English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 July 2016, 20:16   #1221
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,281
phx told me this:

During the game, whenever you want to play a new mod: call mt_init to prepare the mod for playing at a specific song position. You will pass a pointer to the mod and an optional pointer to the mod's samples (for the usual mods it will be NULL, because samples are directly attached to the patterns in the file).

How can get the pointer to specify sampler?
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 29 July 2016, 06:49   #1222
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,281
Updated Version with cut rygars' music.
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 29 July 2016, 11:56   #1223
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,545
looks good here, no slowdown with the new monsters and music.
but the new sprites moving down after a while - each time a little bit more.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	rygar.png
Views:	235
Size:	38.9 KB
ID:	49251  
emufan is offline  
Old 29 July 2016, 13:07   #1224
hukka
Wolf-bear thing
 
hukka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Finland
Age: 41
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandruzzo View Post
phx told me this:

During the game, whenever you want to play a new mod: call mt_init to prepare the mod for playing at a specific song position. You will pass a pointer to the mod and an optional pointer to the mod's samples (for the usual mods it will be NULL, because samples are directly attached to the patterns in the file).

How can get the pointer to specify sampler?
To play the various subsongs from the module at http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=1102407&postcount=1173 you would simply take the first number mentioned for the subsong ($0B for end stage music, for example) and put that in d0 before calling mt_init. Set a1 to zero unless you've relocated the module's samples somewhere else in memory.

For sound effects, load them somewhere in chipmem and call:

mt_soundfx(a6=CUSTOM, a4=SmallDataBase, a0=SamplePointer, d0=SampleLength, d1=SamplePeriod, d2=SampleVolume)

a0 is of course the location of the sample to be played in memory, d0 is its length (in words, I think), d1 sets the playback speed, try 214 or 428.
hukka is offline  
Old 29 July 2016, 14:35   #1225
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
looks good here, no slowdown with the new monsters and music.
but the new sprites moving down after a while - each time a little bit more.
I'll check that out
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 30 July 2016, 02:15   #1226
saimon69
J.M.D - Bedroom Musician
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 3,519
tried adf with winuae, am having music but messed up graphics
Click image for larger version

Name:	Clipboard03_20160729.jpg
Views:	230
Size:	51.7 KB
ID:	49256
Click image for larger version

Name:	Clipboard02_20160729_1420.jpg
Views:	184
Size:	37.8 KB
ID:	49257
saimon69 is offline  
Old 30 July 2016, 10:48   #1227
phx
Natteravn
 
phx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Herford / Germany
Posts: 2,496
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandruzzo View Post
I never did some thing of this list like "Determine the AutoVectorBase from VBR and whether".
You should, if you like to support later CPUs than 68000.

Quote:
How can I get AutoVectorBase ?
Check ExecBase.AttnFlags whether you have a 68010 CPU or higher. In this case, read the VBR register in supervisor mode:
Code:
        movec   vbr,a0
This is the base address for your interrupt auto vectors. Without it you cannot set new interrupt vectors.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sandruzzo View Post
phx told me this:

During the game, whenever you want to play a new mod: call mt_init to prepare the mod for playing at a specific song position. You will pass a pointer to the mod and an optional pointer to the mod's samples (for the usual mods it will be NULL, because samples are directly attached to the patterns in the file).

How can get the pointer to specify sampler?
Do not confuse the pointer to the song's samples with your sound effects (inserted by mt_soundfx). For standard MODs you will always call mt_init with a1=NULL, because the song's samples follow directly behind the track data in memory. Their location is calculated by the player automatically.

For mt_soundfx see hukka's reply. Sample length in words is correct. Also make sure that sound effect samples start with two zero bytes (the same is true for the song's samples).
phx is offline  
Old 30 July 2016, 13:15   #1228
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by phx View Post
You should, if you like to support later CPUs than 68000.

Check ExecBase.AttnFlags whether you have a 68010 CPU or higher. In this case, read the VBR register in supervisor mode:
Code:
        movec   vbr,a0
This is the base address for your interrupt auto vectors. Without it you cannot set new interrupt vectors.


