English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 April 2012, 23:25   #1
ManuelHH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Hamburg
Posts: 10
FS-UAE (1.1) Help Key -> where?, mapping?

Hi,

thank you very very much for this great port!
Its the best on mac snow leopard!!!

Im so happy with it!

But...

where is the help key?

It says help is page down on winuae documentation.
Apple Support says page down is CMD + Arrow down on Mac OS 10.6 which works for ex. in the browser but not in FS-UAE.

I also tried

[config]
keyboard_key_help = keyboard_key_h

But I don't know if keyboard_key_help is the right syntax since i can't find it in the documentation and even dont know if i can map a key to another existing key (h).
Anyway its not working

Does someone have a hint for me?

regards
ManuelHH
ManuelHH is offline  
Old 03 April 2012, 23:32   #2
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 39
Posts: 3,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by ManuelHH View Post
I also tried

[config]
keyboard_key_help = keyboard_key_h

But I don't know if keyboard_key_help is the right syntax since i can't find it in the documentation and even dont know if i can map a key to another existing key (h).
Anyway its not working

Does someone have a hint for me?

regards
ManuelHH
This above was not a valid config. You probably wanted:
Code:
[config]
keyboard_key_h = action_key_help

Last edited by FrodeSolheim; 04 April 2012 at 00:49.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 03 April 2012, 23:34   #3
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 39
Posts: 3,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by ManuelHH View Post
It says help is page down on winuae documentation.
No wait a minute... did not see the winuae word there FS-UAE has the host END key mapped to amiga HELP key, not page down (page down is mapped to "amiga right" key).

EDIT: FS-UAE is not a straight port of WinUAE, so you cannot use the WinUAE documentation -Only the "emulation core" is common.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 03 April 2012, 23:52   #4
ManuelHH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Hamburg
Posts: 10
Oh dear, what is the End key?




I googled a bit and found:

Option+ right arrow end of word
Command + right arrow end of line

A user said "thanks", so i guess this is the right combination for that.

But both of this commands dont work assuming THAT are the right keys now and you're meaning this "end" commands.

Im checking your manually config suggestion now

I'll report soon.

regards
ManuelHH

Edit: I know I should use YOUR documentation but the Help key wasn't mentioned there and i don't give up this soon, so i looked further and ended at winuae with my question
ManuelHH is offline  
Old 04 April 2012, 00:04   #5
ManuelHH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Hamburg
Posts: 10
Okay,

manually config is working with

keyboard_key_h = action_key_help

I got into that menu!
Now I have to press DEL to go back to the previous window but the <- (delete) key won't work.. haha... now im searching for the next key.

I think I can change your config string for that.

But.. can I help you somehow?
Do you have a tool for getting the keyboard codes?
Then I can tell you which keys belong to a macbook pro.
If you're interested.
Hm, might also be a comon question. Maybe there are graphics with a keyboard and code in the net too....

But if I can help... just tell me.

regards
ManuelHH
ManuelHH is offline  
Old 04 April 2012, 00:15   #6
ManuelHH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Hamburg
Posts: 10
One more question:

keyboard_key_h = action_key_help
keyboard_key_d = action_key_del

sets the keys as described.

But can i also use ´ and ^ ?

keyboard_key_´ = action_key_help
keyboard_key_^ = action_key_del

is not working.
If this would be possible I could use keys that are not needed for writing and useable on a mac without any other keys like CMD, CTRL, Shift or something...
ManuelHH is offline  
Old 04 April 2012, 00:19   #7
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 39
Posts: 3,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by ManuelHH View Post
But can i also use ´ and ^ ?

keyboard_key_´ = action_key_help
keyboard_key_^ = action_key_del

is not working.
If this would be possible I could use keys that are not needed for writing and useable on a mac without any other keys like CMD, CTRL, Shift or something...
All valid keyboard_key_* options are listed here:
http://fengestad.no/wp/fs-uae/custom-input-mapping

keyboard_key_^ on Mac (if it is the key to the left of return on you Mac as well) would be keyboard_key_rightbracket (the keys are named after standard US PC keyboard layout).

