English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Demos

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 July 2003, 17:51   #1
lordsnooty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 36
Can anyone get TBL Tint to run fully?

Hi everyone,

I love this demo (back when I had my Amiga in the late 90s, this was the most impressive demo I had ever seen - and the music is superb) - but now I can only get it to run up to a point - the graphics come to a half half way through (though the music keeps on going).

I'd really love to see the end of this brilliant demo again, but can't see any way of making it work properly on WinUAE. The music is also buggy, but that's not my main problem.

Has anyone managed to get it working all the way through? I'm not sure if it has something to do with the installer not working properly on WinUAE - does anyone know exactly what it's supposed to do?

Thanks

Last edited by lordsnooty; 24 July 2003 at 18:30.
lordsnooty is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 25 July 2003, 11:36   #2
Alan_HU
 
Posts: n/a
Exact same problem here (I indicated it several times, here, too, with no replies - which I can understand, it's probably not particularly easy fo fix).

The music is only buggy in 0.8.22 R8, it was good in R7. I also noticed that the audio sometimes goes strange in other demos/games/music players as well, and sometimes it can be fixed by pressing F12 and adjusting the sound buffer size to a different value (the point is not that the value is larger, but the fact the buffer size is adjusted). I guess it's an audio init problem.
 
Old 25 July 2003, 11:38   #3
Alan_HU
 
Posts: n/a
...actually, the point where the demo stops is somewhere 4:21 - 4:23 into the demo. The effect that fails to work is a Gaussian blur of the full background with the blur strength changing periodically between zero and approx. 5-8. After that, the next effect (the rotated Coke bottle) does not even initialize. The music goes on, but only up to the end of the current module.
 
Old 25 July 2003, 12:19   #4
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,785
Not that this helps you run the Amiga version but here is an mpg version.

http://www.tbl.org/demos2.htm

Also this demo is on the soon to be released on Amiga Demo DVD "Spark of the Scene"

http://www.discreetfx.com/Products.html

Last edited by Pyromania; 25 July 2003 at 12:26.
Pyromania is offline  
Old 25 July 2003, 12:38   #5
Echo
Registered User
Echo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South-West Wales
Posts: 382
Quote:
Originally posted by Pyromania
Not that this helps you run the Amiga version but here is an mpg version.

http://www.tbl.org/demos2.htm
Nice, I'm getting 115KB/s

Was this recorded from an '060 system? I'm hoping so! Only ever seen it on my '030, which was still impressive.
Echo is offline  
Old 25 July 2003, 12:59   #6
lordsnooty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 36
Thanks for all of the comments guys. Glad to hear I'm not the only one (well, not that glad - more people should be able to see this demo running live).

Also, very grateful for the MPEG link. I had found that before, but the link to the file wasn't working then, must have been a fluke.

My apologies for the bizzare drunken style used in the original post, I hadn't had a drop, so I don't know how I messed that up so badly.
lordsnooty is offline  
Old 25 July 2003, 13:05   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,654
Sound problem confirmed.

Unfortunately freezing problem seems to be timing problem (CPU is too fast/chip ram is too fast and demo misses next syncronization point)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 25 July 2003, 14:36   #8
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Hooooo

Maybe cycle-exact setting will again cause some improvements. Try it guys.
andreas is offline  
Old 25 July 2003, 15:04   #9
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,654
CE and JIT do not mix and CE in non-68000 modes is currently mostly useless.

CE is not disabled in GUI because there are some AGA games that work better in CE-mode but usually it causes only problems. (only blitter timing is modified, chip ram speed etc.. is still too fast)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 25 July 2003, 16:25   #10
Alan_HU
 
Posts: n/a
Guys, thanks for all the info. Now at least I know what's going on, although it sounds like this kind of timing problem is almost impossible to solve...

I have seen the MPG version, too, but it's low res (of course - it's over 100 megs even this way) and it'd be so great to eb able to run the original.

Toni, thank you in advance for looking into the sound problem.
 
Old 12 December 2003, 21:36   #11
Shaytan
Registered User
Shaytan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Italy
Posts: 44
Finally with WinUAE 0.8.23 Tint works fully! Thanks once again Toni!
Shaytan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Suggestions on how to get Tint by The Black Lotus to run properly? Dr.Venom support.WinUAE 4 25 June 2013 14:53
Demo Tint graphics problem BackSpace support.WinUAE 2 14 February 2012 16:22
A1200 - yellow tint using lcd-tv? Zapotek support.Hardware 0 19 January 2012 09:34
Silkcut/TBL Bobic support.Demos 18 13 July 2008 15:52
TBL's Tint demo problem in 0.8.22 R8 Alan_HU support.WinUAE 0 19 July 2003 10:55

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.17578 seconds with 11 queries