English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 June 2003, 21:00   #1
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Big grin Warp3D in WinUAE !!!

--> http://www.student.informatik.tu-darmstadt.de/~konrad/

Now the only thing we still need is PPC Support in WinUAE or maybe a PPC-Wrapper
RetroMan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 June 2003, 15:52   #2
Syko
Now got GSX750F :))
Syko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Halifax UK
Age: 53
Posts: 584
I've mentioned this in several posts in the WinUAE Probs section, but Toni's never replied or commented Also you might want to take a look at this http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?s=&threadid=10057 as it could be even better...
Syko is offline  
Old 24 June 2003, 16:06   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,949
PPC and UAE? Don't look at me..

I have never owned PPC Amiga, probably never will and I don't know anything about PPC programming or hardware.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 24 June 2003, 16:20   #4
Syko
Now got GSX750F :))
Syko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Halifax UK
Age: 53
Posts: 584
Anyone think they can help?

Or know anyone who might be able too?

Or ever heard of anyone who might?

(sound of PPC wanting cheapskates getting desperate....)
Syko is offline  
Old 24 June 2003, 16:48   #5
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 41
Posts: 5,185
it would be cool to see run that ppc only demos in winuae
Marcuz is offline  
Old 24 June 2003, 20:48   #6
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Well, how about a kind of PPC Wrapper I mentioned above Just a little DLL which catches all PPC Instructions and changing them into X86 Code ......

Think it´s not so easy but who knows
RetroMan is offline  
Old 24 June 2003, 23:01   #7
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
It's not perchance that NO PPC emulator has been created as of yet.
Akira is offline  
Old 25 June 2003, 15:34   #8
Korodny
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 658
Akira's right. Writing a JIT-PPC emulator is a *major* task - the PPC is quite hard to emulate (especially on a x86 CPU). It has 32 registers (while the x86 has only 5 of them IIRC) and some features that cause quite some overhead when you're trying to emulate them. Additionally, you would also have to emulate the MMU (Memory Management Unit), as every PPC-OS I can think of needs an MMU.

There are PPC emulators out there (I think the GNU Debugging suite includes one), but these are far from being useable (let alone "fast").

IMHO, this will only happen if a company is willing to put a lot of money behind such a project and distribute it commercially. However, I don't see a market for such a solution, that's why it won't happen anytime soon.
Korodny is offline  
Old 25 June 2003, 17:36   #9
IFW
Moderator
IFW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ...
Age: 46
Posts: 1,838
An X86 has tons of registers... you just don't see them. Really.
1, a modern (p3+) x86 cpu hardware is using register renaming/aliasing to show the usual set of registers towards applications, but internally as long as it has a new register and an older one is being used, it dynamycally "renames" an internal register to another "visible" register if a new instruction is not using the results of the previous operation. All internal registers have busy statuses that the execution and feeding units use to decide which one and how to use.
As you can guess this is very complex, as the cpu must remember which renamed register holds the result of the execution of what instruction...!
2, To make this work x86 has out of order execution (instructions executed in almost an arbitrary order) for a very long time. Also branch prediction discarding results if an unpredicted branch is taken (based on runtime statistics by the cpu) etc.
3, Aside from this stuff, you want use the mmx, and other enhanced integer registers to simulate more registers, if you really need that. SSE2 is highly recommended as you get 128 bit integers freely accessible by the whole or in part (very useful for this purpose), but only from p4.
4, Actually a newer x86 is more risk like, than cisc...

If anyone is willing to pay for the work (this is very far from hobby programming) I am willing to make that ppc emulator. Please note it only really makes sense with p4 class cpus (sse2). Less is possible, but may be unusable for real time applications.

Last edited by IFW; 25 June 2003 at 17:53.
IFW is offline  
Old 26 June 2003, 00:22   #10
cv643d
Registered User
cv643d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 726
Is it to be able to play PPC games in WinUAE we need PPC emulation?

. . .
Man im just glad WinUAE is as usable as it is today. Remember back in the day at McDonalds when my friend told me he had an Amiga emu on his Linux 486. That was great news. DPaint was so incredibly slow on that 486.. haha damn.. we dreamt about getting Pentiums then so we could speed it up.
cv643d is offline  
Old 26 June 2003, 00:47   #11
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,898
Why not just play the PC versions instead of the crapper PPC Amiga versions?

Just a thought

PPC emulation is a complete waste of time for a Miggy, nothing was ever written for PPC Miggys that was better than the PC version. In fact in most cases, the PPC version was 100x shitter.

PPC emulation would only decrease the coolness factor of WinUAE IMO and shouldn't be added even if it was possible.

And I speak from experience, I recently swapped my PPC miggy for a normal a500 and a normal a1200.

The opinions in this post are not, and should not be taken as law, it's just my opinion. If you don't like what I said ..... tell someone who cares
Ian is offline  
Old 26 June 2003, 01:11   #12
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 49
Posts: 2,802
PPC emulation may not happen for a long, long time. The maximum Amiga and Macintosh emulators can do is the 68040's.
That's because the PPC chips have so many registers and getting that to work let alone get it exact is extremely difficult task!
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 26 June 2003, 04:42   #13
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
I for one don't care about PPC Amiga emulation. I will have to agree with Ian, even though the PC games are shite, these Amiga versions I've seen are poorer renditions of something that already is crap IMO.
Except Wipeout 2097 maybe. Which I can run perfectly in my iBook
Akira is offline  
Old 26 June 2003, 18:12   #14
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
There's more to PPC Amiga than games, right?
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 26 June 2003, 20:12   #15
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
Errmmm.. not much I think
Akira is offline  
Old 29 June 2003, 19:42   #16
cv643d
Registered User
cv643d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 726
Yes there are PPC datatypes. So pr0n viewing is faster.
cv643d is offline  
Old 21 July 2003, 17:23   #17
mtb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Italy
Age: 34
Posts: 442
Quote:
Originally posted by Frederic
PPC emulation may not happen for a long, long time. The maximum Amiga and Macintosh emulators can do is the 68040's.
That's because the PPC chips have so many registers and getting that to work let alone get it exact is extremely difficult task!
Just for your info, basilik uses the same 68k code of uae ( with also jit ).
mtb is offline  
Old 21 July 2003, 22:18   #18
th4t1guy
Registered User
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 543
Don't forget divx!

(Btw, what's the speed of divx on a PPC Amiga?)
th4t1guy is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
warp3d patch? roy bates request.Other 8 02 January 2012 14:35
Warp3d woes Wasagi support.Hardware 13 02 December 2010 20:55
My Medconfig/warp3d report,help please Gav-amigaman support.Hardware 1 15 October 2007 01:35
Payback demo with WinUAE and Warp3D? StevenJGore support.WinUAE 13 11 June 2004 20:50
Warp3D and Amithlon Ivan Castle New to Emulation or Amiga scene 2 29 December 2002 19:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.37337 seconds with 11 queries