English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 September 2020, 19:05   #1
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,311
WinUAE 4.5.0 beta series

WinUAE 4.5.0 beta series.

As usual, this thread is only for 4.5.0 beta introduced bugs or features. Always test with 4.4.0 first! Problem exists in 4.4.0 or older: do not post in this thread!

https://download.abime.net/winuae/fi...nuae_4500b1.7z
https://download.abime.net/winuae/fi...ae64_4500b1.7z

Beta 1:

- Fully merged latest Aranym JIT. Previously it was only partially merged because of unsolved problem that made it completely unusable. It is solved now.
- JIT should be now trace mode (debugger) compatible. If SR register T1 or T0 bit gets set, JIT transparently drops to normal emulation mode. JIT reactivates when trace gets cleared. Very rarely used M SR bit also does same.
- Full CPU tester 68020 test set now passes in JIT mode, including trace mode tests. (NOTE: bcc.b and bsr.b tests fail unless Hard flush is also set)
- JIT has two known not yet fixed bugs: edge case shift condition (shift count is divisible by 32) C-flag problem and ROR/ROL does not clear V-flag.

- x86 Bridgeboard update: PCem x86 core updated to v16. Update added FPU support for pre-486 CPUs. FPU checkbox added to bridgeboard expansion settings.
- uaegfx Picasso96 2.5.0 screen dragging support added.

- CV64 RTG board emulation. S3 Trio 64 chipset emulation from PCem. Roxxler chip is not (yet?) emulated. CGX4 complains if Roxxler fails to work correctly. Picasso96 does not use it.
- CV64/3D RTG board emulation, Z2 and Z3 mode. S3 Virge chipset emulation from PCem. (S3 Virge is very different than S3 Trio)
- All Cirrus Logic based RTG boards now use PCem Cirrus Logic SVGA chip emulation.
- Piccolo SD64 fixed.
- Reordered RTG board list.
- Hardware emulated graphics board screenshot support fixed.
- x86 Bridgeboard VGA still use QEMU Cirrus Logic emulation. I'll keep it (at least for now) because it enables simultaneous use of bridgeboard VGA and PCem RTG board.

NOTE: JIT + Hardware emulated graphics board can cause glitches. Will be fixed later.

- No. Don't ask. Permedia 2 (Cyber/BlizzardVision PPC) or complete enough Voodoo 3 chip emulation does not currently exist.

- Audio and disk DMA: Agnus also ignores DMACON DMAEN bit. DMAEN bit is checked inside Paula. Audio: Paula audio DMA requests are only generated if DMAEN is set when channel generates DMA request (not when transferred via DMAL). DMAEN can be cleared after request has been generated and DMA request still goes to Agnus and Agnus does DMA to AUDxDAT during channel's DMA slot in next scanline. Disk: both DMAEN and DSKEN needs to be set. Previously DMAEN was checked in Agnus side when deciding current DMA slot state. Most likely no normal program cares, this is quite extreme edge case.
- Copper write to BPLxDAT timing fix.
- cpu_halt_auto_reset config entry added to GUI misc panel.
- Analog joystick multiplier/offset default adjusted.
- Load PAL mode, OCS Agnus state file directly from GUI/command line, start emulation, on the fly switch chipset to ECS Agnus: mode was changed to NTSC.
- Switching off display DMA when display DMA was active still had more hidden side-effects. It results in "bad state" that is not reset until bitplane DMA is switched back on, when it is back on DMA restarts from state which normally happens when DDFSTOP has been passed. Result is either 1 or 2 "bitplane blocks" (1 or 2 depends on horizontal position relative to next BPL1DAT slot when DMA was switched off) starting from DDFSTRT (if switched on before DDFSTRT). The rest of scanline is drawn using border color. Following scan line works normally. No differences between OCS/ECS. (vAmiga test case)
- Another undocumented feature: if BPLCON0 HAM and DPF are both set, result is weird. HAM replaces R/G/B component: replacement component value is palette _index_ of current pixel in dual playfield mode! HAM selection bits zero: palette selection works like in dual playfield mode. BPLCON2 works like mode is normal dual play field (including invalid BPLCON2 priority values). OCS/ECS only. (vAmiga test case).
- Dual playfield mode illegal BPLCON2 priorities didn't work correctly in hires mode. (bottom part of above test case)
- Blitter nasty off cycle counting update, emulatation code wasn't exactly doing what it was supposed to do.
- A1000 blitter busy bug was ignored if copper waited for blitter.
- Added DMA debugger non-nasty blitter extra information: 's' (CPU will get next blitter cycle) and 'S' (CPU stole this cycle from blitter)
- Confirmed CIA register contents at power up. CIA control register should be zero, for some reason previous reset default was $04.
- Disassemble FBF with zero offset as FNOP.
- Debugger fi instruction breakpoint command now accepts up to 3 opcode words.
- Config file list wasn't refreshed when config file was deleted. (4.4.0)
- RTF_AFTERDOS is broken in KS 2.0 , KS 2.0 now uses pre-WinUAE 3.3 hack and only KS 3.0+ use RTF_AFTERDOS. Clipboard sharing and uaenet.device work again under KS 2.0.
- Added Amiga Bootblock Reader brainfile support (copy ABR package xml files to <winuae root>\plugins\ABR -directory). Used when clicking "?" button in quickstart and disk panels.
- Fixed emulated floppy disk rotation speed, it was slightly too slow. This change could break some copy protections. Unexpected side-effects are always possible..
- Copper SKIP wasn't updated when WAIT logic was updated ages ago. SKIP had wrong timing in some rare situations.
- "Default" filter mode: PAL/NTSC switch automatically scales the image.
- DF3: floppy led was drawn using very dark color if it was disabled and system didn't have NVRAM hardware.
- OSD led font graphics is now generated from real Windows font and is high DPI aware. Led size multiplier config entries now also support non-integer values.

