English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 June 2003, 02:52   #1
MheAd
Registered User
MheAd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 59
MP3 audio tracks with CD32 ISO rips?

Most of the ripped CD32 ISOs even include a certain number of audio tracks from the game in MP3 format.

I've been playing some CD32 games with WinUAE for some time now, and I was allways wondering what these MP3s are for.
I mean, so far, CD-audio is not emulated in WinUAE, is it?
So are these MP3s only included by CD-rippers so people can hear how the music is supposed to sound in a certain game or are there any concrete plans to make a plug-in in the future which enables future WinUAE versions to actually play these included MP3s as usual audio-tracks (in game music)?

Or am I missing this part completely?

Sorry if this question sounds stupid, but I'm mostly into Amiga computers emulation, so all this CD32-related stuff is fairly still unknown to me.
MheAd is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 29 June 2003, 05:26   #2
gary
Junior Member
gary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Australia
Age: 44
Posts: 276
What about people with real CD32s?
gary is offline  
Old 29 June 2003, 07:50   #3
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
My guess is that the mp3's are included by people who try to make a CD ISO from a copy downloaded from the net. In order for a CD to play real CD audio (CDDA), it is generally converted to that format from .wav files, unless a full disk rip is done. So when this is the case, rather than upping very large .wav files, people rip them as mp3 or convert from existing wavs. The user creating a CD image from these sources is assumed to know to convert the mp3's back to wav/cdda before buring a CD. What you describe sounds like a disk was made by someone who didn't understand this and they simply included the mp3 files as data rather than converting them for cdda.
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 29 June 2003, 08:39   #4
haynor666
retro maniac

haynor666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tarnobrzeg/Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,462
Send a message via Skype™ to haynor666
MheAd, we talking about Flink, right ?

In fact You can't hear mp3 files in standard WinUAE (isn't supported yet) but with help of Akiko emulator You can easily run this game with CD music. MP3 however can be also used for burn whole game with music back to CD for use in real CD32.
haynor666 is offline  
Old 29 June 2003, 10:06   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,663
MP3s or WAVs won't be ever directly supported in WinUAE.

Only indirectly if there is virtual CD ROM emulator with MP3 audio track support.

It is not worth the trouble to add virtual CD ROM emulation inside WinUAE. Full CD32 CDA emulation is very complex. (Akiko can do it very easily because it doesn't even try to emulate CD32 hardware..)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 29 June 2003, 10:53   #6
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,890
You need to burn these iso+MP3 game "Images" to real CD's to hear the music in WinUAE.

Iso+WAV files can be virtually mounted using daemon tools via a cue sheet.

But while a couple of games won't work without the audio tracks, it really isn't worth all the hassle just to hear the CD music from most games.

If you must burn these games to real CD's (For use in WinUAE), I suggest you use a CDRW, even though CDRs only cost a few pence each, it's still too much money to be wasting on most of the "Identical to floppy" versions of the games that the CD32 had.

And WinUAE should never be compared to that pap that is Akiko.
Ian is offline  
Old 29 June 2003, 10:58   #7
haynor666
retro maniac

haynor666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tarnobrzeg/Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,462
Send a message via Skype™ to haynor666
Quote:
Originally posted by Ian
And WinUAE should never be compared to that pap that is Akiko.
Maybe, but You must agree with me that Akiko is using WinUAE to emulation.

I don't like Akiko just like You.
haynor666 is offline  
Old 29 June 2003, 11:11   #8
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,890
No, it doesn't emulate, more like interpreting the extra features of the CD32 AFAIK.

But, yes, it does use WinUAE as it's basis (which leads you to my third paragtraph), and not having looked at akiko since the day after it was originally released it uses an old version of WinUAE before Toni even took over.

At the end of the day, akiko is an illegal project in my eyes. Not that I know much about licensing or anything like that, but UAE is under some GNU license meaning every version of any program that uses it's code should be free (I think). So that's why I think akiko is pap, the fact that WinUAE is 1000x better at emulating a CD32 is secondary
Ian is offline  
Old 29 June 2003, 11:23   #9
haynor666
retro maniac

haynor666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tarnobrzeg/Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,462
Send a message via Skype™ to haynor666
Quote:
Not that I know much about licensing or anything like that, but UAE is under some GNU license meaning every version of any program that uses it's code should be free (I think). So that's why I think akiko is pap, the fact that WinUAE is 1000x better at emulating a CD32 is secondary
I agree
haynor666 is offline  
Old 29 June 2003, 13:07   #10
MheAd
Registered User
MheAd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 59
Haynor> No I don't just mean the game "Flink". I've seen this concept on many ripped CD32 games (Pirates GOLD!, Banshee - to name a few) and just because there were quite many of them this way, it's the main reason I'm asking all this in the first place.

Toni> What do you mean by "a CD-emulator with MP3 support"?
What CD emulator is that? I've always been using 'Daemon Tools' for ISO/BIN images. Is D-tools one of these CD-emulators?
If it isn't, would you be so kind to give me a couple of names.


And for the end, let me get this straight. If I burn game ISOs together with these MP3s (converted by burner program to CD-tracks), will I be finally able to hear the music in WinUAE or not?

Thanks!
MheAd is offline  
Old 29 June 2003, 17:58   #11
haynor666
retro maniac

haynor666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tarnobrzeg/Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,462
Send a message via Skype™ to haynor666
Quote:
Originally posted by MheAd
And for the end, let me get this straight. If I burn game ISOs together with these MP3s (converted by burner program to CD-tracks), will I be finally able to hear the music in WinUAE or not?
I think, no.
haynor666 is offline  
Old 29 June 2003, 18:03   #12
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,890
I know yes, as I already posted above.
Ian is offline  
Old 29 June 2003, 21:07   #13
haynor666
retro maniac

haynor666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tarnobrzeg/Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,462
Send a message via Skype™ to haynor666
So I must try once again with D-Tools.
haynor666 is offline  
Old 29 June 2003, 21:14   #14
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,890
erm, no, as I said...

If you have iso&WAV (Plus a valid cuesheet) then yes by all means use d-tools.

If you have iso&MP3 then you MUST burn it to real a real CD!
Ian is offline  
Old 29 June 2003, 22:30   #15
haynor666
retro maniac

haynor666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tarnobrzeg/Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,462
Send a message via Skype™ to haynor666
...or convert MP3 to WAV and add CUE file.

Last edited by haynor666; 20 July 2003 at 11:54.
haynor666 is offline  
Old 29 June 2003, 23:03   #16
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,890
Roll eyes (sarcastic)

You must eat a lot of fish!
Ian is offline  
Old 02 July 2003, 17:48   #17
yadster
Junior Member
yadster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Yorkshire UK
Age: 47
Posts: 160
shameless plug

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/yadster/cd32/cd32.htm
yadster is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CD Audio Tracks: inside or outside ISO Another World New to Emulation or Amiga scene 95 25 June 2009 03:33
how to burn CD with CD-32 .iso combined with .wav audio tracks ? Overdoc support.Other 16 25 April 2009 18:37
Best CD32 audio tracks jotd Retrogaming General Discussion 28 15 May 2008 11:33
Genetic Species (iso or audio tracks) z00mba request.Old Rare Games 6 23 June 2006 16:54
CD32 cue / bins with MP3 tracks - how do I mount them? zardoz support.Apps 5 07 January 2005 19:31

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.26834 seconds with 11 queries