English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 June 2003, 03:14   #1
Amiga A1300
 
Posts: n/a
Big grin My Amiga 1300 DVD

this is what I call Amiga 1300 DVD.
A good friend of mine custom design it









Black (Double Acrylic Silk coated) A1200 DVD

A1200 Motherboard
Blizzard Mk IV 68030 (FULL with MMU) @ 50mhz and FPU @ 50mhz (the best 030 there is)

32mb Fast Ram (EDO 60ns)

3.2GB UltraSlim Toshiba 3.2GB HDD

Slimeline DVD Rom Drive (Reads CD's and DVD's) Internally mixed with Amiga
audio.

AmiVGA ScanDoubler / VGA Adapter. Allows std Amiga Workbench Screen Modes to be displayed on a std VGA Monitor

KickStart 3.1

OS 3.5 and extras (Internet, Tools etc)

IDE Splitter with IDEfix97' software and drivers. This enables the the HDD and DVD Rom to
run on their own IDE Channels, so they are both Master with no Master / Slave slowdown.

Heavy Duty 230watt PSU (110v-250v switchable)

Black Amiga Technologies Mouse (High Resolution)

PCMCIA Fax Modem, Ready Connectable To Internet For Browsing and Email

PCMCIA Compact Flash Reader

Well...Not bad eh ?
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 June 2003, 04:49   #2
rattus
Registered User
rattus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 328
Eek woah...

:eek

who exactly do I need to sleep with to get me one of those??

:eek
rattus is offline  
Old 22 June 2003, 04:58   #3
Amiga A1300
 
Posts: n/a
.

It costs me an arm and a leg to finance this purchase, but it will be well worth the cash, perhaps could carry higher value in few years lol who knows
 
Old 22 June 2003, 06:16   #4
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
Re: woah...

Quote:
Originally posted by rattus
who exactly do I need to sleep with to get me one of those??
LOL!!!

That is an impressive kit, daddy-o!
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 22 June 2003, 08:01   #5
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
Pretty impressive, but I have two questions:

1) How bad does it heat up? Its got a slim HD and a DVD ROM drive on top, fer foks sake! My 1200 with the slim HD alone heats up enough to my taste.

2)Why, WHY did you paint it black? Would have looked much better in its original Commodore Vanilla color.

Besides that, as I said, pretty impressive. You should have put an 060 in there tho! (runs cooler )
Akira is offline  
Old 22 June 2003, 09:36   #6
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 49
Posts: 2,802
Hey that is pretty cool setup there mac..and nice touch with the black.
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 22 June 2003, 12:06   #7
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
:eek
Paul is offline  
Old 22 June 2003, 12:59   #8
Antiriad
The Sacred Armour Of
Antiriad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sussex, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,141
Nice! This reminds me of the CD1200 thread i did a few weeks back...i always said it would have been great to have had a CD drive at the side of the A1200..would have rawked...

Seeing the reality of that it most impressive! Still, forced to agree with Akira, would love to see it in white so i could fantasise what it might have looked like if the big C= had pulled their finger out back then and created a more technologically advanced successor to the A500
Antiriad is offline  
Old 22 June 2003, 17:24   #9
AEV
Registered User
AEV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 53
Thumbs up

The way the A1200 should have been (apart from the DVD-ROM, as obviously they weren't around then).
AEV is offline  
Old 22 June 2003, 18:29   #10
Syko
Now got GSX750F :))
Syko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Halifax UK
Age: 53
Posts: 584
The Commodore DVDTV is born. We are not worthy!
(but I do agree about the 060...)
Syko is offline  
Old 22 June 2003, 21:36   #11
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
If you load up this babe with a PPC board and a CybervisionPPC, would it be able to read DVD video?

I know, the case would MELT before it reads 5 minutes of a DvD, but i'm just curious
Akira is offline  
Old 23 June 2003, 06:23   #12
Amiga A1300
 
Posts: n/a
well

well to answer some of the questions..

it does not over heat because the HDD is a Toshiba low profile,
low heat model, plus is not actually below the DVD Rom:-

As if viewed from the top with the cover off
__________________________
| | __________________
| | | |
| | | | ->to floppy
| | | |
DVD HDD


As heat rises all (if any) heat goes straight out the top slots

As to coating it in black ?? well
1) it looks down right sexy
2) it matches the front of the DVD Rom
3) it matches the Mouse, PSU Power Lead and PCMCIA Modem etc
4) it will never yellow or look out of place in the lounge

Oh and it can read DVD Video's, it just can't play them : D
 
Old 23 June 2003, 06:25   #13
Amiga A1300
 
Posts: n/a
Whoops can't seem to get the board to display the diagram correctly

Well the dvd sits to the left of the HDD then to the right is the Floppy drive
 
Old 23 June 2003, 09:49   #14
manicx
Junior Member
manicx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 962
Pretty impressive but I have to say that the black colour is a bit crap.
manicx is offline  
Old 23 June 2003, 10:00   #15
Adeptus
epun umop ap!sdn
Adeptus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 285
Nice...
But where's the PCMCIA slot? Isn't it normally where the DVDROM is?
Adeptus is offline  
Old 23 June 2003, 10:25   #16
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 49
Posts: 2,802
Are the Amiga programs that can read DVD format on Aminet?
What's the best one?
I ask because, maybe Toni Wilen can answer. Hmmmmm...going o another thread on WinUAE section.
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 23 June 2003, 10:56   #17
manicx
Junior Member
manicx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 962
Quote:
Originally posted by Adeptus
Nice...
But where's the PCMCIA slot? Isn't it normally where the DVDROM is?
You can actually see the PCMCIA port if you look just a wee click on the right of the DVD-ROM...
manicx is offline  
Old 23 June 2003, 12:42   #18
Amiga A1300
 
Posts: n/a
here



There's the PCMCIA just next to the DVD

I didn't have a 060 at that time.

well this will suffice for me anyway, don't think I can spend more if this so called A1300 DVD is to have a 060
 
Old 23 June 2003, 14:01   #19
Syko
Now got GSX750F :))
Syko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Halifax UK
Age: 53
Posts: 584
Don't listen to all the uncool out there, black is best (till they find a darker colour...)

And there is a DVD player for the miggy, it comes with OS3.9 and it's called Action (but you do need to get the DVD codec ) I know coz I've tried it in UAE - does need a 1.6GHz 020 though..... and it's still not perfect, and wont do DivX (or at least, not the ones I've got...) sigh.
Syko is offline  
Old 23 June 2003, 14:07   #20
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
My latest catchphrase at work is "Black is beautiful." A handful of my closest mates knows I am referring to a freshly brewed pot of coffee, but I sure get some funny looks.

And I like the black A1300 too...the same sleek look that the CDTV had.
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cu amiga compilation dvd JACK98 News 115 28 September 2009 14:51
Another Amiga Demo DVD Dizzy Amiga scene 41 20 January 2007 14:10
IS there a cd/dvd burning prog for the amiga? keropi support.Apps 26 01 August 2006 12:34
Amiga Demo DVD's MortimerTwang request.Demos 2 24 April 2005 21:11
New Amiga DVD info !!!!! synchro Amiga scene 10 22 June 2004 11:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.35738 seconds with 11 queries