English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 August 2014, 22:54   #21
pampers
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Sykes View Post
But what about that restriction?


1. Every component of the MorphOS PowerUP Free Edition may only be used on PowerPC accelerator cards by phase5/DCE. Usage on any other hardware and/or inside of emulation environments is strictly forbidden.
True. I just asked one of the dev from the team and he confirmed that this point is still valid.
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 14 August 2014, 23:01   #22
amigafreak68k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Engelsdorf / Germany
Posts: 400
Ok, What's the problem? The END-USER doesn't use MorphOS in Emulations. This doesn't say, that it couldn't be possible!

BTW: Which emulation does run MorphOS at the mean time?!
amigafreak68k is offline  
Old 14 August 2014, 23:18   #23
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,638
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Sykes View Post
But what about that restriction?


1. Every component of the MorphOS PowerUP Free Edition may only be used on PowerPC accelerator cards by phase5/DCE. Usage on any other hardware and/or inside of emulation environments is strictly forbidden.
I find this statement like saying that you can not sing my song in your shower or something.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 14 August 2014, 23:21   #24
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,088
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
There is some problems with rom selection, it works better if you keep rom selection dialog blank (=autoselect). Should work better in next beta.

btw, attached is some never before seen screenshots..

EDIT: In next beta. Boots horribly slowly but WB runs quite nicely. Should be much better when/if PearPC JIT can be added. Also remember that OS 4 is commercial product, don't ask stupid questions.
@All, here is where you can BUY AmigaOS4.1 classic!
http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...oducts_id=1035
DDNI is offline  
Old 14 August 2014, 23:58   #25
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,638
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDNI View Post
@All, here is where you can BUY AmigaOS4.1 classic!
http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...oducts_id=1035
In fact I've been tempted several times to sell my Cd, as I only used it maybe 10 times with my BPPC/BVision. Only good was internet for my "slow" miggy, but now I will get -I hope- a good use of it

I also know I have some updates pending that I never installed, scared of it not booting anymore or whatever, as the installation on real hardware -changing the cd from ide 1 to ide 0 on the idefix- was very painful.

Edit: Also for what I know there is no cd image of OS4.1 on the web, so everybody will have to buy it from sellers.

Last edited by Retrofan; 15 August 2014 at 01:33.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 15 August 2014, 00:31   #26
huepper
Registered User

huepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: GDR
Age: 43
Posts: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDNI View Post
@All, here is where you can BUY AmigaOS4.1 classic!
http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...oducts_id=1035
I have already bought OS4.0 , but if WinUAE emulates the PPC good ( or even very good) and it is this OS running on it , I'll buy me another 4.1 OS.
huepper is offline  
Old 15 August 2014, 00:42   #27
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,580
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
I don't have a lot of use for OS4 myself, but i'm sure it will be a boon for potential OS4 developers that can contribute without needing the expensive hardware themselves.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 15 August 2014, 01:26   #28
amadama
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 45
This is now a very unique situation for Hyperion and Amiga OS.
The "POTENTIAL" users for Amiga OS 4.1 has now gone up by at least an order of magnitude.
A cheaper version of the OS would certainly spur further use and development. (This is why I highlight the word "potential" before. I don't think 10x more people will be willing to pay US$118 for it...)
It would also behoove them to support Toni in his efforts (perhaps they do, I don't know).
amadama is offline  
Old 15 August 2014, 02:00   #29
vitux
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 495
I think the classic version 4.1, is different from that used by Sams and AmigaOnes or Pegasos.
vitux is offline  
Old 15 August 2014, 02:08   #30
amadama
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 45
There are four variants:
Classic
AmigaOne
Pegasos
Samantha
amadama is offline  
Old 15 August 2014, 03:23   #31
tolkien
AmigaMan

tolkien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Castro Urdiales/Spain
Posts: 452
And what about morphos? It is more interesting to me.
tolkien is offline  
Old 15 August 2014, 03:25   #32
DarrenHD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London / Canada
Posts: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
There is some problems with rom selection, it works better if you keep rom selection dialog blank (=autoselect). Should work better in next beta.

btw, attached is some never before seen screenshots..

EDIT: In next beta. Boots horribly slowly but WB runs quite nicely. Should be much better when/if PearPC JIT can be added. Also remember that OS 4 is commercial product, don't ask stupid questions.
Toni, very nicely done. Looking forward to trying the next beta with OS 4.1 Classic.
DarrenHD is offline  
Old 15 August 2014, 03:28   #33
Sandro
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: spain
Posts: 897
can anyone upload please a winuae config with cyberstorm working, thanks
Sandro is offline  
Old 15 August 2014, 03:39   #34
DarrenHD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London / Canada
Posts: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by vitux View Post
I think the classic version 4.1, is different from that used by Sams and AmigaOnes or Pegasos.
It is different, in the sense that it supports the classic hardware in the kernel. There is a specific kernel for classic. And of course other legacy drivers for Zorro III graphic cards.

