English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 July 2003, 13:55   #1
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Best pure DOS emulators!!

Many of us here are familiar with windows based emulators but what are the best programs for good old but nearly forgotten pure DOS mode?

The reason I'm asking is my old PC is gagging for some constructive use apart from playing PC DOS games. It wants to churn out some quality titles anbd become a pure EMU gaming machine.

Its fantastic specs read as follows:

P233MMX running at 225 (75Mhz bus speed) - might try and overclock this to 260+ if EMUs are slow.
Intel 430TX
64MB RAM
2 MB ATI Rage II
ISA P&P SB 16

This machine isn't powerful enough to run some windows based emulators and even if it was, I'd rather run them on my Athlon XP.

It should be able to handle DOS emu's however, as they require much less power. So EABers, which are the best?

Here is a preliminary list:

Amiga - Fellow.
Atari ST - Pacifist.
Master System - Meka
Arcade - Dos mame with front-end.
C64 - CCS64

erm, that's about as far as I've got.

So.... How are my choices so far?

And what about the best DOS emu's (if they exist) for:

Atari 2600
Acorn machines - beeb, electron, archimedes.
Amstrad CPC's
Spectrum.
Vic 20
Megadrive
Lynx
Nes
Snes
ect..... just suggest any retro DOS emu's for old school PCs!

Thanks kidders!

Last edited by Bloodwych; 06 July 2003 at 14:00.
Bloodwych is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 02 July 2003, 14:16   #2
Bad Mr Frosty
Junior Member
Bad Mr Frosty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Praha / Ceska Republika
Age: 39
Posts: 107
These are the ones I used back in the day:

Atari 2600 - Stella and z26
Megadrive - Genecyst or KGEN
Lynx - Don`t think there are any
Nes - Nesticle and RockNES
Snes - ZSNES
Bad Mr Frosty is offline  
Old 02 July 2003, 15:22   #3
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Thanks Frosty.

Just something else I'd like to add - I'm thinking of creating a menu so when the PC boots, it loads all the required dos drivers and then presets me with a choice of emu's. This saves me having to launch them from Win 98 or type in the same command lines all the time.

Anyone know the best way I can achieve this menu? Ideally I'd like something that pops up and presents me the options to either load Win98, goto the command prompt or launch the various DOS EMU's.

Last edited by Bloodwych; 02 July 2003 at 16:24.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 02 July 2003, 16:25   #4
FromWithin
Music lord
FromWithin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Liverpool, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 595
Send a message via ICQ to FromWithin Send a message via AIM to FromWithin Send a message via MSN to FromWithin Send a message via Yahoo to FromWithin
http://www.mindspring.com/~dmerriman/Bootup.htm
FromWithin is offline  
Old 02 July 2003, 17:37   #5
Mr Creosote
Evil Mastermind
Mr Creosote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 527
Emulators for MS-DOS are almost always the same as for any other operating system. These are the ones I've used:
Atari 2600 - Stella
Spectrum - Warajevo
VC 20 - VICE
Snes - ZSNES

Quote:
Anyone know the best way I can achieve this menu? Ideally I'd like something that pops up and presents me the options to either load Win98, goto the command prompt or launch the various DOS EMU's.
http://www.goodolddays.net/faq-tech.php (see point 6).
Mr Creosote is offline  
Old 03 July 2003, 09:49   #6
manicx
Junior Member
manicx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 962
Amstrad CPC-> Caprice
manicx is offline  
Old 03 July 2003, 10:10   #7
gary
Junior Member
gary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Australia
Age: 44
Posts: 278
I had an old PC like yours and had also started installing emulators to put it into arcade machine until I found out how to make my own CD32 discs and forgot about the PC altogether

What I found was, as good as MAME is, it is not the fastest emulator for your type of machine. You should try:

SYSTEM16 (For games like Outrun / Space Harrier)
http://www.retrogames.com/system16.html

RAINE
http://www.retrogames.com/raine.html
gary is offline  
Old 03 July 2003, 12:01   #8
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Thanks everyone, you've been most helpful.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 03 July 2003, 15:28   #9
mtb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Italy
Age: 34
Posts: 442
Re: Best pure DOS emulators!!

