English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 October 2021, 08:41   #1
koobo
Registered User

koobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Finland
Posts: 71
HippoPlayer v2.48

Updated Hippo available:
https://aminet.net/mus/play/hippoplayerupdate.lha

In this one: support for even more exotic music formats, an extra large pattern scope for Protracker, some fixes and minor changes. Details here:
https://aminet.net/mus/play/hippoplayerupdate.readme
koobo is offline  
Old 31 October 2021, 11:00   #2
kriz
Junior Member

kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 39
Posts: 2,945
Excellent, thx !!
kriz is offline  
Old 31 October 2021, 11:17   #3
Viceroy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sunderland
Posts: 861
Well Done!
Viceroy is offline  
Old 31 October 2021, 11:49   #4
RoC
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Italy
Posts: 165
Many thanks, so many new formats!

Does it play the hipc as well (crunched hip)?
RoC is online now  
Old 31 October 2021, 13:12   #5
Wachi
Registered User

Wachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Madrid
Posts: 137
Wachi is offline  
Old 31 October 2021, 14:14   #6
tomcat666
Retro Freak

tomcat666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Slovenia
Age: 48
Posts: 1,188
Very nice! the scope works in multimonitor support as long as ALL modules that are played support it. Once a module that doesn't support the scope is loaded the next module that supports it does not enable it anymore.
So if you play modules in random order as soon as a module that doesn't support visualization is played the scope stops working all together (until you click on the scope of course).
tomcat666 is offline  
Old 31 October 2021, 17:13   #7
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,983
Just for the interest. Is it possible to have a pattern scope for OctaMed modules?
daxb is offline  
Old 31 October 2021, 22:43   #8
koobo
Registered User

koobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Finland
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoC View Post
Many thanks, so many new formats!

Does it play the hipc as well (crunched hip)?
Hippel-COSO is supported, apparently already in v2.07 (26.6.1995)
koobo is offline  
Old 01 November 2021, 02:39   #9
DisasterIncarna
Registered User

DisasterIncarna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: England
Posts: 74
are the eagleplayer plugins baked in as standard? or are we supposed to copy over something like the eagleplayer engines/eagleplayers folders for those features? also great stuff, love the updates, tho i was briefly in panic mode when i noticed my mods playing in slightly fast forward mode, thought it was due to using ahi output or something, turned out it was because of using vblank timing, unticked it and im back to normal, now stuff like bloodmoney-ingame.mod doesnt sound like its having an epileptic fit.

Nitpicking here as well but is there something being drawn on screen in text at the bottom/left of the window on launch? when i start HIP, i see some text overlaying the window which vanishes when i deselect the window then reselect it, as shown in my expertly circled picture below.

DisasterIncarna is offline  
Old 01 November 2021, 06:35   #10
koobo
Registered User

koobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Finland
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisasterIncarna View Post
are the eagleplayer plugins baked in as standard? or are we supposed to copy over something like the eagleplayer engines/eagleplayers folders for those features?
They are included in the accompanying data file.

Quote:
Nitpicking here as well but is there something being drawn on screen in text at the bottom/left of the window on launch? when i start HIP, i see some text overlaying the window which vanishes when i deselect the window then reselect it, as shown in my expertly circled picture below.
That seems to be the top part of the favorites button being visible when the window is minified using RMB+Pr. It's a bug!
koobo is offline  
Old 01 November 2021, 09:27   #11
nikosidis
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: oslo/norway
Posts: 988
Nice to see updates to Hippo Player. Thanks
nikosidis is offline  
Old 01 November 2021, 20:40   #12
AmiClassic
Registered User

AmiClassic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: PL
Posts: 54
Next bug?:


Here video showing this case: video - critical moment 0:40 - on/off playlist (RMB on PR)

P.S. As you can see in video, I'm using XEN font (I don't like TOPAZ and I got rid of it), I hope that someday HiP will be font sensitive
AmiClassic is offline  
Old 01 November 2021, 21:54   #13
koobo
Registered User

koobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Finland
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmiClassic View Post
Next bug?:


Here video showing this case: video - critical moment 0:40 - on/off playlist (RMB on PR)
Yeah, another bug found

