English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 August 2003, 14:10   #1
plasmatron
Zone Friend
plasmatron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 948
The best way to run old stuff on A1200 withoud WHDLoad ???

Howdi m8 !

I remember that there was a tool that kicks back a 1200 to classic 1.3.
The tool was bootable directly from disk. After the programm had loadet, u saw the original 1.3 screen (hand with disk of corzz).
Now it was possible to run games that don` t run on a 1200.

A lot of games are running fine with this tool.

Couls someone please tell me where i can get it?
And what is the name of this prog?

It is not NoAGA, KillAGA or Degradder.
Thoose progs are not so serious.
plasmatron is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 04 August 2003, 14:55   #2
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,603
It was possibly

Relokick 1.4a, written by some lamer in Dual Crew Shining at the time.... forget what his name was!
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 04 August 2003, 19:52   #3
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,278
Re: The best way to run old stuff on A1200 withoud WHDLoad ???

Quote:
Originally posted by plasmatron
It is not NoAGA, KillAGA or Degradder.
Thoose progs are not so serious.
sorry but those tools are very serious, it's just that they probably don't serve your purposes. Degrader is a MUST IMO.

As Galahad said, Relokick is what yer looking for.

I also do not remember who wrote that piece of garbage?
Akira is offline  
Old 04 August 2003, 22:53   #4
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,135
Re: The best way to run old stuff on A1200 withoud WHDLoad ???

Quote:
Originally posted by plasmatron
The tool was bootable directly from disk. After the programm had loadet, u saw the original 1.3 screen (hand with disk of corzz).
Now it was possible to run games that don` t run on a 1200.

A lot of games are running fine with this tool.
I would say that about 10% of old stuff would work with those kind of general tools - most of the problems the WHDLoad team are fixed by hacking the program, removing or rewriting the dodgy parts which cause games to lockup/crash.

I believe that same "lamer" that made Relokick also released a bunch of AGA fixed disk/single file games - you should try and download those as they will run a lot of the games that degraders will not fix. N.O.M.A.D also released a number of fixed versions.


One more thing I've always wanted to know - do people in different parts of the world use a different apostrophe? I notice the original message has don ` t written - in NZ you always write don't - is this normal everywhere else too?
Codetapper is offline  
Old 05 August 2003, 00:29   #5
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,278
In some keyboard layouts (like spanish) the ` is more accessible, or easier to find, than '
Akira is offline  
Old 05 August 2003, 13:22   #6
plasmatron
Zone Friend
plasmatron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 948
Why is ReLoKick a lame product? I think a lot of stuff that is not in WHDLoad runs fine with it.

NOAGA is a great prog. But it is only useful if you run intros or single file stuff.

Degradder is very complecs. Which is the best way to get disks running with it?
plasmatron is offline  
Old 05 August 2003, 18:21   #7
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,603
The irony....

Quote:
Originally posted by plasmatron
Why is ReLoKick a lame product? I think a lot of stuff that is not in WHDLoad runs fine with it.

NOAGA is a great prog. But it is only useful if you run intros or single file stuff.

Degradder is very complecs. Which is the best way to get disks running with it?
I never said Relokick 1.4a was lame, just the guy who coded it.... what the hell was his name again???? Anyone help me out?
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 05 August 2003, 18:54   #8
Antiriad
The Sacred Armour Of
Antiriad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sussex, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,141
damned if i know...
Antiriad is offline  
Old 05 August 2003, 19:43   #9
blackcornflake
Moderator
blackcornflake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cereal box
Posts: 759
It's on the tip of my tongue

Really familiar name... starts with a 'G', I think...

Nope, it's gone. Drat.
blackcornflake is offline  
Old 05 August 2003, 19:52   #10
Antiriad
The Sacred Armour Of
Antiriad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sussex, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,141
G**flesh? nah...couldnt be....that would have involved some work on his part
Antiriad is offline  
Old 05 August 2003, 20:14   #11
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Belgarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,392
nah im sure it was...gawain! yup i'm sure it was gawain
Belgarath is offline  
Old 05 August 2003, 20:47   #12
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,278
Re: The irony....

Akira is offline  
Old 05 August 2003, 20:55   #13
Antiriad
The Sacred Armour Of
Antiriad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sussex, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,141
No no no, this whole "G" thing is a blind alley i tell you...

I heard it was some dude called King Arthur from some obscure and little known Amiga hackers group called "Unfair Dark"...
Antiriad is offline  
Old 05 August 2003, 22:46   #14
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,603
Hmmmm....

You guys might be onto something here! Plasmatron, we need your help here, who the hell was it?
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 05 August 2003, 23:00   #15
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,135
I'm not 100% sure but I think it was either BodyCount or Mars Bar/Crimewatch UK...
Codetapper is offline  
Old 06 August 2003, 01:48   #16
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,278
I heard Cindy Lauper created Relokick because her copy of Thomas the Tank engine didn't work on her A500+

Or was it Dolly Parton? Ooh, heck I give up.
Akira is offline  
Old 06 August 2003, 02:05   #17
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,603
I think...

It was either Celine Dion or maybe..... I know... it was definately Abraham Lincoln...... I think?!?
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 06 August 2003, 12:13   #18
plasmatron
Zone Friend
plasmatron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 948
Wink

Mhhhhhhh???? Maybe someone could give me some instructions now to run disks the best way with degradder???

I think ReLoKick is codet by some Czech or polish guyz?
plasmatron is offline  
Old 06 August 2003, 12:21   #19
fisken uno
Commodore's biatch
fisken uno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Age: 37
Posts: 670
I think Galahad himself coded Relokick under his less known pseudonym Gaylahad... But that was back during his religious period.

Or maybe it was Jennifer Lopez; The program was originally called J-Lokick...? No can't be. Grumble.

Last edited by fisken uno; 06 August 2003 at 12:30.
fisken uno is offline  
Old 06 August 2003, 19:43   #20
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,603
I am not...

Quote:
Originally posted by plasmatron
Mhhhhhhh???? Maybe someone could give me some instructions now to run disks the best way with degradder???

I think ReLoKick is codet by some Czech or polish guyz?
Polish or czech! It was me.... I'm sorry!
Galahad/FLT is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
is ti possible to run whdload slave directly turrican3 support.WinUAE 3 08 June 2013 19:25
Why Does WHDload run only 20% of my AGA games?? magnetic support.Games 12 16 June 2012 17:03
Stuff for sale amiga a1200 plus more retro stuff blast MarketPlace 23 22 June 2010 20:05
Trading A1200 030 acc and A1200 indivision for Amiga stuff 8bitbubsy MarketPlace 17 14 December 2009 22:50
Still odyssey whdload does not run on my a1200... keropi support.Games 4 21 December 2004 23:10

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 1.20500 seconds with 11 queries