English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 July 2004, 01:45   #1
Unregistered
 
Posts: n/a
save state and harddisk emulation

Save state does not support hard disk emulation. Why? (just wandering)

Also, is there a work arround? Id like to be able to quick save and use a hard disk at the same time:/
 
Old 08 July 2004, 12:01   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,129
Hardfile: easy to implement but _dangerous_ to filesystem health..

Example: load state with hardfile, play game, game saves highscore and save file. You reload same state file, game saves highscore again BUT this time Amiga-side filesystem buffer cache and hardfile contents are out of sync -> result is dangerous hardfile filesystem corruption.

Only solution to this is to save whole hardfile with statefile but thats crazy and not very practical. Another solution is to only allow read-only hardfiles in state files.

btw, this can also happen with floppy disk images

Virtual (directory) filesystem: complex and difficult to implement but much safer, only currently open file can get corrupted, no danger to Windows filesystem.

It is difficult because UAE-side contains lots of filesystem state information (currently open files etc..), ports and pointers to m68k-code in Amiga side and everything must be saved and restored perfectly.

This will be done someday...
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 08 July 2004, 13:54   #3
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,736
Quote:
Hardfile: easy to implement but _dangerous_ to filesystem health..
What about checking file date or CRC of the hardfile and warn the user about possible corruption if something has changed ? If you restart at the same point with an unchanged HDF there should be no danger. Only if one uses the hardfile in another WinUAE session and then returns to the saved state, it is dangerous.
thomas is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE "save state" to include the current state of floppies. seuden request.UAE Wishlist 2 03 February 2012 10:36
Save state.... Fuddles support.WinUAE 4 08 May 2009 14:14
Save state hrafnkellg New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 06 May 2009 19:05
Save State how ? DrunkGuy New to Emulation or Amiga scene 6 02 December 2006 21:22
Save-State and Load State don't work Klownk support.WinUAE 15 27 December 2002 15:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.05842 seconds with 13 queries