English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 November 2021, 15:43   #1021
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 1,429
Hi Toni,

One thing I've noticed with all the v4.9.0 betas is that if a game has "Centering = vertical" then the following happens:

KS ROM (no disk inserted):

As opposed to v4.4.0:

This affects some games, Afterburner (Sega) for example:

Afterburner (Sega):

As opposed to v4.4.0:
"G-LOC - R360 Air Battle" is also affected:

v4.9.0:

v4.4.0:

If you need configuration files then please let me know?

Last edited by vulture; 14 November 2021 at 16:00.
vulture is offline  
Old 14 November 2021, 18:14   #1022
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 1,429
And another one Toni,

I was testing some games in DamienD's collection.

There's an issue with "Moon Child [AGA]" in the betas; all is fine in v4.4.0 stable.

The problem is with "MoonChildFireTest":



This whole sequence now crawls; probably 2 to 3 times slower than what it should be.

I've zipped the configuration file and <gamesdir> and put into the Zone!
vulture is offline  
Old 16 November 2021, 18:22   #1023
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 47
Posts: 25,363
Quote:
Originally Posted by vulture View Post
One thing I've noticed with all the v4.9.0 betas is that if a game has "Centering = vertical" then the following happens:
4.9 behavior is correct (at least it is technically correct!), there really is no border color when display is moved down (due to blanking) and earlier version simply made border region larger.

I am not sure if this behavior can be supported anymore due to new vertical blanking updates.

I'll check..
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 16 November 2021, 19:52   #1024
Zarnal
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: France
Posts: 405
Hello,

since b40 RC1, old issue ( before new chipset emulation ) with S(pi)d (64k Intro) by Zomo is back ( but slighty different ). A " ghost " scene appears just before credits ( pic 1 ). Ok with b39, b38...

Edit : Janaway's link is no longer working.

Edit 2 : Quickstart A1200.

Last edited by Zarnal; 20 November 2021 at 19:16.
Zarnal is offline  
Old 16 November 2021, 20:37   #1025
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 1,429
Thx Toni, would be nice if it could be done this way, looks better! Also, regarding the "MoonChildFireTest" issue I reported, it starts from beta 25; all is good in beta 24.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
4.9 behavior is correct (at least it is technically correct!), there really is no border color when display is moved down (due to blanking) and earlier version simply made border region larger.

I am not sure if this behavior can be supported anymore due to new vertical blanking updates.

I'll check..
vulture is offline  
Old 20 November 2021, 08:59   #1026
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 47
Posts: 25,363
Quote:
Originally Posted by vulture View Post
Thx Toni, would be nice if it could be done this way
It can't work like that anymore (it is more like bug in old centering, most likely some even older version didn't work like that). Perhaps some extra option that "extends" border colors would work but it won't happen soon.

Quote:
Also, regarding the "MoonChildFireTest" issue I reported, it starts from beta 25; all is good in beta 24.
I can't notice any difference between 24 and 25. It is very slow if full cycle-exact, not that slow if only memory cycle-exact.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 20 November 2021, 18:29   #1027
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 1,429
Yup, you're right. DamienD's configuration has no "Cycle-exact" options ticked.

Ticking "Cycle-exact (DMA/Memory accesses)" gets this working like it used to in v4.4.0.

Many thanks!
vulture is offline  
Old 21 November 2021, 18:19   #1028
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 47
Posts: 25,363
https://download.abime.net/winuae/fi...uae_4900b41.7z
https://download.abime.net/winuae/fi...e64_4900b41.7z

Beta 41 (RC2):

- Sprite processing was exited early if sprite horizontal start was zero (which is correct normally). But when combined with FMODE SSCAN2-bit, only "original" sprite is invisible but "doubled" sprite is still visible. Fixes Fantastic Dizzy CD32 background glitch.
- Improve Denise/Lisa internal bitplane pipeline logic, previously undocumented combined plane change + bitplane shift changes mid scanline are now working correctly.
- Above behavior also revealed yet another undocumented chipset feature/bug: if ECS Denise or AGA and bitplane plane count is lowered mid scan line and disabled plane's last bit out of bitplane shifter was one: last pixel appears twice. OCS Denise is unaffected. This is emulated only in subpixel mode.
- Clear all internal display emulation buffers at reset, previously some of them was not cleared. (Possibly could have caused temporary on screen garbage when loading statefile on the fly)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 22 November 2021, 09:29   #1029
hexaae
Bug hunter

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 46
Posts: 1,965
Quote:
Originally Posted by hexaae View Post
Something is broken (even before b34) with display > Windowed: Filter with mask seems applied twice here in DX11, and even if Filter: Masks=none... Moreover there's a sort of strange bad buffering where I can see 2 frames constantly swapped (hard to explain)...
This happens in Windowed mode only.



EDIT: mmmh, seems more complicated to reproduce: only happens when you switch from Native Fullscreen to Native Windowed
EDIT2: from my early testings it started with b32
This bug is still there...

Repro steps:
- use my cfg in signature (I'm using the mask in attachment for the scanline effect...)
- run a game like Beast 1, call the UI with F12 and switch from Fullscreen to Windowed mode
the ugly effect persists even if I remove the mask (select 'none') at this point
Attached Images
 

Last edited by hexaae; 22 November 2021 at 09:44.
hexaae is offline  
Old 22 November 2021, 19:57   #1030
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 47
Posts: 25,363
Quote:
Originally Posted by hexaae View Post
This bug is still there...

