English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 July 2003, 16:48   #1
IanS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nottingham England
Posts: 209
Emulating a PC on my miggy...

Hello folks,

Do any of you wise and wonderful people know if it is possible to get PCTask 4 to recognise the PCMCIA slot on an A1200? PC drivers for the Lan card aren't a problem, but can PC Task even access the PC slot?

I was wondering if, as a futile waste of time, I could get Windows for W/G, running on my Amiga (with PCMCIA LAN card), to talk to XP or Win 98 over my little Ethernet network. Why you may ask? Well, because I'm sad... is there any better excuse?

Thanks in advance.
IanS is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 July 2003, 17:15   #2
ant512
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 942
I don't think that either PC Task or PCx will access the PCMCIA slot. More importantly, even if they could, neither runs fast enough to maintain a network connection even on an 060.
ant512 is offline  
Old 03 July 2003, 17:38   #3
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,353
I hate to say it but wouldn't it be better, well not neccessarily better of course, perhaps cheaper is a better description; to get a cheap PC and/or parts and build it yourself

I understand the reasoning of having an all-in-one box but it's not always practical if speed is the issue, among other things.
jmmijo is offline  
Old 04 July 2003, 09:37   #4
IanS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nottingham England
Posts: 209
The really sad thing is... I already have two 486 boxes and a Pentium 150, along side my two ancient Apple Macs. Not to mention my Athlon XP box. This really was just a "can it be done?" exercise.

I'll take my anorak off and get a life once I know the answer to this most important issue!
IanS is offline  
Old 04 July 2003, 16:52   #5
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,946
The phrase applies even for lame PCS: "Nothing BEats the Real Thing!"

I don't think any PC emu will accept your PCMCIA Ethernet card, but you could try connecting through serial!
Akira is offline  
Old 04 July 2003, 17:31   #6
IanS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nottingham England
Posts: 209
Serial is not a problem. The Intersvr and Interlnk programs are great but they only recognise FAT16 partitions and cannot access CD RW, DVD or ZIP drives. However, good old Laplink V.3, a tiny Dos program does the job well enough. A little gem of a prog!

Now, as for TCP/IP over serial... that's also on my list of "to dos". Along with VNC on my Epoc and Palm devices.

Boy am I a sad git. Somebody rescue me and get me a life!!!!!


Thanks guys. Oh, and Akira... you're right "Nothing BEats the Real Thing!"

IanS is offline  
Old 04 July 2003, 18:08   #7
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,946
Yeah yeah, pick on my typo :P

A Serial SLIP connection would be easy if you set up a linux/Xish box somewhere. I've done it with my miggy with success, should work OK for an old PC Box too.
Akira is offline  
Old 14 July 2003, 18:57   #8
IanS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nottingham England
Posts: 209
Thanks Akira, I'm going to try 'Slip' as soon as I've got Samba up and running on my Miggy/PC. Finally... Miggy will have access to BIG hard drives, CD Burner, DVD! (but only over a 10mb/s LAN... DOH!)

tYpO! wHaT TYpO>?
IanS is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't 'warm' to emulating Amiga! fatboy Retrogaming General Discussion 19 17 May 2013 19:42
Is there a way of emulating Amiga OS4.0/1 on a PC yet spannernick New to Emulation or Amiga scene 9 21 June 2012 12:39
Emulating OS4... th4t1guy Amiga scene 6 16 June 2004 19:04
Emulating a Hard Disk? Ricky55 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 7 23 June 2002 19:55
Emulating WinUAE on a Mac Fred the Fop Amiga scene 11 02 December 2001 13:10

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.12555 seconds with 11 queries