English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 March 2020, 15:24   #21
Old_Bob
BiO-sanitation Battalion

Old_Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Scotland
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
Ooh, don't keep us in suspense - what was the issue? Good stuff sorting it anyway. As an aside, you should bring it along to show off at the next Scottish Amiga users meetup, which should be happening in Glasgow in April or May...
Schoolboy error on my part. I wasn't checking if the blitter was free before writing to its registers for the next drawing step. It worked fine with a 7mhz 68000 and also with my emulated 28mhz A1200 config, but the 030 was getting there just a bit too quickly. Can somebody else test on 040 & 060? It would be nice to for sure that it works on these chips too.

The meetup thingy sounds like it might be interesting. I'll pencil it in, for the moment.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcgeezer View Post
Same here, love a bit of Tapper too - very close to my heart.
Me too. It's one of my favourite games in MAME. Slightly annoying that we didn't get a 16 bit port back in the days of yore, especially considering the lacklustre standard of the various 8 bit conversions. I was stuck with the mediocre Speccy version, which is only marginally better than no Tapper, at all.

Thanks to you all for your comments. Right, it's nose-to-the-grindstone time. I predict a late night, tonight.

B
Old_Bob is offline  
Old 11 March 2020, 15:29   #22
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 47
Posts: 2,804
Great i like this classic arcade game.
PS: je pourrais faire un whdload's patch for final version ??
CFOU! is online now  
Old 11 March 2020, 15:34   #23
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,660
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old_Bob View Post
Schoolboy error on my part. I wasn't checking if the blitter was free before writing to its registers for the next drawing step. It worked fine with a 7mhz 68000 and also with my emulated 28mhz A1200 config, but the 030 was getting there just a bit too quickly.
Ah, good that it was an easy fix!
Quote:
Can somebody else test on 040 & 060? It would be nice to for sure that it works on these chips too.
Both of my 060 machines are out of action at the moment but I want to try and get at least one up and running this weekend, and I can test it if I do.

Quote:
The meetup thingy sounds like it might be interesting. I'll pencil it in, for the moment.
Cool, there'll be a post about it on here somewhere once the date's nailed down.

Quote:
Slightly annoying that we didn't get a 16 bit port back in the days of yore, especially considering the lacklustre standard of the various 8 bit conversions. I was stuck with the mediocre Speccy version, which is only marginally better than no Tapper, at all.
I remember the Atari 8-bit version being pretty good... But looking at the screenshots now, it's pretty rough looking compared to the arcade version (though still a bit better than the Speccy version ).
Daedalus is offline  
Old 11 March 2020, 16:15   #24
saimon69
J.M.D - Bedroom Musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 1,358
If i wanted to be REALLY picky i would have said to use the interlaced mode and black cutout to give characters that cartoony effect, but it might affect performance am afraid, this looks already good
saimon69 is offline  
Old 11 March 2020, 16:35   #25
adrdesign
Registered User

adrdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Spain
Age: 41
Posts: 302
Great! Love these arcade ports
adrdesign is offline  
Old 12 March 2020, 06:57   #26
theq
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Beyond the Wall
Age: 43
Posts: 82
Couldn’t find it in The Zone
Will test it on my ‘060
theq is offline  
Old 12 March 2020, 09:34   #27
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 17,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by theq View Post
Couldn’t find it in The Zone
It's definitely there i.e:
Tapper_Test_01b.adf

Tapper for OCS - Hopefully fixes graphics corruption bug present in the earlier version.
DamienD is online now  
Old 12 March 2020, 12:51   #28
drHirudo
Amiga user
drHirudo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sofia / Bulgaria
Posts: 231
This is awesome. I am a big fan of Tapper. I've played the Arcade, IBM PC, Apple II and ZX Spectrum versions. The Amiga version is very close to the original, graphically wise.

There are some bugs, for example beers travelling from one stage to another and possibility to send customers forth with beers, but as an early preview it plays fine.

I've created a video with music and sound effects from the arcade for better feel of the game atmosphere:

[ Show youtube player ]

Some of the bugs are seen in the video.

For comparison here are the other versions that I've played so far (in order of my rate, ZX Spectrum being the worse):

Arcade:
[ Show youtube player ]

Apple II:
[ Show youtube player ]

IBM-PC:
[ Show youtube player ]

Sinclair ZX Spectrum:
[ Show youtube player ]
drHirudo is offline  
Old 12 March 2020, 13:32   #29
str0m
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 52
They have this at the Arcade Club in Leeds (UK) as a cocktail cabinet
str0m is offline  
Old 12 March 2020, 14:02   #30
Old_Bob
BiO-sanitation Battalion

Old_Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Scotland
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by saimon69 View Post
If i wanted to be REALLY picky i would have said to use the interlaced mode and black cutout to give characters that cartoony effect, but it might affect performance am afraid, this looks already good
Yes, I think it's asking a bit much for a 7mhz 68000 and OCS to maintain 50fps running the engine in 640x512.

Quote:
Originally Posted by drHirudo View Post
There are some bugs, for example beers travelling from one stage to another and possibility to send customers forth with beers, but as an early preview it plays fine.
I'm aware of this one and It's been annoying me for a while. I'm going to rewrite that part today and hopefully fix it for good.

