English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 February 2019, 11:20   #21
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 1,043
I collect anything instead

So, good search
chip is online now  
Old 19 February 2019, 14:14   #22
Tomislav
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Zagreb / Croatia
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
I would avoid using compressors LHA, ZIP, RAR etc..
The best solution is to compress all demos individually with PowerPacker or CrunchMania. Once this is done you can copy all the file self-extracting to a HardFile from 2GB/4GB to keep the double or triple copies.
Compressing these "full" HardFiles would be useless because the content is already compressed
I think that many demos are already compressed. There are some rare programs for which that compression is bad. You can try with some programs from WorkBench 1.2/1.3, if you compress them they will crash.

For accessing HardFiles is, eventually, only good NTFS compression which is transparent and you can always (un)check "Compress contents to save disk space" (of course, you will need to wait to (de)compression stop).

There is program called TreeSize Free (https://www.jam-software.com/treesize_free/) in which you can see NTFS compression ratio and you can (de)compress individual files as you wish. (Just don't compress windows system files because some of them needs to be uncompressed, otherwise you will not be able to enter in Windows.)
Tomislav is offline  
Old 19 February 2019, 17:47   #23
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,604
The only hardfile I have is the ClassicWB "System.hdf" I use for WB stuff, and that is compressed with RAR to a SFX (self-extracting archive), because it is 200Mb uncompressed and a mere 18Mb when compressed, as most of it is empty. It's most likely the only Amiga file I still keep compressed, but since the SFX also contains a folder structure for temporary files (like extracted WHDLoad archives and the System.hdf file) then that can stay.

"Compress contents to save space"? I don't use that anymore, I have plenty of space, and most of it never gets used, even though I have a 250Mb SSD only.
Foebane is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ACA1221EC + Large HDD/CF ItsTheSmell support.Hardware 8 06 July 2018 16:26
Large HDD capacity formatting woes in WinUAE (fitzsteve) WeiXing3D support.WinUAE 3 06 April 2016 09:43
How do I create a large HDD ? fpmpaolo project.ClassicWB 4 29 February 2016 09:23
Best up to date way of installing ClassicWB and WHDLoad on a large HDD KTC project.ClassicWB 9 03 August 2008 15:34
Driver patches for large HDD's ORSM T support.Other 0 11 June 2007 06:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06329 seconds with 14 queries