- Added GVP A1230 Turbo+ Jaws. Boot ROM adds RAM outside of 24-bit address space and fake RAM autoconfig board.
- Accelerator board RAM slider range was larger than supported range with some boards.
- Added Trumpcard v1.5 and v3.1 ROM. Added also hardware interrupt checkbox, later trumpcard (still non-pro) variants have interrupt support. It seems 8k ROM variants don't have interrupt, 16k do have it. Setting is wrong if it hangs at boot.
- Added A.L.F.2 OMTI variant and v2.2 boot ROM. ROM possibly also includes SCSI driver but I didn't examine how it works. A.L.F.2 OMTI IO port is exact same as in A.L.F.1.
- Trifecta LX SCSI emulation fixed.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 26 September 2020, 19:22   #2
Mclane
Old retro god.

Mclane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northolt, West London
Age: 59
Posts: 684
So many fixes and additions, thank you as always..
Mclane is offline  
Old 26 September 2020, 19:33   #3
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 18,659
Hi Toni,

Thanks for you latest work

One problem though; I've tested 3 x games that have JIT enabled.

My configurations usually have "Direct" set. When I start any of these JIT games I just get a black screen, nothing else. Left it for 1 minutes and then had to kill the "WinUAE.exe" process.

I also tried changing to "Indirect". Started the game and WinUAE immediately crashes. This time a dump file is created.

Configurations, both logs for "Direct" and "Indirect", plus the ".DMP" are now in The Zone!

Edit: ok, something is seriously wrong... just tested an OCS and an AGA game. WinUAE crashed immediately.

Edit2: this seems to be an issue the Graphics API; if I use my usual "Direct3D 9" or "DirectDraw" (which I never use), then crash. If I set "Direct3D 11" then all games tested work.

Unfortunately I cannot use "Direct3D 11" though, and need "Direct3D 9" working.


Edit3: ok, have worked out what's causing the crash. It's the new LEDs... if I turn them off then all is ok again.

Last edited by DamienD; 26 September 2020 at 19:47.
DamienD is offline  
Old 26 September 2020, 19:54   #4
Mclane
Old retro god.

Mclane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northolt, West London
Age: 59
Posts: 684
Confirming Damiens problems on my setup, 11 works 9 crash...

Dump attached..
Attached Files
File Type: dmp winuae_x64_4.5.0_bBeta 1_2020.09.26_17.49.29.dmp (152.3 KB, 67 views)
Mclane is offline  
Old 26 September 2020, 19:55   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,311
Does crashes stop if on screen leds are disabled? (misc panel)

EDIT: and only if D3D9 mode? Works in D3D11?
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 26 September 2020, 19:59   #6
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 18,659
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Does crashes stop if on screen leds are disabled? (misc panel)
Yes Toni, my quote from above:

Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Edit3: ok, have worked out what's causing the crash. It's the new LEDs... if I turn them off then all is ok again.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
EDIT: and only if D3D9 mode? Works in D3D11?
"Direct3D 9" and "DirectDraw" both crash with the new style LEDs.

Only "Direct3D 11" works with these.

