English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 July 2003, 20:43   #21
Frog
Junior Member

Frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Posts: 1,263
you also have Digibooster (freeware 8 voices tracker) and DigiboosterPro, the last one support S3M, XM, MP3... import format aswell as XM export. of course on Amiga. If you're familiar to Protracker's like it's very friendly and offer many features.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	dbmpro.png
Views:	340
Size:	25.5 KB
ID:	5383  
Frog is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 July 2003, 20:48   #22
fisken uno
Commodore's biatch
fisken uno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Age: 37
Posts: 670
Looks beautiful...
fisken uno is offline  
Old 16 July 2003, 21:04   #23
thinlega
.:Part-Time Winner:.
thinlega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 531
rattus....If i was you i would probably go for Octamed....

if/when you make a tune put it in the zone!!!!
thinlega is offline  
Old 16 July 2003, 23:46   #24
rattus
Registered User
rattus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 328
Quote:
Originally posted by Akira
Rattus, PlayerPro is pure SHITE. The interface is mega poop. Protracker it's where it's at.
I wasn't aware of that... I like the way you can configure the windows the way you want them though It seems to have everything...

Sorry, can't screenshot cuz it ends up as a huge pdf file. grrrrrrrbloodymacosxihateyousometimes!
rattus is offline  
Old 16 July 2003, 23:53   #25
thinlega
.:Part-Time Winner:.
thinlega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 531
Quote:
Originally posted by Akira
Rattus, PlayerPro is pure SHITE. The interface is mega poop. Protracker it's where it's at.
the bro is right PlayerPro Sucks shit through a sock......There are no good Trackers on the mac
thinlega is offline  
Old 17 July 2003, 00:16   #26
rattus
Registered User
rattus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 328
Quote:
Originally posted by thinlega
the bro is right PlayerPro Sucks shit through a sock......There are no good Trackers on the mac
Okay, I will take your word for it It's just the only one I've ever used... Us mac users are deprived

So, to summarise: either Octamed or Protracker to begin with....

I think I will start with Octamed Sound Studio V1.03c since it is now freeware (www.octamed.co.uk) and they have lots of samples available from the website... I shall give it a try

Please feel free to discuss further, as this is an interesting subject
rattus is offline  
Old 17 July 2003, 00:20   #27
fisken uno
Commodore's biatch
fisken uno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Age: 37
Posts: 670
Don't forget to post the results in the ZONE!!!!
fisken uno is offline  
Old 17 July 2003, 00:33   #28
woody57
Registered User
woody57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Manchester
Age: 95
Posts: 801
Dont write off musicline !

If this is your first attempt with trackers , musicline contains less features but is easier than going sraight into sound studio , the fact that you can live play from your computor keyboard using libary samples allows to hear quick results , rather than playing with a host of features just to get one track right as in octomed {by the way i like octo but mline is good for sketches }
woody57 is offline  
Old 17 July 2003, 01:03   #29
FromWithin
Music lord
FromWithin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Liverpool, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 595
Send a message via ICQ to FromWithin Send a message via AIM to FromWithin Send a message via MSN to FromWithin Send a message via Yahoo to FromWithin
Protracker was Soundtracker honed over literally years of versions. It was very streamlined, sensible, and solid. Definitely the best tracker at the time. The problem I have with newer trackers is the complexity. They don't seem to be designed very well. However, if you've never used a tracker before, Protracker may be a bit hard because of all the keyboard shortcuts.Consequently, other trackers maybe preferable. Couldn't tell you which though. I haven't done much tracker stuff for years.

PC: www.buzzmachines.com
FromWithin is offline  
Old 17 July 2003, 01:24   #30
rattus
Registered User
rattus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 328
Okay then, I'm putting Protracker, Octamed Sound Studio AND Musicline Editor onto my amiga! can't go wrong with that combination, huh?
rattus is offline  
Old 17 July 2003, 01:29   #31
woody57
Registered User
woody57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Manchester
Age: 95
Posts: 801
Have Fun !

music should never seem like hard work { all hardworking professional might disagree ! } but at least your guarenteed to create something !..... one mans music is anothers idea of noise polution ! just make yours louder
woody57 is offline  
Old 17 July 2003, 22:38   #32
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,274
Musicline r0x0rz but you better get some flash course on synths 101 or something, since setting up a sample is not as easy as loading it and playing with it (a la Protracker), you have to set parameters for the instrument, like the much important ADSR environment.

That's why I did not recommend it for newbies. It's a fucking AWESOME program, I tell you.

Rattus, dunno why you end up with a PDF file.. Are you using Screen Capture to snap your screen? Saves to TIFF for me here.

Someone should port something like fastTracker to the Mac. OH! The ONLY decent tracker on Mac is GoatTracker, the C64 SID tracker Works a fucking treat.
Akira is offline  
Old 17 July 2003, 23:14   #33
rattus
Registered User
rattus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 328
Quote:
Originally posted by Akira
Musicline r0x0rz but you better get some flash course on synths 101 or something, since setting up a sample is not as easy as loading it and playing with it (a la Protracker), you have to set parameters for the instrument, like the much important ADSR environment.

