English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 June 2010, 16:40   #41
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Chaos Construct 'in action' :



TCD is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 June 2010, 19:43   #42
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,779
Nice Work there TCD
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 25 June 2010, 01:00   #43
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,464
I must say that I'm really enthusiastic about this editor. Really simple to grasp the interface and the functionality of it, it's almost spot on making or editing a level.

I share TCD's enthusiasm, because is really easy to do something decent, as TCD proved with his alpha level done in less than a week.

For any gamer that likes Chaos Engine it's even the perfect game for one to easily make a level. Because of the up-down (isometric?)perspective, building a new level, at least for me, it seems easily doable.

So guys, for Chaos Engine lovers, give this tool a go and really try to grasp it's functionalities. Let's have more new levels to play in the following months!

I'll certainly will try.

Thanks Exl for a great tool, by the way.

EDIT: Join us at the #chaosconstruct irc channel for any doubts or help you need.
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 25 June 2010, 02:52   #44
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Cheers xpect
I'll have a public beta for you lot ready on Saturday, so stay tuned folks
Editor is working nicely and the CE engine is really great for a 1993 game
TCD is offline  
Old 25 June 2010, 08:25   #45
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,171
Nice work!

Side question: Can someone fix that annoying glitch where The Chaos Engine AGA requires a PAL display when only using a NTSC screen mode? (ie gap at bottom on screen)

Would be nice to be able to play the damn game in NTSC to atleast get rid of that annoying gap at the bottom, or rewrite the damn game to make use of a PAL screenmode! Why it NEEDS a PAL screenmode is beyond me.

At-least The Chaos Engine CD32 does not suffer from this glitch. It runs in NTSC fine!
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 25 June 2010, 08:29   #46
Anakirob
Unregistered User
Anakirob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Tasmania
Age: 35
Posts: 858
Quote:
Originally Posted by TjLaZer View Post
Side question: Can someone fix that annoying glitch where The Chaos Engine AGA requires a PAL display when only using a NTSC screen mode? (ie gap at bottom on screen)
You need to ask that question here on the WHDLoad bug report page
Anakirob is offline  
Old 25 June 2010, 09:16   #47
Qube
Registered User
Qube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: England
Posts: 200
This editor is very cool. Is there any way to get the original CD32 cd audio to play during this game, or has this been stripped out completely (cd32>aga hack)?

A feature to wipe the level clear would be useful, to start from scratch etc. Also maybe the tile chooser could show them larger (double size?) because they can be a little small to select when running a high windows resolution.

Overall this editor is indeed quite superb.

Q;
Qube is offline  
Old 25 June 2010, 10:13   #48
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qube View Post
A feature to wipe the level clear would be useful, to start from scratch etc.
It's already in 2.5.0.2 Select 'Level' -> 'Clear'
TCD is offline  
Old 25 June 2010, 12:20   #49
Jimbo
Registered User
Jimbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Colchester Essex
Age: 38
Posts: 822
Any chance of a Linux port won't work in wine
Jimbo is offline  
Old 26 June 2010, 10:19   #50
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anakirob View Post
You need to ask that question here on the WHDLoad bug report page
I already did.
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 01 July 2010, 02:12   #51
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Okay, here we go *ahem*

Path to threedom
A Chaos Constructed world 3 mayhem
Will you be chaotic enough to stand the task ahead?
Coming to your WHDLoad mid July 2010


Hope you get the idea
TCD is offline  
Old 01 July 2010, 04:05   #52
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
mine would be....

The Chaos Engine
Backfired

"once The Chaos Engine was destroyed, space and time was absorbed into the endless infinite point of a single atom. merging physics and spacetime together, fired the second largest explosion in universal history... once again the universe was created, expanded and had attraction via gravity... this happened in seconds. so time and space and matter (and their anti- versions) was projected in every direction...

The Chaos has only just begun!"

- your thoughts???

- please???