Mess for dos? As you can see it's still mantained.

Quote:
May 22nd, 2003
The DOS port of MESS has been updated to 0.68.
You can try a lot of platforms with this ( dunno if it's fast or not ).

Also mame.

Quote:
Originally posted by Bloodwych
Many of us here are familiar with windows based emulators but what are the best programs for good old but nearly forgotten pure DOS mode?

The reason I'm asking is my old PC is gagging for some constructive use apart from playing PC DOS games. It wants to churn out some quality titles anbd become a pure EMU gaming machine.

Its fantastic specs read as follows:

P233MMX running at 225 (75Mhz bus speed) - might try and overclock this to 260+ if EMUs are slow.
Intel 430TX
64MB RAM
1 MB Trio 64V+
ISA P&P SB 16

This machine isn't powerful enough to run some windows based emulators and even if it was, I'd rather run them on my Athlon XP.

It should be able to handle DOS emu's however, as they require much less power. So EABers, which are the best?

Here is a preliminary list:

Amiga - Fellow.
Atari ST - Pacifist.
Master System - Meka
Arcade - Dos mame with front-end.
C64 - CCS64

erm, that's about as far as I've got.

So.... How are my choices so far?

And what about the best DOS emu's (if they exist) for:

Atari 2600
Acorn machines - beeb, electron, archimedes.
Amstrad CPC's
Spectrum.
Vic 20
Megadrive
Lynx
Nes
Snes
ect..... just suggest any retro DOS emu's for old school PCs!

Thanks kidders!
mtb is offline  
Old 03 July 2003, 19:38   #10
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
Doesnt dos 6.22 allow you to make a boot menu? this way you can boot up and pick what configuration you need for each emulator.
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 04 July 2003, 00:05   #11
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Quote:
Originally posted by Unknown_K
Doesnt dos 6.22 allow you to make a boot menu? this way you can boot up and pick what configuration you need for each emulator.
It might well do. My first experience of running a PC was with Windows 95 so I'm no expert on stand alone DOS operating systems. Just picked up on the basics so I could get games running from various configurations.

Before this I was happily using an Amiga for everything.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 04 July 2003, 02:41   #12
FromWithin
Music lord
FromWithin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Liverpool, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 595
Send a message via ICQ to FromWithin Send a message via AIM to FromWithin Send a message via MSN to FromWithin Send a message via Yahoo to FromWithin
The link I posted above tells you how to create DOS boot menus.
FromWithin is offline  
Old 04 July 2003, 05:48   #13
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
My first PC came with dos 3.2, that was a long time ago.
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 04 July 2003, 06:13   #14
Chuckles
The Ancient One
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas City/USA
Age: 62
Posts: 685
Quote:
Originally posted by Unknown_K
My first PC came with dos 3.2, that was a long time ago.
<GEEZERMODE>
Good old DOS 3.2, eh? Yessir, that was a real man's OS, that was! None of these fancy sissy-boy GUI's and mice, no sir! Just gimme a blank screen and a cursor - that's all I need! Yep, kids today don't know how good they have it. Why they oughtta have to do all their programming with punch cards and paper tapes, like when I was a kid. It'd make a real man out of 'em, you betcha!
</GEEZERMODE>

Chuckles is offline  
Old 04 July 2003, 09:06   #15
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,287
Forget about any MAME newer than 0.33 or something like that. It will run like shit. 0.31 runs swell on my ex PC, a Pentium 133, but the newer ones ran like poop.

Here's the list of emus I used on my P133 (I want to put that one in an arcade cabinet!):

*MAME 0.29 (It's got Atari Tetris, what fucking else do I need?!?! )

*Fellow 0.32 ... 0.33 and the FellowPR ones ran like poop, 0.32 was smoooooth

* Magic-Engine 0.92 (or something like that. The last DOS version. r0x0rz)

* ZSNES. Forgot which version, but it runs like a mad beast

* Genecyst/KGen. Genecyst was faster but KGen was not that bad eitehr and some games ran better with it.

