English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 September 2003, 12:49   #1
Antiriad
The Sacred Armour Of
Antiriad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sussex, UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,127
Exclamation Today only EDO Memory 72pin SIMM Cheap!

Now...came across this today - what type of 72 pin Ram does the Amiga take? Is it EDO?

If so go here as theyre selling the following at dirt cheap prices

32Mb EDO Memory 72pin SIMM 9.40
64Mb EDO Memory 72pin SIMM 11.16

If someone can confirm this is the right memory, methinks i might stock up!
Antiriad is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 10 September 2003, 13:02   #2
blackcornflake
Moderator
blackcornflake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cereal box
Posts: 754
Yup.

Buy, buy, buy!
blackcornflake is offline  
Old 10 September 2003, 13:10   #3
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,752
Cheap, but check out e-bay first. I got 4x32MB simms (128MB) for 15 or something stupid, $17 inc P&P, about a year ago.

Old PC hardware is dirt cheap.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 10 September 2003, 15:37   #4
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: #
Posts: 13,413
I think some expansions do NOT take EDO. I think mine doesn't. (takes 40 to 70ns SIMMs. Currently looking for a 128MB one)
Akira is offline  
Old 18 September 2003, 02:07   #5
Mozzy
Registered User
Mozzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: England
Age: 33
Posts: 82
read about this a while ago.. where can i get the converter that converts amiga to pc standard mem? i have lots of old simms lying around that i could put to use
Mozzy is offline  
Old 18 September 2003, 09:40   #6
ant512
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: England
Posts: 935
Old PCs (original Pentium era) work with SIMMs. Usually, you'd need to upgrade in pairs, so you'd fit two identical SIMMs (16MB each, for example) and get the expected memory boost (32MB).

Modern PCs use either DIMMs (SDRAM), RamBus or DDR memory. These are all incompatible with each other and completely incompatible with SIMMs. It's rather like IDE and SCSI - completely different interfaces to achieve the same thing.

There are no memory type to memory type convertors.
ant512 is offline  
Old 18 September 2003, 15:19   #7
Mozzy
Registered User
Mozzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: England
Age: 33
Posts: 82
so how do i plug a 72 pin simm in to my amiga?
Mozzy is offline  
Old 18 September 2003, 18:07   #8
ant512
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: England
Posts: 935
If it is an A1200, you buy a bare RAM board and fit it into the socket on that (usually 8MB maximum) or you buy an accelerator (up to 128MB in a single SIMM for the Blizzard 1230-IV). The RAM board or accelerator fits into the 1200's trapdoor slot.

If it is a "big box" Amiga, such as the 3000 or 4000, you buy an accelerator compatible with SIMMs such as a Cyberstorm or Apollo 4040 - early boards used ZIPs and other odd memory types.

If it is an A600, you buy a Viper 030 accelerator, install the SIMM and then clip the accelerator over the existing 68000 CPU.

Otherwise, you don't fit the memory.

Note that none of these expansion optionsconverts memory from one type to another - they all have dedicated sockets and logic for SIMM-type memory.
ant512 is offline  
Old 18 September 2003, 18:34   #9
Mozzy
Registered User
Mozzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: England
Age: 33
Posts: 82
and for a 600?
Mozzy is offline  
Old 19 September 2003, 00:07   #10
woody57
Registered User
woody57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Manchester
Age: 92
Posts: 801
Not forgetting.......

...The designed for A600 trapdoor fitting ...all singing .....all dancing ..... 500k { did anyone bother? } or 1mb { i,ve got one in mine} memorey expansion boards....
The falcon seemed like a good idea but without aga graphics I don,t recalll many finding its expense worth it , not when an second hand a1200 3.0 rom model with a new 1230 viper with 4mb with aga was cheaper ! and considering atapi mounted cheap cd roms were around the a600,s capabilities were for most quite disapointing , some { like me ! liked its small compact size , it may have been underdeveloped but for the "Runt" in amiga,s litter it still performed better than stock pc,s in colledge IT department,s }
woody57 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: 64mb 72pin simm DoogUK MarketPlace 3 18 January 2009 01:17
72pin SIMM Boo Boo support.Hardware 20 17 October 2008 17:43
SIMM vs. EDO SIMM on BLIZZARD. fc.studio support.Hardware 5 08 June 2007 09:32
Edo Simm Wanted Solid Snake request.Other 1 09 January 2007 19:36
8MB 72pin SIMM Enverex MarketPlace 0 16 February 2004 13:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.13950 seconds with 11 queries