English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 May 2010, 10:22   #1
Ravenhook
 
Posts: n/a
Saving your Game Position

I am probably posting this question in completely the wrong place and if so I apologise and hope a kind moderator will move it to its correct location.
I have bought an Amiga A1200 and would like to know how you save a game position like you do in a pc.
For instance, the wife likes Super Frog, comes to the end of the day she switches off and has to start from scratch the next day...can you save, if so how, I would need a step by step guide as I am thick where it comes to these machines.
Many thanks for your patience.
 
Old 26 May 2010, 10:30   #2
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 33
Posts: 11,061
Unless there's a save option you can't save it. However in Superfrog, you do get passwords, which you can obtain via the fruit machine subgame.

You'll find that a lot of games don't have save options - most sports, management, strategy and RPGs do but a lot of others won't. A lot have passwords like Superfrog but there are also loads of games that have no passwords or anything like that at all.
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 26 May 2010, 11:30   #3
Ravenhook
 
Posts: n/a
Oh no...I'm doomed, I have bought a game I liked a long time ago called McDonalds land, my old copy was faulty but I remember trying to save my position then without much success, I suppose I'll have to leave it on all night.
 
Old 26 May 2010, 12:03   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,908
Action Replay cartridges can be used to save game state but it isn't 100% reliable.

EDIT: Oops, A1200 is not AR compatible, needs an A500.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 26 May 2010, 14:06   #5
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 24,024
WinUAE has savestates...
/me tries to hide before the mob shows up
TCD is offline  
Old 26 May 2010, 14:23   #6
Ravenhook
 
Posts: n/a
I've used winuae on my pc before...can you use it on an Amiga to save a games position that you are playing..?
 
Old 26 May 2010, 14:30   #7
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 24,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ravenhook View Post
can you use it on an Amiga to save a games position that you are playing..?
Er... no. Guess there is an UAE port for 'beefed up' AmigaOSes. Not sure if it supports savestates though. Just mentioned it, since that is one of the key features of WinUAE compared to a real Amiga. Using an emulator on the same HW it runs on is a tad strange, isn't it?
TCD is offline  
Old 26 May 2010, 14:49   #8
lilalurl
Global Moderator
lilalurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Age: 41
Posts: 3,172
Send a message via ICQ to lilalurl
Of course, in the case of Superfrog for your wife, you can simply use the level codes that are in HOL (instead of having to manage or not to get them in the gambling machine):
http://hol.abime.net/2223/cheatcode

They probably won't reflect exactly the position your wife left the game (beginning of level, not exact number of lives etc...) but at least it will prevent from starting from the beginning until she feels comfortable enough with each level to the point to do a full playthrough.
lilalurl is offline  
Old 26 May 2010, 22:34   #9
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 4,198
Some JST implemented a savestate feature on actual Amiga (no emulator). However this was too unstable and required absolute memory allocation (and extra work in the JST slave to make it work, it was game-specific)

Desert Strike and some others benefit from that.

Well, JST is long gone now
jotd is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Saving a game super10 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 27 February 2008 01:37
Saving position ? Another World support.Games 1 28 April 2007 00:32
HELP! Darn saved states / saving in game matth3w support.WinUAE 7 20 May 2006 16:54
Saving my speedball2 game hardtofin support.WinUAE 9 23 April 2004 16:27
saving game states? Unregistered support.WinUAE 2 11 May 2001 18:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07145 seconds with 13 queries