English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 July 2003, 02:38   #1
Tea
 
Posts: n/a
Unhappy Problem of Emergency Disk for OS3.9

Hi all, I have followed the http://home.t-online.de/home/thomas-rapp/os39uae.html Quick OS3.9 install guide to success create the emergency disk under the latest WinUAE, but when reach the step 23 and try to boot up the emergency disk, a error message keep said something like read/write error of the disk so I can't enter the workbench desktop to continue the setup, can someone help me pls ?
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 08 July 2003, 10:37   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,525
I vaguely remember something like this but I can hardly recall the exact circumstances.

Try Floppy Speed = 100%. I'll try it myself tonight at home.

Edit: no, no, now I remember. It is not the floppy that has read errors but the CD-ROM. Boot without the emergency disk again and open a shell window. Then insert the emergency disk and edit the CD-ROM mountlist.

Enter:

ed df0:devs/dosdrivers/emergency_cd

then change the maxtransfer line to read

MaxTransfer = 0xfe00

Now press Esc and enter x to save the file. Reboot. It should work now.

Last edited by thomas; 08 July 2003 at 10:44.
thomas is offline  
Old 08 July 2003, 12:26   #3
Tea
 
Posts: n/a
Thank you so much Thomas, now the emergency disk work ! If you don't teach me I really have no way to find out this solution by myself.

Last edited by Tea; 08 July 2003 at 12:59.
 
Old 08 July 2003, 13:00   #4
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,525
The installation just copies files. There is no magic inside.

If you followed my instructions you already have this "Workbench" directory which shows up as a drive in AmigaOS. This is meant to be the destination for the OS3.9 installation. You may want to add another directory as "Work" as this is the standard AmigaOS installation (small system partition and large application partition).

Note: every directory you add to the harddrives list in WinUAE is a drive in AmigaOS. The Amiga might write into this directory, but it has no chance to write into directory levels above the mountpoint. So if you don't add your drive C as harddrive in WinUAE there is no chance to damage your Windows installation. If you add C:\WinUAE\Harddrives\Workbench, only this directory and its subdirectories are targets of write accesses, C:\Windows will not be touched.

Hint: when the installer asks you about your skill level, never choose "Novice". Novice will make assumptions about the system which in most cases are wrong and it does not let you change them. Use Average or Expert. Expert gives the highest level of control, so you'll be told about everything it does.


Edit: the question has gone. I will leave the answer here nevertheless...

Last edited by thomas; 08 July 2003 at 13:08.
thomas is offline  
Old 16 July 2003, 22:31   #5
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 33
Posts: 2,723
I see you updated the page today. But dang, I wish I had archived the pre-updated guide for historical and comparison purposes...
MethodGit is offline  
Old 17 July 2003, 10:12   #6
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,525
But the new version actually works while the old one didn't because of the MaxTransfer problem, so what is the point in keeping the old copy ?

I must admit that I didn't even save the old version myself.
thomas is offline  
Old 22 July 2003, 00:29   #7
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 33
Posts: 2,723
Guess you're somewhat correct there, although this message on the AIAB message board confused me somewhat:

http://aiab.emuunlim.com/bin/wwwboard/messages/49.html


Remember, this was posted back when the old version of the guide was online. Wonder how (or why) he never came across the MaxTransfer problem.......?
MethodGit is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
After creating OS 3.9 Emergency Disk: Cannot open "cd.device" unit 2 Snowwie support.Other 2 31 March 2012 14:44
Amiga 3000 os3.9 boot disk GreenMeanie support.Apps 4 26 March 2008 15:43
OS 3.9 Emergency Disk squidbass New to Emulation or Amiga scene 13 02 October 2007 14:04
Errors creating an Emergency Disk Os3.9 Szehang New to Emulation or Amiga scene 2 17 August 2007 20:24
Amiga OS 3.9 Emergency Disk Macca support.Hardware 2 10 June 2007 10:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.15665 seconds with 11 queries