English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 January 2015, 17:23   #1
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 632
Trying to make sense of Blizzard 1230 mkIV MMU

I recently got myself an A1200 (kickrom 3.1) with Blizzard 1230 mkIV including 64 MB + FPU and a CF card on the IDE bus. I'm new to Amiga, well I have an old A500, but haven't used that for over almost 2 decades.

Now I am not understanding a difference I notice and I can't get rid of.

Configuration 1:
ClassicWB on top of OS3.1
The startup sequence contains the line C:CPU FASTROM BURST >NIL:
With this line SYSinfo shows MMU in use
Without this line SYSinfo shows MMU not in use and gives me a lower score.

Configuration 2:
ClassicWB on top of OS3.9
I struggled to get this running in the first place. I got in a boot/software failure loop. This thread helped me fix it: http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=68514
But I'm not able to get the MMU to "in use" in sys info
If I add the same line C:CPU FASTROM BURST >NIL: or use SetCPU in the startup sequence I get into the software failure boot loop again.
If I run the command from CLI after boot, the Amiga freezes.

So how do I get this to in use? Or shouldn't I worry and does OS3.9 already take care of this? To be honest I don't really know what the MMU will actually bring me

Last edited by spudje; 11 January 2015 at 17:28.
spudje is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 11 January 2015, 19:42   #2
jimbob
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Kilmacolm
Age: 39
Posts: 616
I think CPU fastrom does require MMU. I can't tell you why OS3.9 would have a problem with this but I believe there is a ROM->fastmem utility especially for the Blizzard cards, suggest you try that instead.
jimbob is offline  
Old 12 January 2015, 09:24   #3
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 632
OK, thx, will do. Can I find it at aminet?
spudje is offline  
Old 12 January 2015, 09:34   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,940
Why not simply set Blizzard's map rom jumper? It does exact same thing in hardware, without using or requiring MMU, automatically, no reboot needed.

Blizkick is another option if you want to do more (replace/add rom modules etc..) than just remap the rom.

OS3.9 very early boot rom patches probably are not compatible with all rom remap software.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 14 January 2015, 20:27   #5
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 2,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by spudje View Post
To be honest I don't really know what the MMU will actually bring me
An MMU can provide things like memory protection and virtual memory. It can also remap memory. On the Amiga it's most useful for developer tools such as Enforcer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Why not simply set Blizzard's map rom jumper? It does exact same thing in hardware, without using or requiring MMU, automatically, no reboot needed.
That has one drawback. The memory the Blizzard card maps the kickstart ROM to is not protected. Misbehaved applications can corrupt the kickstart image in RAM this way. The safest option is to use an MMU based program that both remaps the ROM and protects the area of RAM the ROM image is in.
Thorham is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Making some sense of this Blizzard 1230 mkIV Ninja Assassin support.Hardware 3 16 June 2013 01:06
F/S Blizzard 1230 MKIV + SCSI Kit + Cable + 128mb fitzsteve MarketPlace 5 31 August 2010 11:43
Need Help with my Blizzard 1230 MKIV lopos2000 support.Hardware 14 04 July 2006 19:28
For Sale; Blizzard 1230 MkIV 16MB tjvy MarketPlace 0 06 March 2006 21:43
Blizzard 1230 MKIV Q & A (image warning) Bad Mr Frosty support.Hardware 3 14 January 2004 20:54

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18958 seconds with 14 queries