Quote:
P.S. As you can see in video, I'm using XEN font (I don't like TOPAZ and I got rid of it), I hope that someday HiP will be font sensitive
It seems so. The pattern scope at least looks quite bad!
I wonder how you achieved this, hippo tries to only use fixed 8x8 fonts.
koobo is offline  
Old 02 November 2021, 03:36   #14
DisasterIncarna
Registered User

DisasterIncarna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: England
Posts: 74
I recall a patch somewhere, that allows you to use non proportional fonts as system/fixed width fonts, i recall having a nightmare with that as it trashes loads of stuff including HIP and Filemaster3. I just use a font called FIXED and it looks good enough for now, still "topazy'like" but not as terrible looking.

Also heres a vid showing something im not sure is even a bug, the scopes/etc all work fine, but when you switch to AHI mode, the scopes dont function at all until you disable AHI and reload a song using good old paula.

[ Show youtube player ]
DisasterIncarna is offline  
Old 02 November 2021, 07:22   #15
koobo
Registered User

koobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Finland
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisasterIncarna View Post
I recall a patch somewhere, that allows you to use non proportional fonts as system/fixed width fonts, i recall having a nightmare with that as it trashes loads of stuff including HIP and Filemaster3. I just use a font called FIXED and it looks good enough for now, still "topazy'like" but not as terrible looking.
I just tried and it seems that at least on kick3.0 the Prefs font selector does not seem to work, if you select a font from the font requester, it will not be used in Hippo even though it should.

Quote:
Also heres a vid showing something im not sure is even a bug, the scopes/etc all work fine, but when you switch to AHI mode, the scopes dont function at all until you disable AHI and reload a song using good old paula.
This is a feature, AHI bypasses all the internal stuff such as scopes.
koobo is offline  
Old 02 November 2021, 08:15   #16
DisasterIncarna
Registered User

DisasterIncarna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: England
Posts: 74
Does that mean HIP deliberatly ignores the workbench font then? as in if we dont manually pick a new font then HIP just defaults itsself to topaz and doesnt even look at what workbench uses?

Last edited by DisasterIncarna; 02 November 2021 at 08:16. Reason: typos galore
DisasterIncarna is offline  
Old 02 November 2021, 09:17   #17
koobo
Registered User

koobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Finland
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisasterIncarna View Post
Does that mean HIP deliberatly ignores the workbench font then? as in if we dont manually pick a new font then HIP just defaults itsself to topaz and doesnt even look at what workbench uses?
Hippo provides font selection internally in HippoPrefs, it does not look for font settings in system preferences. I guess one reason is that the UI has been designed with a 8x8 fixed font in mind, it doesn't really work very well generally with fonts.

But as I noticed, there seems to be a problem as I can't change the font to another 8x8 font (other than topaz) even if I try. I was able to fix this, though
koobo is offline  
Old 02 November 2021, 09:18   #18
koobo
Registered User

koobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Finland
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by daxb View Post
Just for the interest. Is it possible to have a pattern scope for OctaMed modules?
It is possible, it's just a question of effort and whether it is an interesting challenge
koobo is offline  
Old 02 November 2021, 10:30   #19
AmiClassic
Registered User

AmiClassic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: PL
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by koobo View Post
I wonder how you achieved this...
For many years I using in my system this patch: http://aminet.net/package/util/wb/TopazPatch, I never had any problems with it
AmiClassic is offline  
Old 02 November 2021, 11:26   #20
DisasterIncarna
Registered User

DisasterIncarna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: England
Posts: 74
im using the replacetopaz option in MCP and using FIXED font as a replacement, works ok.
DisasterIncarna is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HippoPlayer v2.47 koobo News 35 22 October 2021 07:26
HippoPlayer refusing to play any mods at all now Amiga600 support.Other 6 11 September 2021 10:50
HippoPlayer source code koobo support.Apps 54 04 September 2021 11:51
Old Hippoplayer versions? Whitesnake support.Apps 8 16 May 2012 19:56
HippoPlayer and AHI problem ami_stuff support.WinUAE 1 07 February 2009 20:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10671 seconds with 12 queries