English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 June 2003, 15:17   #1
Korodny
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 658
New OS4 screenshots

http://amigaworld.net/modules/featur..._id=26&sort_by

Note that some of the applications that you can see in these pictures (Wordworth, DOpus4, MakeCD) use custom made GUIs or third party GUI kits - OS4 can't patch every third party GUI system out there. That's why some of MakeCD's gagdets look pretty ugly compared to the rest of the system.
Korodny is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 29 June 2003, 18:26   #2
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 49
Posts: 2,802
I don't think they're ugly. What's ugly about OS 4 is that same, depressing gray background. I hope people will be able to change that. A new OS these days needsbrighter, less dark appearance. Just my taste.
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 29 June 2003, 19:56   #3
cv643d
Registered User
cv643d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 726
Personally I think the Morphos screenshots look prettier.
cv643d is offline  
Old 29 June 2003, 20:07   #4
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,355
I dunno there Fred, I personally like that background color, I can read everything quite easily, and for me that's the key
jmmijo is offline  
Old 30 June 2003, 00:20   #5
scaf
Registered User
scaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: france
Age: 42
Posts: 116
Send a message via MSN to scaf
If OS 4 looks (nearly) like OS 3.5 or 3.9, it's a chance an OS isn't limited to the GUI....
scaf is offline  
Old 01 July 2003, 01:22   #6
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 49
Posts: 2,802
Quote:
Originally posted by jmmijo
I dunno there Fred, I personally like that background color, I can read everything quite easily, and for me that's the key
But why that ugly shade straight outta 1986?
No one says you can't have your cake and eat it too.")
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 01 July 2003, 01:59   #7
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 49
Posts: 2,802
Oh yeah the icons look real purty
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 01 July 2003, 04:20   #8
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,355
Quote:
Originally posted by Frederic
But why that ugly shade straight outta 1986?
No one says you can't have your cake and eat it too.")
Ah, well I'm fat enough as it is, I don't really need my cake nor eat it too
jmmijo is offline  
Old 02 July 2003, 15:57   #9
Syko
Now got GSX750F :))
Syko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Halifax UK
Age: 53
Posts: 584
Since when did the Amiga have any fixed colours? Or fixed just about anything for that matter... don't like it, then patch it! Unlike scummy M$ who can't even patch their own software right...

Personaly I think it looks kinda like BeOS - which is no bad thing - mixed with OS3.9, to produce something that looks wonderful.

A new Amiga OS, for a new generation of hardware!

When you've got it finished, how about a native coldfire version, to go with the coldfire accelerators....
Syko is offline  
Old 02 July 2003, 23:55   #10
Korodny
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 658
@Fred:

Quote:
Oh yeah the icons look real purty
The icons will stay that way, at least fo OS4.0. A major overhaul of the icon system is already part of the (uber-secret) OS4.1 feature list.

@Syko:

Quote:
When you've got it finished, how about a native coldfire version, to go with the coldfire accelerators....
No chance. Hyperion will certainly not support 68k- (or Coldfire-) Amigas. It simply doesn't fit into their business plan. AFAIK, Bernd Mayer had licensed some OS4 modules for use in "Umilator" (the Amithlon-successor) from Hyperion - so your only chance would be that a third party steps up and tries to license a few OS4-modules (the new intuition-library and the new Reaction classes for example) with their existing product. The only party that could do that would be (IMHO) Cloanto (AmigaForever). A seperate distribution is out of question.
Korodny is offline  
Old 03 July 2003, 03:01   #11
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,274
WTF is Coldfire?
Akira is offline  
Old 03 July 2003, 04:25   #12
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
Coldfire, isnt that the motorola processor series used in embedded computer aplications?
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 03 July 2003, 18:34   #13
Syko
Now got GSX750F :))
Syko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Halifax UK
Age: 53
Posts: 584
The ColdFusion Amiga Accelerator is here:

http://www.cdtv.org.uk/coldfire/

Latest news:
Quote:
prototype has Firewire (400mbps), USB (1.1), AC97 sound, SDRam, 150Mhz Coldfire and works in the Amiga 4000 (Actually any Amiga with a fast slot and no other CPU)
With a V5 ColdFire chip you should be able to get the equivalent of a 68040 1GHz..... and it will fit the A4000 CPU slot, with the A1200 version to follow. ColdFire V4 @220Mhz = 316Mips, or more than 10 times faster than my A4000D.... and Olie reckons it'll be cheaper than a PPC card...