Last edited by Djay; 01 July 2010 at 04:14.
Djay is offline  
Old 01 July 2010, 04:13   #53
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
you first start on an alien ship, with some kind of sparkle effect as an outline - maybe blue or gold

the alien ship is nothing what we are used too, its organic but in an unnatural way, like constructed from old blocks of sandstone with overgrown vegetation on...

still with your outline glow you proceed to find an odd looking red button hidden behind some vegetation... you press it...

everything goes dark... you appear at beach at the side of the shore... you hear noises coming from the dense forest ahead????

where's that outline glow gone
Djay is offline  
Old 01 July 2010, 04:21   #54
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
basically because you were absorbed first, you avoided the destruction of the universe and were given the ability to form outside of normal space and time and matter, these three effects build to generate you outside stm, for a short period (say one small level for story telling) followed by two levels of normal action based in the normal universe set in different points in human time!

once again you must destroy The Chaos Engine, this time three times!

so we are talking

1. intro level
2.3. Action on Island
4. story level and 1st chaos engine to destroy
5.6. Action inside a blue Temple
7. story level and 2nd chaos engine to destroy
8.9. Action based in a digital but old fashion House (in 9. we see that its a digital construction)
10. story level but the size of a normal level with the last chaos engine to be destroyed with ending

you could have an extra action levels, say 3 together giving a total of 13 levels

Last edited by Djay; 01 July 2010 at 04:34.
Djay is offline  
Old 01 July 2010, 09:23   #55
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Hmm, I think you should talk with Exl about how much of that would actually be possible (I guess most of it would be, except for that glowing stuff ). Would mean a lot of new tiles and that you can't *cough* get inspired by the original levels. Sounds like a nice project, but not so sure you can do that all on your own. Why not make one 'normal' level first, just to see how the editor works?

Edit : First PTT teaser shot


Last edited by TCD; 01 July 2010 at 14:00.
TCD is offline  
Old 02 July 2010, 10:18   #56
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 2,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Okay, here we go *ahem*

Path to threedom
A Chaos Constructed world 3 mayhem
Will you be chaotic enough to stand the task ahead?
Coming to your WHDLoad mid July 2010


Hope you get the idea


I will consider this a slightly early Birthday present...

Really looking forward to this - keep up the good work TCD - I don't know where you get the time but I'm glad you do!
Peter is offline  
Old 02 July 2010, 18:30   #57
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Hmm, I think you should talk with Exl about how much of that would actually be possible (I guess most of it would be, except for that glowing stuff ). Would mean a lot of new tiles and that you can't *cough* get inspired by the original levels. Sounds like a nice project, but not so sure you can do that all on your own. Why not make one 'normal' level first, just to see how the editor works?

Edit : First PTT teaser shot

absolutely... just my imagination working overtime!
Djay is offline  
Old 02 July 2010, 18:32   #58
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Djay View Post
absolutely... just my imagination working overtime!
Heh, fair enough Just join us on IRC and have a go with Chaos Construct
TCD is offline  
Old 02 July 2010, 19:01   #59
Dastardly
Into the Wonderful

Dastardly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Gods Country
Age: 43
Posts: 2,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Okay, here we go *ahem*

Path to threedom
A Chaos Constructed world 3 mayhem
Will you be chaotic enough to stand the task ahead?
Coming to your WHDLoad mid July 2010


Hope you get the idea
Awesome! I really like the title and I'm super excited for MOAR CE!
Dastardly is offline  
Old 03 July 2010, 13:02   #60
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Thought I share this :
Quote:
* TCD just designed a nasty teleporter 'riddle'
<Belgarath> the sort where you end up going round and round in circles cos you cant figure out wtf you're meant to be doing and then you scream and hurl the joystick towards the telly?
<TCD> Exactly like that
<Belgarath> will you pay for a new joystick and tv if i break both then?
<TCD> I should add 'use at your own risk' somewhere methinks
<Belgarath> the author takes no responsibility for loss of hair or sanity whilst playing this game
<TCD> Aye
TCD is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kid Chaos Retro1234 project.Sprites 2 16 July 2009 23:32
Total Chaos pubzombie support.Games 1 15 February 2009 12:25
Chaos Engine 2 SWOS Retrogaming General Discussion 32 14 November 2007 20:21
Total Chaos benkid77 support.WinUAE 19 27 June 2005 05:49
Chaos Engine CD Unregistered request.Modules 15 17 August 2002 19:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22781 seconds with 12 queries