English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 September 2012, 03:57   #61
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,617
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian View Post
Ok i give up on bypassing the protection entirely. Made my first baby steps. That'll do for now.
You can use breakpoints at an earlier address to move backwards to earlier instructions, also you can look for RTS commands and then step through the instructions. ARIII has a lot of monitor commands that are available.
kipper2k is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 26 September 2012, 04:25   #62
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,135
Quote:
Originally Posted by MethodGit View Post
Do you mean when opening the WB window? You need to write-protect the disk to get around that. As has been explained, under a WB1.3 environment the disk tends to automatically write a .info onto itself and for whatever reason the Battle Chess disk keeps screwing this bit up (and it's definitely not related to any cracking).

I *did* enable the read-only flag on the ADF before uploading but I should've guessed that it doesn't transfer across downloads. I should've just zipped it up first!
Are you telling me that if you own an original of Battle Chess, and you don't keep it write protected, you will destroy the original disk when Workbench loads?

Say it ain't so!?! Very lame if that is the case...

MG: What have the 'real' crackers done to get around this problem? I notice the Quartex crack doesn't crash if you leave the disk unprotected unlike your version.

Last edited by Codetapper; 26 September 2012 at 05:20.
Codetapper is offline  
Old 26 September 2012, 06:02   #63
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,509
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
But at the same time, the people who allegedly dislike MethodGit's posts, SHOULD avoid his threads, nevertheles they post offensively. It has been said before, there's an IGNORE function built into this board, why can't people use it?

Personal attacks like the ones above should not be tolerated in this board.
I agree .
Supamax is offline  
Old 26 September 2012, 17:27   #64
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Just a little something that DH came up with today:



Idea by yours truly and execution by Mr DemonHellraiser (cheers for that )
TCD is offline  
Old 26 September 2012, 17:51   #65
DaveMB
Banana in disk drive eror
DaveMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: England (Hull)
Age: 37
Posts: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Just a little something that DH came up with today:



Idea by yours truly and execution by Mr DemonHellraiser (cheers for that )
Very cool
DaveMB is offline  
Old 26 September 2012, 19:13   #66
Sektor 83
Registered User
Sektor 83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: UK
Age: 34
Posts: 143
Ah, that's pretty neat! Thanks guys, it'll make a great sig!

Edit: Ah, no animated sigs allowed... never mind, eh, I've downloaded it anyway onto my computer as a small memento
Sektor 83 is offline  
Old 26 September 2012, 19:23   #67
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,279
All posts relating to Sektor 83's next cracking adventure have been moved into the new thread What to crack next after Battle Chess?.
prowler is online now  
Old 26 September 2012, 19:44   #68
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,175
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Maybe i should post my bat II dongle crack then ? :-D
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 26 September 2012, 19:46   #69
Sektor 83
Registered User
Sektor 83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: UK
Age: 34
Posts: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
Maybe i should post my bat II dongle crack then ? :-D
Please do!!! I'd be interested in reading up on anything like that!
Sektor 83 is offline  
Old 26 September 2012, 20:01   #70
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,279
All posts relating to the DiskMonTools nag-screen have been moved into a new thread.
prowler is online now  
Old 22 October 2012, 01:16   #71
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,606
Just a small bump for an excellent thread
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 30 October 2017, 10:58   #72
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,171
Ugh I corrupted my original disk on accident and messed it up. After googling the weird behavior I was getting on the disk, I find this thread. Now it makes sense. Now to find a original NTSC dump of the disk to copy back to my original disk....
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 30 October 2017, 11:24   #73
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,175
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by TjLaZer View Post
Ugh I corrupted my original disk on accident and messed it up. After googling the weird behavior I was getting on the disk, I find this thread. Now it makes sense. Now to find a original NTSC dump of the disk to copy back to my original disk....
Shame, we don't have the US version of this game in IPF.

Maybe Dr Bong can help on this matter ?
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 30 October 2017, 12:07   #74
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,171
I got lucky, I had another original disk!!! Glad I had a second disk! I copied it back to my other disk and all is well. But when I tried to ADF/DMS the file and run it on WinUAE it doesn't work, gives a Software Failure like in the beginning of this thread.
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 30 October 2017, 12:09   #75
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
Shame, we don't have the US version of this game in IPF.

Maybe Dr Bong can help on this matter ?
The executable from the US version is a different size, so it's different. How can I make an IPF of it?
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 31 October 2017, 02:38   #76
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,171
ok when I ADF my working original and boot it in WinUAE (write protecting disk) it boots but graphics are corrupt. When I write back the ADF to a real disk and boot to a real Amiga, it works perfectly! What gives?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	BattleChess corrupt graphics on WinUAE.JPG
Views:	41
Size:	100.5 KB
ID:	55236  
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 31 October 2017, 11:11   #77
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,175
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by TjLaZer View Post
The executable from the US version is a different size, so it's different. How can I make an IPF of it?
dump the disk with your A1200 (if you own one), with the kryoflux free tool.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 31 October 2017, 15:22   #78
S0ulA55a551n
Registered User
S0ulA55a551n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Rhondda, Wales
Age: 40
Posts: 482
sorry for the OT. Reminds me of back in the day trying to crack the disk version of robocop on the amstrad cpc so I could copy it and writing back to the original disk by mistake and completely screwing it
S0ulA55a551n is offline  
Old 31 October 2017, 19:54   #79
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 34
Posts: 2,698
I ended up reading the whole of this old thread and also the split thread "What crack next".

This became a really cool thread after time... and I am really impressed not only with Galahad's knowledge (of course, this is no surprise to anyone), but how much he remembers from all the stuff he has cracked through all those years. This is really impressive, to remember details of games cracked so long ago. I barely remember stuff I've worked a couple of years ago
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 01 November 2017, 00:20   #80
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
Shame, we don't have the US version of this game in IPF.

Maybe Dr Bong can help on this matter ?
Raw dump.....in the Zone. You have mail also Denis!

Last edited by DrBong; 01 November 2017 at 00:42. Reason: Fixed sentence!
DrBong is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem With Battle Chess Peter support.Games 74 27 April 2016 13:29
What to crack next after Battle Chess? Sektor 83 support.Games 62 27 October 2012 01:30
Battle Chess CDTV MethodGit request.Old Rare Games 8 28 September 2006 11:22
Battle Chess II - Chinese Chess genre wrong Fred the Fop HOL suggestions and feedback 1 02 June 2004 15:37

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.29893 seconds with 13 queries