English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

Old 28 November 2005, 21:55   #1
lauri_t

Disk drive tearing sound

Hi,

I dug out my A500 and decided to play with it for a while just for fun. I noticed that the disk drive has a really ugly and tearing sound, much worse that I remembered and compared to my A1200. There is also some "resonance" (I am not sure if this is the right word to use). It sounds like the drive is in need of oil or something. The A500 was stored in a warm place and wrapped in plastic so i don't think it could have taken any damage during the approx. one half year it was stored.

Any suggestions in what to do? So long the drive has read all my disks without error but the sound is really disturbing me. I have a drive head cleaning diskette, could that help? I am not good at hardware tinkering so be very precise in your instructions, please.
Old 28 November 2005, 23:31   #2
Overdoc
Commodore Collector

YOu could do 2 things:

1) Clean the drive heads with a q-tip and some alcohol. There is an upper and lower head - you cannot miss it when you open the drive.

2) Put a tiny, very tiny drop of oil on the spindle which moves the head.

After you have done this your drive should work more quiet and more accurate.
Old 28 November 2005, 23:52   #3
lauri_t

I applied the cleaning disk but the sound remains the same.

Now when I think about it, the Amiga was a bit warm to the touch when i took it from storage. It had been stored ~30cm from a warm water pipe. Could this have somehow dried up the lubricant in the drive?

About putting oil in the spindle, I assume it means opening up the drive? Is there any special precautions I have to keep in mind while dismantling the drive? I am not experienced in these kinds of things, so is it this something difficult to do?
Old 29 November 2005, 03:00   #4
TjLaZer

The drive is noisier than the ones on the A600/1200s that is for sure. Might be normal, does it work?