English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.Amiga Game Factory

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 May 2022, 16:46   #41
acidbottle
Registered User

acidbottle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Scotland
Posts: 559
Perhaps set your car accelerate (up and down) param to 0.05. Also up speed to 8 and left right a bit faster to. Feels similar to the arcade!

Hope you figure it all out, would be great to see a playable amiga version.
acidbottle is offline  
Old 08 May 2022, 17:41   #42
flibble42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
Age: 49
Posts: 249
Not got to that point yet, gonna need at least 3 acceleration stages and left/right swerves. Just wanted to see what sort of things i could get on screen.


I downloaded a longplay to help build the road sections and building postions. Gonna be fun


Might need to grovel to Earok for that infinite scroll, i have ideas about how events in tiled could change where map data is fetched from without the teleport delays.

Last edited by flibble42; 08 May 2022 at 17:58.
flibble42 is offline  
Old 12 May 2022, 14:14   #43
flibble42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
Age: 49
Posts: 249
I have a question about the Teleport function, can it move all actors at once or do you have to create some kind of routine to do it?
flibble42 is offline  
Old 12 May 2022, 18:32   #44
Mixel
Registered User

Mixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 700
You'd have to create a routine to do it, for sure. And I have no idea exactly how you would..

One silly possibility - I wonder if you could briefly switch actor type for them all to being screen locked, so when you teleport the player the screen takes the actors with it, then switch them back and have it deposit them in the right place? (lol I have no idea if that'd work, you'd have to feed their position relative to the camerax/y into their Var4 and Var5 fields.. That's probably a bad idea.

EDIT: That was a terrible idea lol. It's actually much easier now I think about it. In theory.

Last edited by Mixel; 13 May 2022 at 02:04.
Mixel is offline  
Old 12 May 2022, 18:56   #45
flibble42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
Age: 49
Posts: 249
Would be nice if there was an option to move all active actors to an x,y offset.
Thanks for the wry smile i had earlier watching your stream, "that shouldn't be player_x that should be actor_x", if you can't keep things straight with all your time on that project i don't feel so bad, and yes i don't yet know which i should be using and when either.
flibble42 is offline  
Old 12 May 2022, 19:19   #46
flibble42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
Age: 49
Posts: 249
I've been setting up all the blocks needed to control the player and npc cars, sand pushes car left and right, grass and water will kill you and i can transform from car to boat and back.


Given that at Spy Hunter speeds 512 blocks goes by in a flash i want to find a reason to stop the chase for the teleport to happen, maybe pull off the road for a static fight (might also make the title make more sense), get back in your car (the teleport happened but you didn't notice) get back on the road and continue.


As you can tell i am really hungup on having to teleport every 512 blocks, it could really ruin the flow.


Also i am thinking about making multiple road strips, much like the Star Wars trench run if you miss the exit to the boss you repeat the section again. If you pull into the Boss Fight win or lose you move to a new section, you just don't get a point or game over, dunno yet.
flibble42 is offline  
Old 12 May 2022, 19:23   #47
Mixel
Registered User

Mixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 700
I mix things up allllll the time I scrapped and remade that wormy boss so many times before it was something i like

Either actor/player work in that situation on almost all my levels.. If I don't think there's going to be many dialogue floaters in a level then it doesnt matter if i use Player or Actor X/y to filter them, as there's no chance of overlap and i can set a big area (usually just a if X>something ) But when I'm planning on putting lots of dialogue popups in the room it's a bad idea as the player's position shouldn't be dictating which lines pop up, and i might have to set a tiny box to fit them all in.. (the collision box on the floater has already confirmed the player is there).
Mixel is offline  
Old 03 June 2022, 03:13   #48
flibble42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
Age: 49
Posts: 249
Well here is my latest, NPC car spawning and staying on the road, next, collision avoidence.
Attachment 75730