Last edited by FrodeSolheim; 04 April 2012 at 00:44.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 04 April 2012, 00:41   #8
ManuelHH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Hamburg
Posts: 10
Hmmm...

thanks for the documentation.

I doublechecked it with 2 different combinations.

But
keyboard_key_caret

ist not working. I can't set it to help or del key.

also
keyboard_key_left(right)bracket is not working.

If I use h and d for help and del its working.

regards
Manuel.

P.S.: Just drop me a line (PM) if you need some help here or there.
Im advanced in IT and working in a major OEM IT company.
ManuelHH is offline  
Old 04 April 2012, 00:43   #9
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 39
Posts: 3,694
I checked a bit...

On Mac laptops:
Delete == Fn + Backspace => Amiga DEL
End == Fn + Right => Amiga HELP
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 04 April 2012, 00:50   #10
ManuelHH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Hamburg
Posts: 10
Confirmed.
Working over here.

Its okay and perfect for me now. Thank you! Good to know the keys!

But caret and brackets are still not assignable, just FYI.
ManuelHH is offline  
Old 04 April 2012, 00:53   #11
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 39
Posts: 3,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by ManuelHH View Post
Confirmed.
Working over here.
Its okay and perfect for me now. Thank you! Good to know the keys!
Good

Quote:
Originally Posted by ManuelHH View Post
But caret and brackets are still not assignable, just FYI.
The names are based on physical key position. You probably have another layout than I. If you want to map custom keys and need their names, you can set the environment variable:
Code:
export FS_DEBUG_INPUT=1
and run FS-UAE (make sure fs-uae uses that environment, for instance by running from the same terminal..) -the log file will then contain log entries (with names) of the keys you pressed.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 04 April 2012, 01:10   #12
ManuelHH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Hamburg
Posts: 10
You're right I have a german layout and you mentioned FS-UAE is using US standard layout, sorry.

I think it will work if i look at a US Mac Pro keyboard picture and setting this ones.
Otherwise i'm checking the debug log you mentioned.

can't FS-UAE call the mac os keyboard environment layout so its always using the user's current OS enviroment settings layout?

Just an idea...

regards
Manuel.
ManuelHH is offline  
Old 04 April 2012, 01:27   #13
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 39
Posts: 3,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by ManuelHH View Post
can't FS-UAE call the mac os keyboard environment layout so its always using the user's current OS enviroment settings layout?
Well, I could do this for (key names for) custom input mapping, yes, but for default mapping from host keys to amiga keys, using locale layout would be a nightmare Keys are now positionally mapped (independent of the os/locale key translation) as much as possible, so you can activate your layout (German) in Workbench and keys would work approximately as on a real Amiga.

I have updated this page: http://fengestad.no/wp/fs-uae/documentation with documentation of the default key mapping, also with info about Mac laptops without full-size keyboard

Last edited by FrodeSolheim; 04 April 2012 at 01:42.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 04 April 2012, 21:57   #14
ManuelHH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Hamburg
Posts: 10
Thank you for updating the documentation and your support.



ManuelHH
ManuelHH is offline  
Old 14 March 2014, 05:46   #15
JPQ
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Akaa
Posts: 57
i cannot get this line work:
keyboard_key_f14 = action_key_help
i putted this advanced settings. and i use os x. and disable os x own uses for f14.
i really need help key. oops i found it next button in samelind where del is. allready!.
JPQ is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Joystick-key mapping improvements Minuous request.UAE Wishlist 21 14 June 2013 09:42
Key mapping prob amiga support.WinUAE 1 04 March 2008 09:45
Key mapping Problems k2uphill project.ClassicWB 13 28 February 2007 03:44
Key mapping question RCK support.WinUAE 0 02 October 2004 19:53
Key mapping dreamkatcha support.WinUAE 1 11 June 2003 16:38

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09298 seconds with 13 queries