English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 September 2015, 11:29   #1
matthewpont
 
Posts: n/a
A1200 right mouse button issue

Hello,

I've an issue with the right mouse button working on my A1200, here's the lowdown:

- I can get into the startup menu by holding left and right buttons.
- I cannot access the right button menu in Workbench (have to use the keyboard shortcut).
- When playing Cannon Fodder, the men are constantly firing their guns as if the right button is permanently on.
- I used a program called portswitcher, which allowed me to use the joystick port with a mouse - same issue.
- When trying to play Cannon Fodder, if I take the mouse out the port, they keep on firing.

It's as if the right mouse button is constantly being pressed ? Any ideas would be appreciated.

Thanks!
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 September 2015, 11:31   #2
matthewpont
 
Posts: n/a
Also, I can get into the startup menu by just pressing the left mouse button - confirming the fact that the Amiga thinks that the RMB is being pressed.

This happens with two different mice - one old, one brand new.
 
Old 19 September 2015, 11:39   #3
matthewpont
 
Posts: n/a
Just noticed that with the sound up, I hear a distortion noise when I click with the RMB - like it's shorting out or something.
 
Old 19 September 2015, 12:46   #4
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 729
Hi just repaired a CD2 where the mouse/joy port had a similar problem in my case it was two bad connections from the Connecter pins to the motherboard ,I had to do two short jumper leads and all is fine now.

You will need to check continuity from the port pins and see if there is any breaks on the pcb, also you should check the smd components regarding the mouse right button circuit, so download a schematic and have a root round
supaduper is offline  
Old 19 September 2015, 12:51   #5
matthewpont
 
Posts: n/a
I'm in no way technical like that, so I'm a bit screwed. If I bought a replacement motherboard, could I just swap it out or does that require any techie skillz (soldering, etc)?
 
Old 19 September 2015, 14:14   #6
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 729
Yes to swap the board will be easy, then get that other board repaired/looked at by someone perhaps on here

Also one very important point NEVER plug in mice or joysticks while the Amiga is on ,you have a good chance of blowing chips

Last edited by supaduper; 19 September 2015 at 14:20.
supaduper is offline  
Old 19 September 2015, 14:50   #7
matthewpont
 
Posts: n/a
I bet that's what I did! Amazing what you forget after 25 years.
 
Old 19 September 2015, 15:00   #8
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 729
You have mail
supaduper is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga Mouse Button Switches amigakit.com MarketPlace 0 09 September 2012 19:40
Strange A1200 mouse issue. SoulSentinel support.Hardware 3 04 February 2012 13:05
Right mouse button not working? NovaCoder project.ClassicWB 3 09 May 2011 07:26
Problem right mouse button 3dfx4ever support.Hardware 3 17 February 2011 09:33
A2000 stopped seeing right mouse button shirsch support.Hardware 4 22 August 2008 04:03

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.17847 seconds with 12 queries