English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 October 2004, 09:58   #1
Galaxy
Registered User
Galaxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 42
Posts: 1,417
A601

I was wondering if anyone knows if the A601 is prone to battery leak - I've just gone and removed the NiCd batteries from 4 of my A500s, all of which were starting to corrode. The problem with the A601 is that it is in a sealed metal unit that has been soldered/welded shut, so I don't know what sort of battery is inside there.
Galaxy is offline  
Old 30 October 2004, 13:10   #2
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
the a601 has a clock too??? I need to use my a600 lol, 1200 takes all my amiga time!
keropi is offline  
Old 30 October 2004, 18:21   #3
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,263
Hmm my Expansion unit (I am not sure if it is an A601, i think it is) has one of the "clip" lithium type batteries. This doesn't leak at all.
You have to worry about leakages when you have "sausage" type batteries.
Akira is offline  
Old 30 October 2004, 22:10   #4
Galaxy
Registered User
Galaxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 42
Posts: 1,417
I've got an official C= A601. According to the box, "RAM expansion card and clock/calendar card for the A600" so I would assume that a battery is included. However, as I mentioned above it is a sealed unit, so I have no idea of what is on the board.
Galaxy is offline  
Old 31 October 2004, 01:42   #5
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 3,704


RetroMan is offline  
Old 31 October 2004, 11:15   #6
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
does this odd shape battery leak????
keropi is offline  
Old 03 March 2012, 02:31   #7
Amigan123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Staffordshire
Posts: 101
Yes it definately is prone to leak, mine has leaked and taken off the green coating and corroded the PCB eaten through to the copper!
on my A601, the battery looks like 3 fat coins cells in a green plastic coating.

Obviously these werent made to last 19 years!

To get to the PCB you need to cut off the metal casing.

I have removed the battery and cleaned up the corrosion.

Last edited by Amigan123; 03 March 2012 at 02:43.
Amigan123 is offline  
Old 03 March 2012, 10:19   #8
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,263
Strange, my A601 also has a coin type CR whatever battery, non leaky.
Akira is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A601 1/2 meg expansion question. DoogUK support.Hardware 81 31 December 2018 13:23
Wanted: A601 1MB Trapdoor Expansion Solid Snake MarketPlace 7 06 January 2012 19:38
FS: 1MB Ramextension A601 for Amiga 600 Ex-Collector MarketPlace 2 19 September 2009 01:57
A601 Value? Fingerlickin_B MarketPlace 7 07 May 2008 18:39
FS: Commodore A601 for Amiga 600 Fingerlickin_B MarketPlace 0 07 May 2008 11:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07029 seconds with 15 queries