English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 July 2003, 02:15   #1
Dastardly
Into the Wonderful

Dastardly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Gods Country
Age: 42
Posts: 2,111
DDoouubbllee characters problem

Ive just installed Workbench 3.1 on my emulated A1200HD but Im a newbie to it all.

The problem Im having is that when I try to type anything in, WB just doubles every character I enter!

Anyone know how to fix this?

I have upped my config to the zone if anyone wants to have a look to see if they can see the problem.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	help.gif
Views:	223
Size:	5.6 KB
ID:	5364  
Dastardly is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 12 July 2003, 02:21   #2
FromWithin
Music lord
FromWithin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Liverpool, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 595
Send a message via ICQ to FromWithin Send a message via AIM to FromWithin Send a message via MSN to FromWithin Send a message via Yahoo to FromWithin
I remember this happening to me on one of the older version of WinUAE. Try a different version.
FromWithin is offline  
Old 12 July 2003, 02:27   #3
Dastardly
Into the Wonderful

Dastardly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Gods Country
Age: 42
Posts: 2,111
This is the latest version. You think I should try older?
Dastardly is offline  
Old 12 July 2003, 02:42   #4
FromWithin
Music lord
FromWithin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Liverpool, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 595
Send a message via ICQ to FromWithin Send a message via AIM to FromWithin Send a message via MSN to FromWithin Send a message via Yahoo to FromWithin
Well you can also try checking the Keyboard Preferences in the Prefs drawer. And set the emulation to Fastest CPU but Maintain Chipset Timing and see if that works.

But if it's still the same, try an older version. V0.21r4 is the one I use.
FromWithin is offline  
Old 12 July 2003, 02:46   #5
Dastardly
Into the Wonderful

Dastardly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Gods Country
Age: 42
Posts: 2,111
I think Ill try an older version of WinUAE. I already tried the other with no luck.

Thanks
Dastardly is offline  
Old 12 July 2003, 03:03   #6
Dastardly
Into the Wonderful

Dastardly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Gods Country
Age: 42
Posts: 2,111
Ok I just started again from scratch with an older version of WinUAE and success! No double characters.

Thanks for the tip FromWithin
Dastardly is offline  
Old 12 July 2003, 08:34   #7
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,527
You don't need to use an old version. Old Versions are very slow compared to the JIT versions. Just enable the "Fastest possible but maintain chipset timing" option.
thomas is offline  
Old 12 July 2003, 18:40   #8
Dastardly
Into the Wonderful

Dastardly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Gods Country
Age: 42
Posts: 2,111
@thomas
I tried that and it didnt work.
Dastardly is offline  
Old 22 July 2003, 16:29   #9
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,290
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Dastardly, did you try increasing the key repeat delay in input prefs?
Jope is online now  
Old 22 July 2003, 17:01   #10
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 35
Posts: 7,924
This happened to me once on my real amiga, kept doing it all the time.

Trouble is I can't remember how I fixed it!

Well that was helpful.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 23 July 2003, 00:29   #11
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
I remember this bug from the Linux version (i. e. UAE), and it could be cured by 'xset r'.
Seems to occur periodically...

BTW: does turning on sound emulation fix it in current version?
andreas is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Characters from games you had a crush on? Paul_s Nostalgia & memories 33 07 May 2014 23:35
Sensible Soccer v1.1 (with Cannon Fodder's characters) MarcoKiller Amiga scene 10 09 February 2013 17:46
Amiga characters as avatars StarEye Nostalgia & memories 12 07 April 2011 09:54
Making ISOS of CD's with strange characters ancalimon support.Apps 3 04 February 2008 18:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.15074 seconds with 12 queries