English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 October 2003, 23:24   #41
Antiriad
The Sacred Armour Of
Antiriad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sussex, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,141
right then. finally got the damn adaptor. turned a c64 tap into a wav and had it coming out of my amp at full blast and got nowt

Methinks that whole C64 arsecrap of starting and stopping is most likely to blame also.

So a no go Guess one day ill buy a 1541 but i really cant be arsed
Antiriad is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 09 October 2003, 23:27   #42
Mozzy
Registered User
Mozzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: England
Age: 37
Posts: 82
i have no problem playing it from my pc through the adapter to the c64s tape dec, faultless loads every time... its just when it comes to burning to cd. for some reason my discman just WONT play data it just cuts in at a random point works from the pcs soundcard tho and id also assume an mp3 player
Mozzy is offline  
Old 10 October 2003, 01:33   #43
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 1,441
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
Im still kicking myself since i got rid of a 1541
I picked it up from some house clearance, fully boxed and in mint condition! I never used it as i didnt have a c64!

Im also gutted as I had this kit from Rainbow Arts! it comprised of a cd with c64 games in audio format with a little gadjet that plugged into the tape port! didnt think it was much cop and sold it... only to find out the other day that this thing is ideal for all this mp3/wav lark
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 10 October 2003, 14:42   #44
Mozzy
Registered User
Mozzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: England
Age: 37
Posts: 82
get a 1541 off ebay, they seem to be relatively cheap at the moment i really want a 1541 II cos i have the old style 1541 and a c64c (the newer light coloured one) and they dont match
Mozzy is offline  
Old 10 October 2003, 20:50   #45
Antiriad
The Sacred Armour Of
Antiriad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sussex, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,141
so Mozzy, you CAN get this to work then?
Antiriad is offline  
Old 11 October 2003, 15:14   #46
Mozzy
Registered User
Mozzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: England
Age: 37
Posts: 82
from the pc soundcard yes absolutely every time ive had a perfect load. from the cd its another matter



say this is the cd track

[--------------------------------------------------------------]


when i burn to cd fro some reason itl just play like this


[................................----------------------..................]

where "------------------------" is any random chunk in the data sound and "...." is silence
Mozzy is offline  
Old 11 October 2003, 16:22   #47
Antiriad
The Sacred Armour Of
Antiriad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sussex, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,141
And do you use the same type of cassette tape shaped adaptor in a C2N then?

You see I also tried it in my Amstrad 464 and couldnt get it to work either

Am beginning to wonder whether its the conversion software too
Antiriad is offline  
Old 11 October 2003, 17:04   #48
Mozzy
Registered User
Mozzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: England
Age: 37
Posts: 82
i use a standard cd car kit


to get faultless loads from the pc soundcard you need to save your files as 8bit pcm mono format

to get writable to cd files that load (even though ive only got em to load from the soundcard and not the cd) you need to convert the 8bit pcm to 16bit pcm stereo then delete the left channel
Mozzy is offline  
Old 12 October 2003, 21:20   #49
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,287
You beast, that's why it wont work. Why are you deleting one channel? And surely the conversion from 8 bit to 16 bit will create some artifacts, time/pitch stretching or something. be careful, I bet there's a way to do it. Will look into it someday.
Akira is offline  
Old 13 October 2003, 15:05   #50
Mozzy
Registered User
Mozzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: England
Age: 37
Posts: 82
converting and deleting the channel isnt what kills it. i can get a perfect load every time from the converted and channel deleted sound file IF i play it through my pcs soundcard, the problem arises when putting it on cd
Mozzy is offline  
Old 13 October 2003, 16:18   #51
Antiriad
The Sacred Armour Of
Antiriad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sussex, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,141
In fact both my C64 and CPC WAV files were 8bit Mono too, 352kbps 44Hz, so i dont think this is the problem either.
Antiriad is offline  
Old 13 October 2003, 20:02   #52
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 1,441
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
@Mozzy

What are you using to master those audio cd's m8?
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 14 October 2003, 05:13   #53
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,287
Probably a problem at the CD writing phase or a problem of your CD player... does it have an outpput loud enough? This shit needs to be loud.
Akira is offline  
Old 19 October 2003, 03:38   #54
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 1,441
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
I want to make an audio cd of some speccy games so should i have the wav's as 8bit mono or 16bit stereo guys?
I had a go at loading a game from an emulator called Spectaculator. via the pc straight into my +3's line in and it seemed to work well enougth!

I need a windows based app that will convert TZX back to wav! anybody know of one?
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 19 October 2003, 09:24   #55
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 48
Posts: 1,539
Quote:
Originally posted by ElectroBlaster
I want to make an audio cd of some speccy games so should i have the wav's as 8bit mono or 16bit stereo guys?
I had a go at loading a game from an emulator called Spectaculator. via the pc straight into my +3's line in and it seemed to work well enougth!

I need a windows based app that will convert TZX back to wav! anybody know of one?
I am not too sure, but maybe the directx version of Realspec will be good for this ?

What about the existing version of Realspec ?
whiteb is offline  
Old 20 October 2003, 01:04   #56
Mozzy
Registered User
Mozzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: England
Age: 37
Posts: 82
im using disc jugler
Mozzy is offline  
Old 20 October 2003, 20:04   #57
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 1,441
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
Boo im having some problems here for some reason the wav files i create from Spectaculator wont load right! the game can be loaded from the file but will not work once its finished loading? the virtual speccy resets every single time

i wanted to test the files before they were burnt to cd! i dont understand why it didnt work!

Last edited by ElectroBlaster; 20 October 2003 at 20:10.
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 20 October 2003, 21:44   #58
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,287
Use Tapper. Worked perfectly for me on my +3
Akira is offline  
Old 20 October 2003, 22:11   #59
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 1,441
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
thats msdos aint it? if it makes working wavs out of tzx's then i will be happy
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 21 October 2003, 04:11   #60
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,287
I think it does output to WAV.

There's also a Winamp plugin that reads tape files methinks
Akira is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Games that take forever to load kipper2k support.Games 47 07 November 2014 01:34
Amiga Forever 2009 wont load games Slattery support.Amiga Forever 0 17 August 2013 02:51
Cheapo Mp3 player to load Spectrum games? Retrofan Retrogaming General Discussion 12 07 June 2011 15:06
Can't load WHDLoad games on Gamebase Amiga 1.6 jamespstevenson project.MAGE 5 20 March 2010 11:17
For Sale: MP3@64 (Clockport MP3 player!) Smiley MarketPlace 6 18 March 2007 02:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.35403 seconds with 11 queries