* x128. Best Speccy emu

* Caprice32. for CPC, nothing beats this.

* CCS64 - BEST C64 em00 out there, the win32 version is pants, I always use the DOS one.

* fmsx-dos. This MSX emu is awesome.

* Other arcade emus: Raine, RAGE, NeoRage (NeorageX for Windows runs pretty well too!), System16, System8, SystemC2


If I used others, I forgot! Haven't lameulated in years Good luck!
Akira is offline  
Old 04 July 2003, 11:38   #16
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Quote:
Originally posted by FromWithin
The link I posted above tells you how to create DOS boot menus.
Yep thanks - I've read all the links and absorbed the fine advice so I'll set about getting this PC hooked up over the weekend.

Akira, since you've got a fair few EMU's to run on that P133, I should have no probs with this P233MMX. Many emu's were optimised for MMX later in their development so perhaps that's why some versions run like crap on that P133.

I've never emulated the MSX but going by that thread that was like 9 million posts long perhaps now is the time to start.

It's strange, but using DOS EMU's straight after the PC powers up somehow feels better than running EMU's from windows - closer to the real thing. Sounds stupid I know, it's probably just the novelty factor of setting up this DOS EMU system that's getting to me.

Who's tried out this MESS mtb mentioned then? Never heard of it?

Last edited by Bloodwych; 04 July 2003 at 12:17.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 04 July 2003, 12:00   #17
mtb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Italy
Age: 34
Posts: 442
Quote:
Originally posted by Bloodwych
Who's tried out this MESS mtb mentioned then? Never heard of it?
Mess stands for something like Multiple emulator super system .

With this you can play a lot of systems ( ex.nes, master system, atari 7800, 5200, genesis, spectrum, ... the list is long. ). Unfortunatly generally is not as perfect as a standalone emu, but it's a lot better than nothing.

I use it sometimes ( linux version ). Note that could be a bit difficult to get it working.
mtb is offline  
Old 04 July 2003, 17:58   #18
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,287
and also slow. MESS is helluva slow.
MY main problem on the P133 was only MAME newer versions, because MAME is a hog. I even got the Pentium optimized versions, but that didn't make much difference. Believe me, you will want to stick to an old one. For MAX speed I always kept a copy of MAME 0.28, that one runs like the fucking Flash But the romsets are different for newer ones,sincethey did that merged romsets shite :/

There ARE Windows emus that will run fine in that computer. NeoRageX runs swell, JNES was cool and SMYGB was my fave GB emu. For X68000 emulation, EX68 was quite decent on my Penty.

Just be sure to load the bugger with loadsa memory for big roms, then you can play the huge NeoGeo CPS2 shite without problems. The hacked FinalBurn was swell for CPS2 stuff.
Akira is offline  
Old 06 July 2003, 00:23   #19
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
I'm running about collecting all these EMU's now.

What's the best DOS mame frontend?
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 06 July 2003, 12:40   #20
Lockrobster
Junior Member
Lockrobster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Old Europe
Posts: 22
FeMame is a cool frontend. Also try out Retrocade if Mame is too slow, it's an older project with only ~100 romsets or so but done in handmade assembler, reportedly fast enough for 486s. For the fastest Fellow, your'e looking for the last TFP release 36r1. (Or has there ever been an update after that release?) Just right for Emerald Mine, Giana Sisters etc. on a P200.
Lockrobster is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PCMCIA fault: DOS error code 225 - Not a valid DOS disk 4am support.Hardware 2 07 April 2012 11:20
Love Emulators? - Dgen & Hatari emulators Paul News 17 19 January 2012 19:28
pure bit not set? amigalizard support.Apps 4 04 September 2005 06:47
Grab It !!!!! It Is Pure History plasmatron Amiga scene 3 15 March 2004 23:08
For those of you that must run old MS-DOS games, DOS Box has been ported Pyromania Amiga scene 19 06 June 2003 12:44

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.38212 seconds with 11 queries