English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 July 2011, 17:34   #21
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,533
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
[...] we are not going to "center" the display (which is impossible), only trying to exactly position it, just like on real TVs.
This is obviously great and will lead to WinUAE being more accurate than ever. I love your work.
What I find "ugly" is the display difference from 2.3.2 beta 7 and 8... wouldn't it be easier for you and for now (a compromise, while continuing searching for the "best" possible display centering) to revert some of the changes made to beta 8? If this will not mess some other fix you made, of course.
Supamax is offline  
Old 17 July 2011, 17:39   #22
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,462
Display -> Centering -> check Horizontal + Vertical

Filter -> from Default to No scaling centers the screen

AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 17 July 2011, 17:52   #23
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,020
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supamax View Post
This is obviously great and will lead to WinUAE being more accurate than ever. I love your work.
What I find "ugly" is the display difference from 2.3.2 beta 7 and 8... wouldn't it be easier for you and for now (a compromise, while continuing searching for the "best" possible display centering) to revert some of the changes made to beta 8? If this will not mess some other fix you made, of course.
Only change in that version is D3D becoming default. Switch to DirectDraw + none filter to get old behavior back. Everything else has been the same for years..

EDIT: This is difficult to fix now because it would break all configurations with non-default filter setup..

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 17 July 2011 at 19:49.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 17 July 2011, 20:52   #24
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,533
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Only change in that version is D3D becoming default. Switch to DirectDraw + none filter to get old behavior back. Everything else has been the same for years..
Thanks!
(I didn’t pay attention to the DirectDraw/Direct3D setting)

Ok, I made some tests... these are the results:
a) Graphics API set to Direct3D ---> the display is right shifted, no matter if the Filter is set to "none" or "null filter"
b) Graphics API set to DirectDraw ---> the display is not right shifted if the Filter is set to "none". If it's left to "null filter" (the default setting) the display is right shifted.

Quote:
EDIT: This is difficult to fix now because it would break all configurations with non-default filter setup..
no problem... now I/we know how to get the display as it was in previous releases, so take your time (or don't fix it at all...)

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpect View Post
Display -> Centering -> check Horizontal + Vertical
Thanks xpect, but there’s no need to set that (see above).

Last edited by Supamax; 17 July 2011 at 21:01.
Supamax is offline  
Old 17 July 2011, 22:01   #25
sink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: france
Age: 47
Posts: 187
supamax: in windowed or fullscreen mode, and what resolution you use? cuze for me that don't fix the stuff (it's noreally important but it's for just to know).. thk!
sink is offline  
Old 17 July 2011, 23:34   #26
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,533
Quote:
Originally Posted by sink View Post
supamax: in windowed or fullscreen mode, and what resolution you use?
Windowed, 720 x 568.
It's the default setting (I never changed it).

Did you set the Graphics API to "DirectDraw" and the Filter to "none"?
(Important: "none", not "null filter")
Supamax is offline  
Old 18 July 2011, 00:07   #27
sink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: france
Age: 47
Posts: 187
ho thk , i know why now 'cauze i'm in 768x576.. with 720x568 that work! thk again
sink is offline  
Old 18 July 2011, 00:25   #28
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,533
You're welcome .
Supamax is offline  
Old 19 July 2011, 20:39   #29
Dr.Venom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Monitor with adjustments makes the test instantly invalid. Only way to test this is to use few old 4:3 CRT TVs (and hope their adjusments haven't drifted too much).

Note that TV overscan area (image area that is hidden under bezel) can be 5-10% of whole display area, depending on TV.. There is no 100% exact settings just some average.

-> Only way to confirm this once and for all is: everyone who have old 4:3 CRT TV, boot some "standard" boot disk to (for example some WB disk, boot to shell. MUST be confirmed identical image!), measure size of "border" area (each side) and size of display area. We don't need absolute units, just percentage of each border compared to cli window size, for example.

Collect and analyze the results.
Is this still needed? I have access to a few CRT TV's and can do some verification of the border sizes with my A1200/060 connected to them.

To be sure on the procedure to do the measurements: I'll be booting into CLI from the Amiga Early Startup Control (holding both mouse buttons at power-on / reset) and choosing 'Boot With No Startup-Sequence', while I have one of my WB 3.0/3.1 disks inserted in DF0? Please confirm.
Dr.Venom is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Reminder "Lincs Amiga User Group aka "LAG" Meet Sat 5th of January 2013" rockape News 4 30 January 2013 01:06
CD32 Image-Name-Bug: "...(bla)[!].zip" -> "...(bla)[" / "...[test].zip" -> "...[tes" cfTrio support.WinUAE 8 18 December 2012 17:31
"Centering" settings under display not saving WinUAE 1.5 illy5603 support.WinUAE 3 28 July 2008 06:12
Problems with "Thespywholovedme", "Flood", "Shinobi" sareks support.Games 12 03 May 2006 15:52
WHDLoad "screen centering" improvement... Shoonay project.WHDLoad 10 28 December 2004 00:37

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07940 seconds with 16 queries