B
Old_Bob is offline  
Old 12 March 2020, 16:17   #31
saimon69
J.M.D - Bedroom Musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 1,358
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old_Bob View Post
Yes, I think it's asking a bit much for a 7mhz 68000 and OCS to maintain 50fps running the engine in 640x512.
Actually interlaced is 320x512 (480 for NTSC) doubling the horizontal lines only (with rectangular pixels)
saimon69 is offline  
Old 12 March 2020, 16:56   #32
Old_Bob
BiO-sanitation Battalion

Old_Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Scotland
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by saimon69 View Post
Actually interlaced is 320x512 (480 for NTSC) doubling the horizontal lines only (with rectangular pixels)
Ah, I see. 640x512 would be a better match. The screen could be sized to match the 512x480 of the coin-op and it would save me a pile of work in DPaint redrawing all the sprites. Although, either mode has absolutely no chance of being fast enough.

Maybe on AGA, with a beefy CPU and Fast RAM it might be a workable option. Possibly not at 50fps, though.

B
Old_Bob is offline  
Old 12 March 2020, 19:32   #33
el_pasi
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 233
Hi, just tested Tapper with 040. To be more precise I have Amiga 1200 + Blizzard PPC 603e+/68040 + BVision, which is not very compatible setup Didn't see any glitches, so seems to work with 040 too.
el_pasi is offline  
Old 12 March 2020, 21:57   #34
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 17,222
Just gave this a whirl, very cool indeed Old_Bob

I guess music / SFX are the next steps?
DamienD is online now  
Old 12 March 2020, 23:26   #35
Old_Bob
BiO-sanitation Battalion

Old_Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Scotland
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by el_pasi View Post
Hi, just tested Tapper with 040. To be more precise I have Amiga 1200 + Blizzard PPC 603e+/68040 + BVision, which is not very compatible setup Didn't see any glitches, so seems to work with 040 too.
This is good news. Thanks, dude.

It should, hopefully, work without any issues on 060 as well. With that, I can consider the engine complete and get stuck in to building the rest of the game.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Just gave this a whirl, very cool indeed Old_Bob

I guess music / SFX are the next steps?
I'll be leaving the sound to last, I think. When I know just how much Chip RAM is remaining. I've still got the other game levels and bonus round to add, plus a little bit of game logic to write. On top of that, a mountain of DPaint work redrawing all the graphics. I managed a decent day's worth of work today. I should have another version ready for testing in a day or two.

B
Old_Bob is offline  
Old 12 March 2020, 23:37   #36
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 17,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old_Bob View Post
I'll be leaving the sound to last, I think. When I know just how much Chip RAM is remaining. I've still got the other game levels and bonus round to add, plus a little bit of game logic to write. On top of that, a mountain of DPaint work redrawing all the graphics. I managed a decent day's worth of work today. I should have another version ready for testing in a day or two.

B
Again, very cool as it is currently and really looking forward to further improvements when you have the time (no rush though)

...once totally finished, I'll add to this thread: Ports / Conversions --> Amiga
DamienD is online now  
Old 13 March 2020, 14:33   #37
theq
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Beyond the Wall
Age: 43
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
It's definitely there i.e:
Tapper_Test_01b.adf

Tapper for OCS - Hopefully fixes graphics corruption bug present in the earlier version.
Meh, I was looking on the FTP...

It works great on my A4000 with A3660@50 MHz (except there is no sound?)
theq is offline  
Old 13 March 2020, 16:02   #38
Old_Bob
BiO-sanitation Battalion

Old_Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Scotland
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by theq View Post
Meh, I was looking on the FTP...

It works great on my A4000 with A3660@50 MHz (except there is no sound?)
Excellent, dude. Thanks.

I guess that's all the CPU bases covered. Talk about using a sledgehammer to crack a nut, though. I think the whole frame loop should possibly fit inside your CPU's instruction cache. It might be able to run the game a hundred times over if only the blitter could keep up.

B
Old_Bob is offline  
Old 21 May 2020, 23:12   #39
Old_Bob
BiO-sanitation Battalion

Old_Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Scotland
Posts: 75
After a bit of a delay, I've finally got a new version ready for testing.

Quite a big update, this. All the rounds are now in but there's still no sound, as yet. Still got a fair bit of work in Dpaint to do as well as a few bits of game code to write but I think it's coming along quite nicely.

The ADF is in The Zone.

B
Old_Bob is offline  
Old 22 May 2020, 00:50   #40
nikosidis
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: oslo/norway
Posts: 155
Hi Old_Bob
That is impressive!! Looking fantastic and plays very well on my A1200.
Do you have anyone to do the music, sfx? If not I could always look into it.
nikosidis is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The most impressive 3D graphics on unexpanded OCS Amiga? rodland Amiga scene 71 26 September 2017 12:51
Best looking copper backgrounds on Amiga OCS Trachu Coders. General 7 28 March 2017 10:27
A new Learning Demo for Amiga OCS and beyond. Toni Galvez Amiga scene 46 01 March 2015 15:20
Amiga 500. OCS or ECS? trydowave support.Hardware 10 25 May 2013 21:58
Best Flight Sim on Amiga OCS? Photon Nostalgia & memories 70 16 February 2010 21:08

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08941 seconds with 13 queries