Repro steps:
- use my cfg in signature (I'm using the mask in attachment for the scanline effect...)
- run a game like Beast 1, call the UI with F12 and switch from Fullscreen to Windowed mode
the ugly effect persists even if I remove the mask (select 'none') at this point
winuae.7z updated which should fix it, please confirm. I was confused about the mask. Does it have something to do with this bug or not?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 23 November 2021, 03:22   #1031
hexaae
Bug hunter

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 46
Posts: 1,965
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
winuae.7z updated which should fix it, please confirm. I was confused about the mask. Does it have something to do with this bug or not?
Fixed
Well I noticed it because I use a png as a mask for the scanline effect.
Switching Fullscreen <---> Windowed behaves as expected now without windowed artifacts.
hexaae is offline  
Old 24 November 2021, 15:48   #1032
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,291
Animotion (Demo) by Phenomena --> http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=317

[A500 ECS 512 + 512] Broken from WinUAE Beta 41 (RC2)!
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 24 November 2021, 17:40   #1033
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 47
Posts: 25,363
Do you mean HAM animation part? (I even had test statefile from that part because it has been a problem long time ago)

That was one of the most stupid bug ever. Comparison that should have been "if this variable is same as that variable and another variable is zeroed" but it was "if this variable is same as that variable or another variable is non-zero"..

Which made some BPLCON0 changes not reach display rendering part (HAM/DPF/EHB on/off mainly). Fixed.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 24 November 2021, 18:33   #1034
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,291
I don’t understand too much about bed bugs, I just find them and leave everything else to the experts.. (confirmed to work again)

Last edited by amilo3438; 24 November 2021 at 18:41.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 26 November 2021, 19:21   #1035
DesertBlizzard
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Gilbert
Posts: 15
Anything in this dmp that might be useful to determine the reason for a random crash experienced while doing nothing other that listening to some internet radio?
Attached Files
File Type: dmp winuae_4.9.0_bBeta 41 (RC2)_2021.11.26_10.37.19.dmp (164.8 KB, 24 views)
DesertBlizzard is offline  
Old 27 November 2021, 13:35   #1036
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 47
Posts: 25,363
Quote:
Originally Posted by DesertBlizzard View Post
Anything in this dmp that might be useful to determine the reason for a random crash experienced while doing nothing other that listening to some internet radio?
I got similar report few days ago (doing nothing and unexpected crash). It was fixed today (at least I think it was). Next (and hopefully last or second to last) beta will be released today or tomorrow.

Chipset emulation related buffer slowly fills in RTG mode (It shouldn't be even used if RTG is active and chipset display is not visible) and after about ~100 minutes it starts overwriting other variables.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 27 November 2021, 15:15   #1037
hexaae
Bug hunter

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 46
Posts: 1,965
This could explain also my strange random crashes since I always test it on the long run running tools, wb games, native games (mostly WHD), rtg programs... and I use an RTG Picasso96 WB.
hexaae is offline  
Old 27 November 2021, 20:32   #1038
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 47
Posts: 25,363
https://download.abime.net/winuae/fi...uae_4900b42.7z
https://download.abime.net/winuae/fi...e64_4900b42.7z

Official release date: about one week to go.

Beta 42 (RC3):

- Switching from D3D11 fullscreen mode to windowed mode using GUI caused windowed mode to keep-reinitializing continuously. (CTRL+F12 switch worked normally)
- Fixed wrong condition in check if Denise side BPLCON0 parameters needs updating, broke for example HAM enable/disable until next line (b41)
- Blitter line mode with C disabled also disables C-channel pointer modulo add operations. b39 update was not complete. (Methylate / Focus Design).
- Interlace mode last 2 lines (if Overscan+ or Extreme) had swapped long/short line (last line/line zero "wrap around" point), LOF toggles at this point but display device does not see it until few lines later.
- Fixed buffer overflow that caused unexpected crash due to internal variables getting corrupted. It happened if mode was RTG (native chipset not active) and native mode had copper list that writes to custom registers that can affect colors or blanking, state change was unnecessarily recorded to a buffer that is not in use if RTG mode and after long time (can be 100 minutes or more), it finally overflowed. Recent blanking updates introduced this.
- Programmed blanking change was not always fully detected, leaving partially blanked border in some situations.
- Enabled Remove interlace arfifact option without interlace mode: bitplane overrun emulation was not possible.
- Remove interlace artifact option last line flickering/garbage is really gone now. (Blanks extra line(s), this is not really the correct way but too late to fix it properly)
- Bitplane pointer pointing to upper 512k chip ram in ECS 0.5M+0.5M config didn't use indirect read routines. (Fixes Cen / Rare ECS 0.5M+0.5M config corrupted vector objects)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 27 November 2021, 21:44   #1039
Viceroy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sunderland
Posts: 900
You're on fire Toni. Well done!
Viceroy is offline  
Old 28 November 2021, 19:21   #1040
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post

Beta 42 (RC3):

- Bitplane pointer pointing to upper 512k chip ram in ECS 0.5M+0.5M config didn't use indirect read routines. (Fixes Cen / Rare ECS 0.5M+0.5M config corrupted vector objects)
Not sure if this broke the "Dots (Demo) by Phenomena" in ECS... but maybe it's not important for this release. (so, just for info)

https://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p...&postcount=852

EDIT: Quote from above link: "But it becomes real end of 1M chip if ECS (even if system only has 512k chip). Which is normally not zeroed. Result is tall bars on top of scroller."
So, maybe it is correct now because there are tall bars on top of scroller in ECS!? (before was only on the side of the screen)

Last edited by amilo3438; 28 November 2021 at 19:50.
amilo3438 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 4.0.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 64 15 July 2018 12:03
WinUAE 3.6.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 166 07 March 2018 22:48
WinUAE 3.2.0 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 385 08 November 2015 23:06
WinUAE 2.5.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 69 22 December 2012 10:22
WinUAE 2.2.0 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 119 28 June 2010 02:35

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.16006 seconds with 13 queries