English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 October 2017, 21:30   #1
lordofchaos
TinkerTailorContentMaker

lordofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bedfordshire
Age: 39
Posts: 1,024
Mortal Kombat II - Insane difficulty?

I recently decided to have a play through of the game (WHDLoad version),
only to get my ass kicked, I made sure the game was on the easiest difficulty setting, this did not help at all, I had too use a cheat to get past the 4th fight, even at this stage the A.I. is totally savage.. Am I just getting too old? Was the game really this hard on easiest setting? Was it even mentioned in the reviews? Or is this some copy protection thing, like what Gods had?..

It's like walking through a blender whilst trying to count faster than a computer.

Last edited by lordofchaos; 31 October 2017 at 21:50.
lordofchaos is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 31 October 2017, 21:59   #2
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,805
Maybe CPU setting is too fast?
s2325 is offline  
Old 31 October 2017, 22:07   #3
lordofchaos
TinkerTailorContentMaker

lordofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bedfordshire
Age: 39
Posts: 1,024
Hmmm, not sure it's that, have it set to standard A1200 setting, and other titles seem fine.
lordofchaos is offline  
Old 31 October 2017, 22:09   #4
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,805
AI is always confused with Baraka's blade special move if you need easier gameplay, 39 is not much.
s2325 is offline  
Old 31 October 2017, 22:12   #5
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 46
Posts: 1,969
have you tried the arcade version? it's very hard too. If you want to be sure that the protection (which was vicious, right) isn't active, use the whdload slave
jotd is offline  
Old 31 October 2017, 22:16   #6
lordofchaos
TinkerTailorContentMaker

lordofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bedfordshire
Age: 39
Posts: 1,024
I`m not sure I understand what you mean. All the cpu fighters are just constantly attacking, executing moves endlessly, there's almost no time to do anything, most of the time you spend blocking. I finished Street Fighter 2 the over day, didn't find that hard at all, it was possible to exploit the A.I. and there was time to perform moves.. MKII on the other hand...39?
lordofchaos is offline  
Old 31 October 2017, 22:21   #7
lordofchaos
TinkerTailorContentMaker

lordofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bedfordshire
Age: 39
Posts: 1,024
@jotd. Yes, was using the whdload slave. I`ll check out the cracked disk versions, maybe they're different?
lordofchaos is offline  
Old 31 October 2017, 22:45   #8
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,586
I never find MKII hard on both Amiga or Arcade. Do the old jump back trick then when opponent jumps toward you either jump kick em in mid air or press back and high kick em as they land near you.

Ive finished MKII twice in a row in arcade MAME version

Hardest game ever is Capital Punishment. That game is bonker hard!!
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 31 October 2017, 22:51   #9
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 46
Posts: 1,969
The kicking part is the key, yes, saw a guy doing exactly what your describing at the arcade back in the days but timings are really difficult to get used to. I could never play like that... (and I finished MK1 with 1 credit)
jotd is offline  
Old 31 October 2017, 23:13   #10
lordofchaos
TinkerTailorContentMaker

lordofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bedfordshire
Age: 39
Posts: 1,024
All those moves at your disposal and it's reduced to a jump back trick, ah well, whatever works I suppose haha! Still think MKII on Amiga was never play tested properly...
lordofchaos is offline  
Old 31 October 2017, 23:14   #11
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,269
This trick works on the Amiga version, for everyone but Kintaro.
If you keep jumping backwards, the computer will jump towards you like a moron. Then all you need is a bit of timing, to see when to jump after you landed a kick.

Works best in difficulty set to super hard or very easy.

Last edited by Akira; 01 November 2017 at 00:16.
Akira is offline  
Old 31 October 2017, 23:27   #12
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 46
Posts: 1,969
there are rumors that the code in MKII is ported from arcade code. it's not a "look the arcade game during hours and try to do the same" kind of port like Final Fight.
also explains why coders don't want to release the amiga version source code.
jotd is offline  
Old 31 October 2017, 23:57   #13
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 33
Posts: 1,046
Yeah I found MKII a bit difficult like it read my moves then acted. Whenever I jumped in I would quite often get upper cut or if I jumped into Barakka I would get scissor cut. I also had trouble uppercutting my opponents because they would always duck then uppercut me. I had the Prestige version that used to crash just after Kintaro.
redblade is offline  
Old 01 November 2017, 00:06   #14
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,173
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
there are rumors that the code in MKII is ported from arcade code. it's not a "look the arcade game during hours and try to do the same" kind of port like Final Fight.
also explains why coders don't want to release the amiga version source code.
Yes the amiga version contains some code logic from the coin-op but also some of the megadrive version.
dlfrsilver is online now  
Old 01 November 2017, 00:43   #15
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,586
Some hard enemies like barakas blades if you jump at him is a common problem. Solution just dont jump at him. Jump back. He mimics your move and jumps toward you. Then roundhouse kick him.
I tend to duck down and as soon as enemy gets near you do the "jump back" trick.
Kitana was another pain the backside for jump attacking at.
As for bosses back and forward jumps work but not always. You can always do a freeze ball when they stomp or laugh at you. But you have to be quick.

Street Fightet II has this kind of "knowing what you move will be before you do it" code.. but with certain tricks you can beat them.
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 01 November 2017, 00:43   #16
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,603
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
have you tried the arcade version? it's very hard too. If you want to be sure that the protection (which was vicious, right) isn't active, use the whdload slave
Huh? It was just a couple of copylocks and PDOS wasnt it?
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 01 November 2017, 01:09   #17
lordofchaos
TinkerTailorContentMaker

lordofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bedfordshire
Age: 39
Posts: 1,024
@ransom1122. I found the Amiga version of Street Fighter II much easier than MKII, it's as if the inputs are being missed with the joystick, latency in your actions. It's awful. And the enemies are way more aggressive.
lordofchaos is offline  
Old 01 November 2017, 01:22   #18
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,660
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordofchaos View Post
@ransom1122. I found the Amiga version of Street Fighter II much easier than MKII, it's as if the inputs are being missed with the joystick, latency in your actions. It's awful. And the enemies are way more aggressive.
...so test the .ADF / .IPF versions then to compare; then you'll have the answer
DamienD is offline  
Old 01 November 2017, 01:47   #19
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,586
MKII is more truthful to Arcade then what SFII was to Arcade IMO.
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 01 November 2017, 02:02   #20
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,660
...as much as I love the Amiga, plus both games are in my collection.

The only versions I ever play of these are the Arcade (via MAME) or the Super Nintendo (via Snes9X).
DamienD is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mortal Kombat 1 issues brett71 support.Games 6 05 September 2012 19:18
Mortal Kombat II (WHDLOAD) carlcala support.Games 7 22 March 2012 14:41
Mortal Kombat II mai HOL data problems 2 03 December 2009 12:24
Mortal Kombat Arcade Blackjackel6 Retrogaming General Discussion 24 12 May 2005 03:36
Mortal Kombat 1? LocalH project.CARE 25 10 May 2005 01:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.57173 seconds with 12 queries