English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 July 2003, 02:25   #1
Leo42
Senior Member
Leo42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Paris
Posts: 124
TCP/IP: "TCP:" emulation ?

Hi,


Several Net programs I have tried are asking for "TCP:". As it is not
emulated, these programs exit with something like "No TCP/IP stack found: you should install AmiTCP or Miami..."

Is it planned in future releases of WinUAE ?

Leo.
Leo42 is offline  
Old 24 July 2003, 02:57   #2
Sune Salminen
Dinamáquina
Sune Salminen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: BH/Brasil
Age: 44
Posts: 365
Re: TCP/IP: "TCP:" emulation ?

Quote:
Originally posted by Leo42
Hi,


Several Net programs I have tried are asking for "TCP:". As it is not
emulated, these programs exit with something like "No TCP/IP stack found: you should install AmiTCP or Miami..."

Is it planned in future releases of WinUAE ?

Leo.
You know, someone in here might be able to help you if you post which programs you have problems with and which version of Amiga OS/Workbench you use. I am not sure but i think you need to enable "BSD Socket emulation"?
Anyway, I've been surfing the net, checking email and even posting to this forum from within WinUAE when i had AIAB installed, so it definately is possible.
Sune Salminen is offline  
Old 24 July 2003, 06:43   #3
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Yup, I also think your problem might have to do with BSD Socket Library emulation not enabled from your WinUAE settings.

If you DO have it enabled, then something odd is happening and as suggested by sune, post which programns are giving you trouble for a better troubleshooting.
Akira is offline  
Old 24 July 2003, 10:22   #4
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,681
Re: TCP/IP: "TCP:" emulation ?

Quote:
Originally posted by Leo42
Hi,


Several Net programs I have tried are asking for "TCP:". As it is not
emulated, these programs exit with something like "No TCP/IP stack found: you should install AmiTCP or Miami..."

Is it planned in future releases of WinUAE ?

Leo.

Get AmiTCP or Genesis demo from Aminet and install TCP-Handler into L: and TCP mountlist into Devs:DosDrivers. You might need to change the mountlist to point to L:TCP-Handler instead of AmiTCP:L/TCP-Handler. If you still get requesters asking for volume AmiTCP, add a line to your user-startup like this: Assign AmiTCP: SYS:

Several releases of WinUAE had problems with the TCP: device (stalled downloads etc.) but the latest two versions work just fine.

Last edited by thomas; 24 July 2003 at 10:34.
thomas is offline  
Old 24 July 2003, 14:34   #5
Leo42
Senior Member
Leo42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Paris
Posts: 124
Sure, I have enabled BSD socket emulation !

As for the assign TCP: foo: tip, I already tried it without success...

I'll try to install AmiTcp handler...

Leo.
Leo42 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Reminder "Lincs Amiga User Group aka "LAG" Meet Sat 5th of January 2013" rockape News 4 30 January 2013 00:06
CD32 Image-Name-Bug: "...(bla)[!].zip" -> "...(bla)[" / "...[test].zip" -> "...[tes" cfTrio support.WinUAE 8 18 December 2012 16:31
Crashes with "CPU Emulation Speed/fastest possible..." + DOpusRT command ami_stuff support.WinUAE 3 09 May 2009 21:52
Miami TCP/IP Working but "Gateway" Greyed out illy5603 support.Apps 2 19 October 2008 14:54
"HDF emulation" for large single-file binaries (e. g. demos) andreas request.UAE Wishlist 2 11 June 2007 01:26

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06253 seconds with 12 queries