That's why I did not recommend it for newbies. It's a fucking AWESOME program, I tell you.

Rattus, dunno why you end up with a PDF file.. Are you using Screen Capture to snap your screen? Saves to TIFF for me here.

Someone should port something like fastTracker to the Mac. OH! The ONLY decent tracker on Mac is GoatTracker, the C64 SID tracker Works a fucking treat.
ah yes! GoatTracker! I found that on macupdate whilst looking for playerpro alternatives... It is strange that there are no more MOD trackers on the mac, since most of our wonderful shareware games contain music in that format...maybe they are using amigas?

to get screenshots I just press <command+shift+3> to get the whole screen, or <command+shift+4> to get a selection... It might be Jaguar's PDF-based quartz engine or summat, cuz the resulting files are huuuuge! You have to shrink them to around 25% to get them normal-sized! :eek
rattus is offline  
Old 17 July 2003, 23:38   #34
woody57
Registered User
woody57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Manchester
Age: 95
Posts: 801
Akira is right ...

sometimes old guys like me who actually built transistor based mono keyboards from kits forget that understanding ADSR waveforms does require some patience .
However the use off single voice sample libaries is a much easier thing than creating your own wave forms
The same is true with breaks and beats however there are many here on EAB more qualified than I who can help you with that
woody57 is offline  
Old 18 July 2003, 07:07   #35
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,274
Yup wood, ADSR et al is not that difficult, but it's not straightforward,so it needs a bit of investigation.

Rattus, avoid GoatTracker, it's more complicated because you have to learn a bit about the SID, and obviously, create all he sonds, since it doesn't take samples. Get onto GoatTracker after some modtracker experience

And dunno what you do on that Mac, I run 10.2.6 and I take screenshots to TIFF running the Screen Capture program
Akira is offline  
Old 19 July 2003, 01:50   #36
ant512
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 942
OctaMED every time. I use a combination of OctaMED Pro 4 (last version with the classic tracker interface) and Sound Studio (they finally got the WB interface looking and working properly, and added a whole host of extra features too).
ant512 is offline  
Old 19 July 2003, 15:47   #37
Syko
Now got GSX750F :))
Syko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Halifax UK
Age: 53
Posts: 584
Yep, definately OctaMED.

Tried others on miggy and PC and mac (at a mate's) and none of them can do what OctaMED does, as easily, simply and with as clear interface to do it with. OK some of them (like Reason) can do awsome things, but they're not trackers...
Syko is offline  
Old 19 July 2003, 18:41   #38
thinlega
.:Part-Time Winner:.
thinlega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 531
@ant512 just wondering is the prelude 16bit card worth it???? How fast does your amiga have to be to use it?? and is the clock port version as good as the zorro version
thinlega is offline  
Old 20 July 2003, 16:12   #39
ant512
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 942
The clockport version is quite a bit slower than the Zorro version, but still quite usable. As for speed, an 030 can play back MP3s in 16-bit at low frequencies or bitrates, or with very the frequency division set very high. An 060 can play MP3s up to 128Kbps in 16-bit without cutting corners, and can manage 192Kbps if you drop the quality a bit. This is entirely dependent on the CPU, as the card doesn't have an on-board DSP.

OctaMED Sound Studio is a trickier proposition. An 030 or above can play MODs back in 16-bit sound, but you may have to drop the frequency a bit if the MOD has lots of channels. An 060 will play as many channels as you like, with effects turned on, at 44.1KHz+ without any problems.

However (and this is a big however), there seems to be a problem with either the board or its drivers (possibly the Toccata.library emulation?) when used with OctaMED. The board locks up after some use (the time before it locks up is inversely proportional to the amount of data OctaMED streams to it, so I'd imagine it's some sort of buffer overflow), freezing the machine and forcing you to reset it. This makes writing music with the card problematic and frustrating.

So, is it worth it? If you want to use it with OctaMED, I'd have to say no. It's far too frustrating to use, especially when you lose half an hour's work (it never runs for longer than that). For MP3 playback or 16-bit sample work, if you have an 060, it's not too bad. I think I'd probably recommend the Delfina instead, though you'd need to be aware of the problems with that card before you consider it (060 incompatible, buggy drivers, MP3 playback problems).
ant512 is offline  
Old 20 July 2003, 18:11   #40
thinlega
.:Part-Time Winner:.
thinlega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 531
thanks for the info you have saved me some money on that card....
thinlega is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dr fonk modules moonbeam.mod abudhabi.mod redblade request.Modules 8 28 October 2017 14:30
new text editor flipper Coders. Tutorials 8 17 December 2007 11:57
Hex Editor Retro1234 request.Other 9 24 October 2006 12:03
Hippel mod to Future Composer mod Carlos Ace request.Modules 1 07 November 2002 17:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.31509 seconds with 12 queries