Last edited by flibble42; 13 July 2022 at 09:09.
flibble42 is offline  
Old 06 July 2022, 13:36   #49
zzbylu
Saberman

zzbylu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Kielce/Poland
Posts: 233
Small gameplay: [ Show youtube player ]
zzbylu is offline  
Old 06 July 2022, 14:14   #50
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 51
Posts: 6,576
that's already looking very good! well done. I love that game.
jotd is offline  
Old 06 July 2022, 14:36   #51
acidbottle
Registered User

acidbottle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Scotland
Posts: 559
Actually does look pretty good that, nice job. Have you managed to figure out how to load the "alternative" routes in SE yet?
acidbottle is offline  
Old 06 July 2022, 17:00   #52
nikosidis
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: oslo/norway
Posts: 1,229
Great memories from Spy Hunter. The game is very fun. Keep on the good work.
nikosidis is offline  
Old 07 July 2022, 04:59   #53
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 3,145
Congrats Flibble42! Looking awesome!
earok is offline  
Old 08 July 2022, 10:16   #54
flibble42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
Age: 49
Posts: 249
@earok


You broke my road loop


I won't say that i have put this project on hold as i keep coming back when i think i have learnt something new about Scorpion. At this point it is performance issues, probably due to lack of understanding.


I would like to target A500 systems, but i feel that A1200 is more likely until i gain more experience.


Talking of performance, i can't remember if i asked this somewhere else.


My BG GFX "The Map" are 4bpl/Lower 16 colours my vehicles are 5bpl/Upper 16 colours. When Scorpion draws the Map does it draw 4bpl's or 5bpl's, if the answer is 5 can i change that behavior anywhere?


Cheers

Last edited by flibble42; 08 July 2022 at 10:29.
flibble42 is offline  
Old 08 July 2022, 15:14   #55
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 51
Posts: 6,576
this isn"t going to work as the road bitplanes will activate colors or not on the plane you're not drawing. You'll still have to cookie cut the plane you're not using.

I did that on pacman (drawing just 1 bitplane) but there were no background at all so it worked.
jotd is offline  
Old 08 July 2022, 16:03   #56
flibble42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
Age: 49
Posts: 249
I'm pretty sure it should work, for the background you only draw 4bpls but for the cars you draw all 5 thus filling any gaps and stopping weird colours.


Maybe i'm thinking about it wrong..
flibble42 is offline  
Old 08 July 2022, 16:29   #57
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 51
Posts: 6,576
yes, sorry it should work. This "4bpl/Lower 16 colours my vehicles are 5bpl/Upper 16 colours" is misleading because 5bpl/upper 16 colors makes no sense. It's 5bpl/32 colors.
jotd is offline  
Old 08 July 2022, 18:05   #58
DisasterIncarna
Registered User

DisasterIncarna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: England
Posts: 550
liked spy hunter (i played c64 version) back in the day, tho i always hated the car/boat being in the center of the screen, always wished it was a bit further down to give us more time to respond.
DisasterIncarna is offline  
Old 08 July 2022, 18:26   #59
flibble42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
Age: 49
Posts: 249
@jotd


Yeah my bad, it made sense in my head. I was just trying to indicate that all the colours for the BG where in the first 16 and the cars and such like are in the second 16.


Basically i was wondering if a slight speed boost could be had if only 4bpls for the BG are drawn, given the rate at which the arcade scrolls it all helps.
flibble42 is offline  
Old 08 July 2022, 20:09   #60
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 51
Posts: 6,576
yeah, handle only 4 planes for the road, and 5 planes for the car, making sure that you clear the extra plane around all enemies (in a loop) before drawing all enemies.

Anyway if it scrolls it means that you'll have to restore the background of all 4 road planes before redrawing the enemies too.
jotd is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scorpion Engine earok project.Amiga Game Factory 2555 Yesterday 11:02
Spy vs Spy Trilogy WHDLoad TjLaZer project.WHDLoad 0 14 July 2016 06:12
[Found: Spy Vs Spy] two player game, hiding traps in various objects in rooms tustuma Looking for a game name ? 2 14 December 2009 09:45
Spy Hunter asm1 Retrogaming General Discussion 13 15 March 2009 21:06
Spy Vs Spy coming to the GC Peanutuk Retrogaming General Discussion 1 07 March 2004 12:45

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09933 seconds with 13 queries