Do not confuse the pointer to the song's samples with your sound effects (inserted by mt_soundfx). For standard MODs you will always call mt_init with a1=NULL, because the song's samples follow directly behind the track data in memory. Their location is calculated by the player automatically.

For mt_soundfx see hukka's reply. Sample length in words is correct. Also make sure that sound effect samples start with two zero bytes (the same is true for the song's samples).
Thanks for alla advice. Vbr is ok, sound play very well! Thanks for you player. After that I'll add sfx
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 01 August 2016, 17:09   #1229
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,281
Now rygar can be killed. Still in progress
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 01 August 2016, 17:38   #1230
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandruzzo View Post
Now rygar can be killed. Still in progress
thanks to the unlimited lives i made it to the temple at the end of the level

you may still get killed, if you run in an exploding enemy, just reporting.
emufan is offline  
Old 01 August 2016, 17:47   #1231
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
thanks to the unlimited lives i made it to the temple at the end of the level

you may still get killed, if you run in an exploding enemy, just reporting.
Thanks For this report. I'll fix it
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 03 August 2016, 19:02   #1232
saimon69
J.M.D - Bedroom Musician
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 3,519
I sent mail to sandruzzo with an updated rygar mod (has death pattern) and converted effects in .raw; however sound FX provided were too much to add even for an empty mod (were around 50, some sound damaged, i converted 40); at this point i can suggest to identify and use only the more essential sfx to use in the game (and in some case recycle)
saimon69 is offline  
Old 04 August 2016, 00:32   #1233
hukka
Wolf-bear thing
 
hukka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Finland
Age: 41
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by saimon69 View Post
I sent mail to sandruzzo with an updated rygar mod (has death pattern) and converted effects in .raw; however sound FX provided were too much to add even for an empty mod (were around 50, some sound damaged, i converted 40); at this point i can suggest to identify and use only the more essential sfx to use in the game (and in some case recycle)
The sound effects don't need to be inside a .mod, they can be loaded in from separate file(s) and reside anywhere.
hukka is offline  
Old 04 August 2016, 17:17   #1234
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,281
Updated Rygar, some nugs gone, better enemy out
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 04 August 2016, 17:44   #1235
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandruzzo View Post
Updated Rygar, some nugs gone, better enemy out
new enemies do not shift vertical position anymore.
the blue monsters do not spawn after a short while. maybe there are 8 at the beginning, then they disappear, do not spawn anymore.
just reporting, good work
emufan is offline  
Old 04 August 2016, 19:14   #1236
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
new enemies do not shift vertical position anymore.
the blue monsters do not spawn after a short while. maybe there are 8 at the beginning, then they disappear, do not spawn anymore.
just reporting, good work
Thanks, I'll check that out. Bit to bit we'll do a game with good feeling!

Enabled Rygar Collision
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 04 August 2016, 20:04   #1237
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandruzzo View Post
Thanks, I'll check that out. Bit to bit we'll do a game with good feeling!
yep, it's going that way
Quote:
Enabled Rygar Collision
bit frustrating dying any second, but works stable.
emufan is offline  
Old 05 August 2016, 06:18   #1238
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
yep, it's going that way

bit frustrating dying any second, but works stable.
I'm doing my best...
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 06 August 2016, 17:05   #1239
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,281
Updated Rygar. Some small bugs gone. Enemies respawn should be ok
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 06 August 2016, 18:21   #1240
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandruzzo View Post
Updated Rygar. Some small bugs gone. Enemies respawn should be ok
respawn of blue monsters seems ok now. the blue one's do have some kind
of AI, they change direction and hunt rygar. that is

rygar still dies, when he runs into an explosion of a monster.
you have to release the firebutton to turn to the other direction. maybe this is due to my kind of playing, but it feels not right.
just reporting
emufan is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
rygar? Prosonic support.Games 7 09 June 2013 14:18
two more that borrow heavily from Rygar & Black Tiger NfernalNfluence Nostalgia & memories 5 30 September 2012 18:57
SCIENCE 451-RYGAR: same disks mrodfr project.TOSEC (amiga only) 0 26 December 2006 15:38
Wordworth conversion vertigo support.Apps 5 09 December 2003 14:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:59.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.31334 seconds with 16 queries