English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 June 2021, 20:14   #1
reg1n
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Lodz / Poland
Posts: 9
Angry cannot run FS-UAE on OS X Yosemite

Hello All, I've dowloaded and installed FS-UAE Launcher and Arcade on my old
MBP with OS X Yosemite 10.10.5
MacBook Pro (15-inch, 2.4 2.2GHz Intel Core 2 Duo),
4GB DDR2, GeForce 8600M GT

The issue is that I cannot run either Launcher or Arcade - apps are opening - icon appears on the dock and disappears after a few seconds.

Does anyone have idea how to fix that issue?
Thanks in advance!
reg1n is offline  
Old 03 June 2021, 11:42   #2
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 41
Posts: 4,036
Things to try:

1. Please check fs-uae-launcher.log.txt and send logs if there is something there (https://fs-uae.net/log-files-needed).
2. Try running from a terminal, something like this:
/Applications/"FS-UAE Launcher.app"/Contents/MacOS/fs-uae-launcher
- does the program start then? or if not, are any error messages printed to the terminal?
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 03 June 2021, 18:16   #3
reg1n
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Lodz / Poland
Posts: 9
I do really appreciate your reply Frode.
I did run the app from the terminal however it all behaved as before.
Please find the logs attached.
Attached Files
File Type: txt fs-uae-launcher.log.txt (3.2 KB, 118 views)
File Type: txt fs-uae.log.txt (64.0 KB, 99 views)
reg1n is offline  
Old 03 June 2021, 19:56   #4
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 41
Posts: 4,036
The immediate error which prevents the app from running is (from the log):
Code:
2.816 Traceback (most recent call last):
2.816   File "/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/3.6/lib/python3.6/site-packages/cx_Freeze-6.0b1-py3.6-macosx-10.9-x86_64.egg/cx_Freeze/initscripts/__startup__.py", line 14, in run
2.817   File "/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/3.6/lib/python3.6/site-packages/cx_Freeze-6.0b1-py3.6-macosx-10.9-x86_64.egg/cx_Freeze/initscripts/Console.py", line 26, in run
2.819   File "fs-uae-launcher", line 121, in <module>
2.820   File "fs-uae-launcher", line 118, in main
2.821   File "/Applications/FS-UAE Launcher.app/Contents/Resources/Python/launcher.zip/launcher/apps/__init__.py", line 137, in main
2.822   File "/Applications/FS-UAE Launcher.app/Contents/Resources/Python/launcher.zip/launcher/apps/fs_uae_launcher.py", line 22, in app_main
2.823   File "/Applications/FS-UAE Launcher.app/Contents/Resources/Python/launcher.zip/launcher/launcherapp.py", line 9, in <module>
2.823   File "/Applications/FS-UAE Launcher.app/Contents/Resources/Python/fsui.zip/fsui/__init__.py", line 5, in <module>
2.824   File "/Applications/FS-UAE Launcher.app/Contents/Resources/Python/fsui.zip/fsui/qt/__init__.py", line 5, in <module>
2.825   File "/Applications/FS-UAE Launcher.app/Contents/Resources/Python/fsui.zip/fsui/qt/qt.py", line 12, in <module>
2.826   File "ExtensionLoader_PyQt5_QtCore.py", line 23, in <module>
2.827   File "ExtensionLoader_PyQt5_QtCore.py", line 15, in __bootstrap__
2.828   File "/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/3.6/lib/python3.6/imp.py", line 343, in load_dynamic
2.829 ImportError: dlopen(/Applications/FS-UAE Launcher.app/Contents/MacOS/sip.so, 2): no suitable image found.  Did find:
	/Applications/FS-UAE Launcher.app/Contents/MacOS/sip.so: code signature invalid for '/Applications/FS-UAE Launcher.app/Contents/MacOS/sip.so'
I checked the libraries in the bundle and found that the Qt libraries have LC_VERSION_MIN_MACOSX set to 10.13. In other words, they're compiled for macOS 10.13+. I thought that I had compiled them for macOS 10.9+ but apparently not. The signature error is probably just a consequence of this (codesign has chosen a newer signature not compatible with 10.10, since the library requires 10.13+ anyway).

I'll see if I can do something about it... - It could be a non-trivial amount of work to assemble a version for older macOSes complicated by the fact that I don't have a good way to test on older macOS versions...

EDIT: Looks like it might be only the sip library (dependency of PyQt5) that is compiled for macOS 10.13+.

Last edited by FrodeSolheim; 03 June 2021 at 20:04.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 04 June 2021, 00:01   #5
reg1n
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Lodz / Poland
Posts: 9
Should I maybe install some previous version of FS-UAE?
Or is this in plan to be fixed in the new releases?
reg1n is offline  
Old 04 June 2021, 00:10   #6
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 41
Posts: 4,036
An older version would probably work; not sure how old though.

