English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 July 2003, 14:02   #1
Antiriad
The Sacred Armour Of
Antiriad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sussex, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,141
The AAA Chip

Can someone here tell me about this never released or finalised successor to the AGA chipset?

What was it capable of doing? What machine was it destined for? What went wrong?
Antiriad is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 28 July 2003, 15:44   #2
manicx
Junior Member
manicx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 962
Re: The AAA Chip

Quote:
Originally posted by Antiriad
What went wrong?
Well this is an original answer! Commodore went bankrupt!!!
manicx is offline  
Old 28 July 2003, 15:49   #3
Interceptor
Moderator
Interceptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 400
AAA chipset an AGA chipset are one in the same i'm sure.

they just changed the way they referred to it just before they released the A4000.
Interceptor is offline  
Old 28 July 2003, 15:51   #4
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
Quote:
Originally posted by Interceptor
AAA chipset an AGA chipset are one in the same i'm sure.

they just changed the way they referred to it just before they released the A4000.
No true (I think)

You're referring to AGA and AA chipset. The AAA was the supposed succesor but never got around to production.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 28 July 2003, 15:54   #5
pcGTW_Webmaster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 925
Quote:
Originally posted by Interceptor
AAA chipset an AGA chipset are one in the same i'm sure.

they just changed the way they referred to it just before they released the A4000.
No, AGA is also called AA, but not AAA. The AAA chipset was part of the Nyx Prototype:

http://www.amiga-hardware.com/nyx.html
pcGTW_Webmaster is offline  
Old 28 July 2003, 15:58   #6
Rotr
Member
Rotr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 47
As I remember the chipset only exists in software ( simulation ). I think I read something about it in CU Amiga or AF.
Rotr is offline  
Old 28 July 2003, 16:27   #7
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
It also exists in my mind where I dream up all sorts of excellent games.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 28 July 2003, 16:36   #8
Rotr
Member
Rotr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 47
LOL

With commodore you were never sure!
Rotr is offline  
Old 28 July 2003, 16:40   #9
fiath
Moderator
fiath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: South East / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 1,926
Quote:
Originally posted by Rotr
As I remember the chipset only exists in software ( simulation ). I think I read something about it in CU Amiga or AF.
You mean perhaps a VLSI design?

I though Dave Haynie was selling a prototype board not so long ago anyway. It didn't work AFAIR (i.e. they broke it), but at least it did exist.
fiath is offline  
Old 28 July 2003, 16:56   #10
Rotr
Member
Rotr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 47
@fiath

Not exactly, VLSI ( very large scale integration ) is allready the hardware but if my understanding about the hardware development process is correct ( I'm not at all sure if it is! ), the hardware is first simulated on a logic simulator an "emulator" if you will. But reading the link provided by WindowsKiller they might have been further down the line after all.
Rotr is offline  
Old 28 July 2003, 20:33   #11
Interceptor
Moderator
Interceptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 400
of course, AA, thats the one!

sorry about that.....ahem.......
Interceptor is offline  
Old 28 July 2003, 20:53   #12
FromWithin
Music lord
FromWithin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Liverpool, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 595
Send a message via ICQ to FromWithin Send a message via AIM to FromWithin Send a message via MSN to FromWithin Send a message via Yahoo to FromWithin
You want to look for information on the Hombre chipset.
FromWithin is offline  
Old 28 July 2003, 20:54   #13
Phiber
Hardware Freak
Phiber's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 222
Send a message via MSN to Phiber
The AAA chipset did infact exist, a prototype motherboard with AAA chips can be seen from clips filmed by Dave Haynie on his last day at work in Commodore Inc's Factories before closing it's doors for good..

http://www.mmhart.com/downloads.htm <- here, under amiga downloads are links to the clips..

especially 05aaa.mpeg is something interesting to watch
Phiber is offline  
Old 28 July 2003, 20:55   #14
FromWithin
Music lord
FromWithin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Liverpool, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 595
Send a message via ICQ to FromWithin Send a message via AIM to FromWithin Send a message via MSN to FromWithin Send a message via Yahoo to FromWithin
Actually, you seem to be able to get tons of information from the Amiga History Guide
FromWithin is offline  
Old 28 July 2003, 23:25   #15
Nyarlathotep
Zone Friend
Nyarlathotep's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 148
There is a good PDF with an overview of AAA.
In the Zone.
Nyarlathotep is offline  
Old 29 July 2003, 03:58   #16
Shadowfire
Registered User
Shadowfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Connecticut USA
Posts: 533
AAA did exist, in silicon. At Devcon 93 in Orlando, Dave Haynie showed the crowd the "prototype" AAA motherboard (a picture of which showed up in one of the magazines... Commodore was NOT happy about that). He said, that in fact the first revision WAS done, but that someone had plugged one of the chips in the motherboard in reverse, and blown it... which was the only reason there wasn't a working prototype at the show.

I still have the Devcon notes which go into great detail about the chipset's capabilities. Among other things, it had built-in high density floppy support, CDROM support, support for a scanline-interleaving type of technology (with two video chips), you could put the pixel pipeline in "reverse" to digitize video signals, more video modes (no "true" 24-bit chunky modes IIRC, but a 24-bit semichunky mode (3 bitplanes, one with red, blue, and green data)), and other stuff I can't recall at this time.
Shadowfire is offline  
Old 29 July 2003, 06:42   #17
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
Was it going to be much better then the AGA setup?
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 29 July 2003, 06:43   #18
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,355
Quote:
Originally posted by Phiber
The AAA chipset did infact exist, a prototype motherboard with AAA chips can be seen from clips filmed by Dave Haynie on his last day at work in Commodore Inc's Factories before closing it's doors for good..

http://www.mmhart.com/downloads.htm <- here, under amiga downloads are links to the clips..

especially 05aaa.mpeg is something interesting to watch
Man, the link seems to be down right now

Perhaps too many of us were sucking the bandwidth dry
jmmijo is offline  
Old 29 July 2003, 09:11   #19
AmiGer
Registered User
AmiGer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 349
Quote:
Originally posted by FromWithin
Actually, you seem to be able to get tons of information from the Amiga History Guide
Yes, very nice link, look here.

Maybe with these informations Toni can emulate the AAA chipset...
AmiGer is offline  
Old 29 July 2003, 10:25   #20
TheBoss
Registered User
TheBoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 830
Send a message via ICQ to TheBoss
But what would we need AAA support for even if it was possible? No amiga software supports it anyway.
TheBoss is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How 2MB chip ram with the Mini Megi Chip? Antti support.Hardware 6 04 June 2014 21:54
Would you pay for a new AAA Amiga Title? mikrucio Amiga scene 119 17 August 2013 15:24
New AAA+ title in the works for Amiga: LEONA's Tricky Adventures MrX_Cuci News 62 20 March 2013 21:26
Memory Chip BippyM MarketPlace 4 07 July 2012 08:40
Whatever happened to the AAA chipset? Paul_s support.Hardware 16 12 December 2009 12:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22227 seconds with 11 queries