see if I can do that as well. Only problem I had was when OS3.5 had installed it created a new startup sequence so had to edit that by booting my Workbench 3.0 floppy and use ED.

What I did was copy a 1200 3.1 kickstart and BlizzMagic in C and added the line "BlizzMagic C:kick31.rom near the start of the startup sequence. If I come across any problems I'll post them here.

Not sure if there are any similar utilities for standard Amigas though.
yadster is offline  
Old 26 September 2003, 22:34   #4
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,229
skick softkicks any kickstart into your Amiga. Provided you have the right kickstart, and relocation table... And enough extra memory.
Akira is offline  
Old 27 September 2003, 13:06   #5
lordsnooty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 36
I remember Relokick being given away on the front cover of a magazine. Possibly CU. Wasn't that illegal, since the disk had to contain an earlier kickstart ROM?
lordsnooty is offline  
Old 27 September 2003, 13:34   #6
ant512
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 943
Quote:
Originally posted by yadster
Funny you should say that I've just download a utility today called BlizzMagic from Aminet. I managed on my A1200 kickstart 3.0 with a Blizzard 030 to use this utilty to load a 3.1 kickstart rom on bootup and have managed to succesfully install OS3.5.
If you have a Blizzard, I recommend BlizKick. It is vastly superior to every other rekicker available.

For other boards, there are a couple of options. Apollo owners can use RemApollo, which can use BlizKick's add-in modules. For owners of other cards, I think that MuLib (MMU library that enables the use of virtual memory, etc) ships with a rekicker.

Relokick is unique in that it doesn't need an MMU (memory management unit, part of the CPU, and not fitted to the standard 68000 or 68020 chips) to function.
ant512 is offline  
Old 27 September 2003, 16:56   #7
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,229
Quote:
Originally posted by lordsnooty
Wasn't that illegal, since the disk had to contain an earlier kickstart ROM?
Well, yes!


And skick doesnt nmeed an MMU to work either. I used it on my A600 to softkick it into 3.0... Only catch is to get the exact ROM for the relocation tables you got. After that's done, you are set!
Akira is offline  
Old 27 September 2003, 23:06   #8
Mozzy
Registered User
Mozzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: England
Age: 37
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally posted by Akira
skick softkicks any kickstart into your Amiga. Provided you have the right kickstart, and relocation table... And enough extra memory.
ok i have a 600 with 2mb.... how do i suss the re alocation table?
Mozzy is offline  
Old 28 September 2003, 16:55   #9
adolescent
Powered by Motorola

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,064
Quote:
Originally posted by ant512
If you have a Blizzard, I recommend BlizKick. It is vastly superior to every other rekicker available.
Agreed. I use this on my B1260 and my A3640 and it works great. It also allows for a single boot 3.5 or 3.9 startup, which saves lots of time at boot.
adolescent is offline  
Old 28 September 2003, 22:39   #10
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,229
Quote:
Originally posted by Mozzy
ok i have a 600 with 2mb.... how do i suss the re alocation table?
It comes with skick, but you need to find the correct kickstart fopr each RTB. Read the DOCS
Akira is offline  
Old 30 September 2003, 16:05   #11
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,251
Quote:
Originally posted by lordsnooty
I remember Relokick being given away on the front cover of a magazine. Possibly CU. Wasn't that illegal, since the disk had to contain an earlier kickstart ROM?
No, because it was reported in various Amiga magazines at the time that C= had given permission for freeware releases of Relokick and similar degraders that included the Kickstart 1.3 rom image.

Prior to the release of these degraders there was near mass hysteria and confusion among A500 users who wanted to upgrade to A1200s, but feared that the majority of their existing software would be incompatible with the newer machine. Without C= giving permission for the release of Relokick and similar degraders, I imagine that hardware and games sales alike would have suffered a fair bit.
DrBong is offline  
Old 30 September 2003, 17:02   #12
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,229
Wouldn't that mean that Kickstart 1.3 is FREE for anyone who wants to use it in their amigas????
Akira is offline  
Old 30 September 2003, 17:12   #13
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,879
No....

It was a limited freeware license for the coverdisks it was released on. Once they dried up, that was it. So in essence, if you wanted to legally own the kickstart, you had to have an officially sanctioned disk (like the CU Amiga disk).
Galahad/FLT is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Relockick and IDE support Retro1234 support.Apps 6 06 April 2010 02:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07450 seconds with 12 queries