I'm testing creating a version with Python 3.7 / PyQt 5.8 via the new semi-automated build system. I'll post a link to the build later if it at least seems to work fine on a newer macOS computer, and then you can test on 10.10...
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 04 June 2021, 00:23   #7
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 41
Posts: 4,036
Download both FS-UAE-Launcher and FS-UAE and extract with the built-in Archiver tool in macOS (avoid a third-party one, since it might extract symlinks and permissions incorrectly):

FS-UAE-Launcher: https://www.dropbox.com/s/ipbg7i9hh2...64.tar.xz?dl=1

FS-UAE: https://fs-uae.net/files/FS-UAE/Stab..._x86-64.tar.xz

Move FS-UAE.app and FS-UAE-Launcher.app from the respective FS-UAE[-Launcher]/macOS/x86-64 directories to /Applications and delete the remaining extracted files.

(If the Launcher still won't start, please send new logs )
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 04 June 2021, 20:13   #8
reg1n
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Lodz / Poland
Posts: 9
FS-UAE-Launcher: still did not launch

FS-UAE: run as before, I did not know only how to proceed for the screen "waiting for bootable media"

Logs attached
Attached Files
File Type: txt fs-uae-launcher.log.txt (2.2 KB, 94 views)
File Type: txt fs-uae.log.txt (52.0 KB, 91 views)
reg1n is offline  
Old 04 June 2021, 22:31   #9
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 41
Posts: 4,036
Seems the "sip" library is still a problem. But maybe the problem is limited to the signature. I've made a new build here where I've tried to force inclusion of SHA-1 checksums:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/fg0zec2gz1...86-64.dmg?dl=1

Does this one work better?
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 04 June 2021, 22:49   #10
reg1n
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Lodz / Poland
Posts: 9
Sorry Frode its still not working - attached log.
Which old version should I test so it wold work on 10.10.5?
Attached Files
File Type: txt fs-uae-launcher.log.txt (2.0 KB, 96 views)
reg1n is offline  
Old 04 June 2021, 22:53   #11
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 41
Posts: 4,036
I don't know what the last version for 10.10.5 would be. You can of course try gradually older versions until one works. But it's not ideal; the game database functionality in older versions might not be compatible with the latest database updates, etc.

But the good news is that the last version kind of worked - the error is something else now. Something which I can reproduce and test (just a missing module). So we should give it another shot with a new version, when ready.

Last edited by FrodeSolheim; 04 June 2021 at 22:59.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 04 June 2021, 23:06   #12
reg1n
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Lodz / Poland
Posts: 9
great Frode - thank you for your time - where should I start regarding the previous versions?
I could not find any archive or FS-UAE
reg1n is offline  
Old 04 June 2021, 23:27   #13
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 41
Posts: 4,036
Please try this one first:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/9utgrj5ol1...86-64.dmg?dl=1

(I've checked that it runs on newer macOSes, so all modules are included this time)
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 08 June 2021, 21:39   #14
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 41
Posts: 4,036
@reg1n Did you have a chance to test the latest build?
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 12 June 2021, 11:32   #15
reg1n
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Lodz / Poland
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
@reg1n Did you have a chance to test the latest build?
It works!!
Thank you so much Frode! I do really appreciate your support!
reg1n is offline  
Old 12 June 2021, 11:48   #16
reg1n
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Lodz / Poland
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
@reg1n Did you have a chance to test the latest build?
There seems to be new issues, but there is a progress
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2021-06-12 at 11.46.42.png
Views:	100
Size:	32.0 KB
ID:	72262  
Attached Files
File Type: txt fs-uae-launcher.log.txt (73.1 KB, 72 views)
reg1n is offline  
Old 12 June 2021, 13:10   #17
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer
FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 41
Posts: 4,036
Did you download and place FS-UAE.app side-by-side with FS-UAE Launcher.app?
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 12 June 2021, 14:03   #18
reg1n
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Lodz / Poland
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
Did you download and place FS-UAE.app side-by-side with FS-UAE Launcher.app?
yes yes, now all works now
reg1n is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS-UAE not reponding on Mac Yosemite. Philippe G support.FS-UAE 3 02 August 2019 15:51
Run in UAE... Stl75 support.Apps 1 27 March 2018 10:19
FS-UAE on OSX Yosemite + Amiga 4000/OS 3.9 - No Autoloading of Datatypes. gkreymer support.FS-UAE 2 29 January 2015 21:17
OSX Yosemite 10.10: The application" FS-UAE Laucher.app"can't be opened. cartler support.FS-UAE 6 02 December 2014 00:13
FS-UAE on OSX 10.10 Yosemite esc support.FS-UAE 3 27 October 2014 23:47

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11676 seconds with 13 queries