To make the emulation complete PCI support should be emulated, then perhaps it's possible to somehow get Radeon/compositing working. The easiest busboard to emulate would be the Mediator or Prometheus/firestorm (both supported on NetBSD I believe).
DarrenHD is offline  
Old 15 August 2014, 03:54   #35
esc
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Palo Alto, California, USA
Posts: 389
I have a recommendation: In post 1 of this thread (@B14ck W01f) - maybe we can make it be an information dump, like a landing page for quick info. Links to working uae configuration files, step by step instructions to get the most (install cwb 3.9, grab the warpup/powerup libs with links, install instructions step by step, how to get various software to work, etc). I know I certainly would benefit from this And I'd be happy to contribute. Anyone else think this would be worthwhile?
esc is offline  
Old 15 August 2014, 03:55   #36
amadama
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by esc View Post
I have a recommendation: In post 1 of this thread (@B14ck W01f) - maybe we can make it be an information dump, like a landing page for quick info. Links to working uae configuration files, step by step instructions to get the most (install cwb 3.9, grab the warpup/powerup libs with links, install instructions step by step, how to get various software to work, etc). I know I certainly would benefit from this And I'd be happy to contribute. Anyone else think this would be worthwhile?
As a PPC newb I would appreciate this very much.
amadama is offline  
Old 15 August 2014, 05:04   #37
Mequa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by pampers View Post
Awesome progress. Maybe you want to give this a try http://powerup.morphos-team.net/
May be slightly off topic: Regarding the state of emulation of MorphOS (PPC) on Intel platforms, I recall that back in 2008, Mark "Bigfoot" Olsen (on the MorphOS team) released a screenshot of a patched version of QEMU emulating a Pegasos2 running MorphOS. (Direct link to screenshot)

Unfortunately it seems this project was abandoned, as seen with this 2009 interview with Mark Olsen:

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Brunet
- QEMU is another way to increase the number of potential clients for MorphOS. In April 2008, you published a screenshot showing QEMU emulating a Pegasos II with MorphOS 1.5/pre-2.0. Is there any news about it ?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Olsen
No, none at all. The thing has been dead since that screenshot. Qemu has changed quite a lot internally since then, and most of the work would have to be redone. Furthermore it never worked that well at all: the emulated IDE controller caused problems, networking didn't work, sound didn't work, display required a modified Radeon driver inside MorphOS and it really wasn't very fast at all.
AFAIK MorphOS for classic Amigas + PPC is no longer in development, the latest branch currently at 3.7 mostly runs on old PPC Macs (a totally different platform to the classic Amiga environment emulated by WinUAE). The terms and conditions also rule out an emulated environment in practice - however hypothetically it would be interesting to consider.


Another thing: I am curious why PearPC's JIT was suggested for future WinUAE PPC emulation, since as far as I am aware PearPC is not actively maintained and is considered quite slow. How about a PPC JIT core from QEMU, or Dolphin (Gamecube/Wii emulator) - the latter is quite fast, if a recent i7 can comfortably emulate a 700MHz+ PPC CPU (and potentially more), this may be quite fast for OS4.x (and/or MorphOS).

My understanding is that the PPC JIT from SheepShaver (PPC classic Mac emulator) lacks MMU support which is needed for OS4.x. I'm not sure if MorphOS (whether the classic PowerUP Free Edition, or the current 3.x builds) has the same MMU requirement as OS4.x there.
Mequa is offline  
Old 15 August 2014, 05:51   #38
Michael Sykes
WinUAE end user

Michael Sykes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Bremen
Age: 38
Posts: 627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
I find this statement like saying that you can not sing my song in your shower or something.
We all know that most people will try it anyway.

And I agree very much with esc and amadama about the first post.
Michael Sykes is offline  
Old 15 August 2014, 07:25   #39
B14ck W01f
m68k all the way
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Koalaland
Posts: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by esc View Post
I have a recommendation: In post 1 of this thread (@B14ck W01f) - maybe we can make it be an information dump, like a landing page for quick info. Links to working uae configuration files, step by step instructions to get the most (install cwb 3.9, grab the warpup/powerup libs with links, install instructions step by step, how to get various software to work, etc). I know I certainly would benefit from this And I'd be happy to contribute. Anyone else think this would be worthwhile?
That is a great idea!
B14ck W01f is offline  
Old 15 August 2014, 08:19   #40
B14ck W01f
m68k all the way
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Koalaland
Posts: 476
Woot

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by esc View Post
I have a recommendation: In post 1 of this thread (@B14ck W01f) - maybe we can make it be an information dump, like a landing page for quick info. Links to working uae configuration files, step by step instructions to get the most (install cwb 3.9, grab the warpup/powerup libs with links, install instructions step by step, how to get various software to work, etc). I know I certainly would benefit from this And I'd be happy to contribute. Anyone else think this would be worthwhile?
That is a great idea!

Quote:
Originally Posted by DDNI View Post
@All, here is where you can BUY AmigaOS4.1 classic!
http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...oducts_id=1035
Hmm... Converting the UK price to Australian Dollars, that translates to $146.69, but I think that's far too much for me. I should wait until the price drops or head on over to eBay.
B14ck W01f is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PPC emulation for winuae marauder request.UAE Wishlist 25 04 November 2014 07:13
WinUAE appreciation thread Bloodwych Retrogaming General Discussion 34 26 August 2011 21:29
WinUAE ppc support? blasterreal support.WinUAE 8 29 September 2010 01:51
WinUAE: PPC Amiga Classic future emulation? DaNi support.WinUAE 24 12 January 2008 23:24
PPC on WinUAE ? glue request.UAE Wishlist 4 28 January 2007 13:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.31198 seconds with 15 queries