Last edited by Syko; 03 July 2003 at 18:48.
Syko is offline  
Old 03 July 2003, 19:26   #14
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
Quote:
Originally posted by Syko
The ColdFusion Amiga Accelerator is here:

http://www.cdtv.org.uk/coldfire/

Latest news:


With a V5 ColdFire chip you should be able to get the equivalent of a 68040 1GHz..... and it will fit the A4000 CPU slot, with the A1200 version to follow. ColdFire V4 @220Mhz = 316Mips, or more than 10 times faster than my A4000D.... and Olie reckons it'll be cheaper than a PPC card...
Does the chip run 68k code? Basically the board they are offering sounds like a whole computer.
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 04 July 2003, 16:58   #15
Syko
Now got GSX750F :))
Syko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Halifax UK
Age: 53
Posts: 584
The ColdFire chip will run SOME 680x0 code natively, but some code would cause interesting things to happen the ColdFusion accelerator has trapping routines for the unsupported code and gets the native replacement to run instead. (I think... I'm not on the development team, just want one when they're finished!)

The accelerator board is not a seperate computer, just has as much of the new stuff local to the CPU bus, as possible - so you can use 100MHz SDRAM, EIDE drives, Firewire, USB1.1 and AC97 sound chip, all at full speed, as well as any accesories plugged into other ports on the amiga. Kinda like the CyberStorm Mk II cards, that have RAM and an accessory connector, which could take fast SCSI II adapter + others (most of which never made it to market )

The prototype version shown on the main page is suitable for A3000, and A4000, desktop or tower, and plugs into the CPU slot on the Amiga motherboard.
Syko is offline  
Old 04 July 2003, 18:39   #16
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
Quote:
Originally posted by Syko
The ColdFire chip will run SOME 680x0 code natively, but some code would cause interesting things to happen the ColdFusion accelerator has trapping routines for the unsupported code and gets the native replacement to run instead. (I think... I'm not on the development team, just want one when they're finished!)

The accelerator board is not a seperate computer, just has as much of the new stuff local to the CPU bus, as possible - so you can use 100MHz SDRAM, EIDE drives, Firewire, USB1.1 and AC97 sound chip, all at full speed, as well as any accesories plugged into other ports on the amiga. Kinda like the CyberStorm Mk II cards, that have RAM and an accessory connector, which could take fast SCSI II adapter + others (most of which never made it to market )

The prototype version shown on the main page is suitable for A3000, and A4000, desktop or tower, and plugs into the CPU slot on the Amiga motherboard.
So your basically plugging it (a whole new computer) into an amiga case and still calling it an amiga?
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 07 July 2003, 14:59   #17
Syko
Now got GSX750F :))
Syko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Halifax UK
Age: 53
Posts: 584
No, it's an Amiga accelerator.

Without the Amiga it dosn't do anything. You could have it plugged in with just the SDRAM in there, and use the A4000 graphics output, A4000 sound output, A4000 serial port, all with no problems, and they'd work just exactly as they always have done with any other CPU card that has local memory.

However with this card, you can have high speed USB and Firewire connectivity as well, and AC97 audio for 16bit sound in/out, and 100MHz memory bus, and ATA66 IDE. All of these connect to the accelerator card.

As far as the A4000 or A3000 is concerned it's a bloody fast CPU card.

Personaly, I'd say giving my A4000 the equivalent of an 800MHz 68040 is a good thing... if it comes with extras that run at speeds appropriate to the CPU then I'm certainly not complaining...
Syko is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS 3.9 to look like OS4 JimC New to Emulation or Amiga scene 3 14 December 2006 16:59
OS4.0 -when- ? blade002 Amiga scene 26 19 May 2006 21:16
OS4 update - A late xmas present from the OS4 team Paul News 1 28 December 2004 21:48
Where's OS4 at??? Oscar Castillo Amiga scene 7 10 September 2004 10:58
Screenshots: This is what OS4 will look like Korodny Amiga scene 9 09 June 2003 14:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21756 seconds with 11 queries