Last edited by DamienD; 26 September 2020 at 20:10.
DamienD is offline  
Old 26 September 2020, 20:25   #7
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 797
Hi Toni,
thank you very much for your work and your latest beta.
I just tried the new winuae beta without changing anything same configuration etc. all the same.
With quake1 I get this in the first screenshot it is version 4.4.0 final
in the second screenshot with the latest beta 4.5 I get this while so many times the system completely crashes.
my error report is for 4.1FE, if for any reason I don't have to report this type of error because I use 4.1FE let me know.
It is not my intention to report on 4.1FE
I don't want to disturb the topic by talking about 4.1FE
In this case quake1 makes use of cybergraphic uaegfx 640x480 8 bit

Thanks again very much for the latest beta :-)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	quake1.JPG
Views:	184
Size:	65.8 KB
ID:	68955   Click image for larger version

Name:	quake1-beta.JPG
Views:	190
Size:	168.1 KB
ID:	68956  
White is offline  
Old 26 September 2020, 20:32   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,311
Does https://download.abime.net/winuae/files/b/winuae.7z fix the led crash?
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 26 September 2020, 20:50   #9
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 18,659
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Yes

To be honest though; I like the old LEDs much more (size, shape and text).

Also, when using "Direct3D 9" it seems the LEDs / text is cut off:



Old style:


Last edited by DamienD; 26 September 2020 at 20:56.
DamienD is offline  
Old 26 September 2020, 20:50   #10
Mclane
Old retro god.

Mclane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northolt, West London
Age: 59
Posts: 684
yes it does Toni...Oops, D beat me to it...oh well, 2 different confirms
Mclane is offline  
Old 26 September 2020, 20:54   #11
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 797
Even amicygnix no longer opens the proprietary screen using the clonewb or cybergraph driver.
White is offline  
Old 26 September 2020, 21:42   #12
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by White View Post
Even amicygnix no longer opens the proprietary screen using the clonewb or cybergraph driver.
If this is PPC related: usual answer, far too early for that. At least without full HDF image that I can use to duplicate it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Yes

To be honest though; I like the old LEDs much more (size, shape and text).

Also, when using "Direct3D 9" it seems the LEDs / text is cut off:



Old style:

Old leds sucked.

New ones can support any available font but it is not yet configurable.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 26 September 2020, 21:58   #13
Zilog
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 419
Great Toni!!!
Zilog is offline  
Old 26 September 2020, 22:16   #14
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 797
Also tried the last winuae in the thread the problems remain once the clonewb or cybergraph option is used the screen slows down considerably until it creates artifacts on the screen without opening the amicygnix proprietary screen
I will wait patiently for any future developments. thank you
White is offline  
Old 26 September 2020, 22:36   #15
falken
Registered User
falken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Spain
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
If this is PPC related: usual answer, far too early for that. At least without full HDF image that I can use to duplicate it.



Old leds sucked.

New ones can support any available font but it is not yet configurable.
Actual font is awful !!!

Edit: The performance with games like Alien Breed 3D is terribly bad. Using the same settings as in WinUAE 4.4.0

For everything else, a wonderful job! like always

Last edited by falken; 26 September 2020 at 23:07.
falken is offline  
Old 27 September 2020, 01:24   #16
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,243
Toni on OS3 RTG with UAE Zorro III all RTG games tested have corrupted graphics, see screenshot.

With OS3 RTG and Picasso IV the problems are different, graphics cut and system blocks.


Thanks for your great work

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 27 September 2020 at 20:42.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 27 September 2020, 02:26   #17
hexaae
Bug hunter

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 1,602
Here we go!

WHDLoad games at launch make the emulator freeze (whdload doesn't even display splash window since it suddenly freezes) with b1.
My WinUAE cfg in signature.

Last edited by hexaae; 27 September 2020 at 02:59.
hexaae is offline  
Old 27 September 2020, 04:23   #18
jasonver2.0
Collector of everything
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Australia
Age: 41
Posts: 163
Quote:
- Added Amiga Bootblock Reader brainfile support (copy ABR package xml files to <winuae root>\plugins\ABR -directory). Used when clicking "?" button in quickstart and disk panels.
Woohoo!!!
jasonver2.0 is offline  
Old 27 September 2020, 08:25   #19
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,418
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
To be honest though; I like the old LEDs much more (size, shape and text).
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Old leds sucked.

New ones can support any available font but it is not yet configurable
will there be an option to choose between old and new style leds? for those who prefer old style?
honx is offline  
Old 27 September 2020, 09:06   #20
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 46
Posts: 2,117
As usual i don't understand nearly nothing of all additions / fixes

Anyway impressive list .... thanks for the work !
chip is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 6 (1 members and 5 guests)
Toni Wilen
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 4.2.0 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 69 09 April 2019 19:31
WinUAE 3.4.0 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 464 20 December 2016 16:56
WinUAE 3.2.0 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 385 09 November 2015 00:06
WinUAE 2.4.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 223 09 May 2012 17:16
WinUAE 2.2.0 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 119 28 June 2010 03:35

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11562 seconds with 13 queries