English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 August 2001, 14:14   #1
Maverick357
Registered User
Maverick357's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Bruxelles / Belgium
Age: 51
Posts: 176
HD install of the Workbench /system 3.1

I have just try to install the workbench system on a new HD_file in place of a directory hd.

The emulator (Config Amiga 1200 AGA) have recognize the hd0 and i have formatted without problem.

When i have try to install the system on the hd0 (french option used) the system say that he cannot access to the hd (file xx in use i think but not sure).

Now i have try to boot from the disk(workbench 3.1) to start again, but the disk df0 is not booted, only the hd0.
And when i go to df0: it is okay, i can type loadwb and use the OS but when i start the install, the program ask an ENV disk(environnement variable if a remember of 10 years ago )
and when i click cancel, i get an error message of 'Env variable too long', .
The install stop here.

Can you give me a help, i have never used an hd with my Amiga 500/1200 and i realize that 10 year after, i don't remember how to use the cli/workbench specials commands
.

If you can give me a step by step, for installing an system on HD (on HD_file in that case) i will appreciate.

Thanks
Maverick357 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 13 August 2001, 14:42   #2
Maverick357
Registered User
Maverick357's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Bruxelles / Belgium
Age: 51
Posts: 176
Ok, i have find why i cannot more boot from the worbench 3.1 disk boot.
The install disk had corrupt it (he asking to deprotect the disk workbench, and i deed it ).

Now i have replaced the disk_01 of the workbench with a backup but i cannot install the hd_file.

I need your help, please.
Maverick357 is offline  
Old 13 August 2001, 14:51   #3
Maverick357
Registered User
Maverick357's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Bruxelles / Belgium
Age: 51
Posts: 176
Ok, here is more infos:

After asking wich keyboard driver i need, the install program ask to deprotect the workbench 3.1 (again) and when i click "cancel", the error is: "Sorry... an error has occured. MAKEDIR: couldn't create a directory. Dos error type, unable to write to a disk, disk write protected"

I don't want install the Workbench 3.1 on ...Workbench 3.1 disk but on the hd !!!

I don't understand why the install program need absolutly write on the Workbench system disk

If you can give me a step by step, for installing an system on HD (on HD_file in that case) i will appreciate.

Thanks
Maverick357 is offline  
Old 13 August 2001, 15:12   #4
Maverick357
Registered User
Maverick357's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Bruxelles / Belgium
Age: 51
Posts: 176
Ok thanks to nobody.
I have found it myself.

In fact, you must boot on the install 3.1 disk after have formatted the hd0:.

Cannot be more simpler (but 10 years after without manual, it can be tricky ).

In fact the installation is very easy (not like this shit of winblows).

Sorry for borring you with this help asking, now it is done.

Thanks ... to nobody
Maverick357 is offline  
Old 13 August 2001, 15:22   #5
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,740
Cool Help

Glad we could help!
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 13 August 2001, 17:54   #6
Amigaboy
 
Posts: n/a
lol

Amusing indeed
 
Old 13 August 2001, 20:30   #7
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,946
Hehehe. Actually this was quite a productive thread for MAverick, don't you think? He's been asking many questions since he first posted here, and now he can solve his probs by himself like a champ.

Congrats Maverick
Akira is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trying to install a differnent files system on GVP 2060 source support.Hardware 7 18 March 2013 06:15
Workbench 3.1 Where is the System Info? clitosa New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 15 November 2012 21:18
Workbench-Style GUI System for the Nintendo DS ant512 Retrogaming General Discussion 5 21 April 2008 20:19
Smart File system install woes. r6stu support.Apps 2 20 October 2007 16:57
Cannot install VisualPrefs 1.5k on my system... keropi support.Apps 4 09 August 2005 07:11

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.12928 seconds with 11 queries