English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.ClassicWB

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 March 2007, 13:12   #1
Mike UK
Motorollin
Mike UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Huddersfield UK
Age: 39
Posts: 232
Noob to classic WB (Wallpaper/CF)

Hiya all just installed classic workbench full and its working great!
makes things a lot easier to use
Just wondering in the scalos (workbench) window is there a way to change the wallpaper or is the only way through scalos and pattern? also whats the best format to use tried JPG`s and they look fairley grainey even with a fair amount of colors)

Also got a compact flash adaptor coming in post is classicwb already set up for those things?

Cheers

Mike
Mike UK is offline  
Old 04 March 2007, 13:46   #2
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 42
Posts: 1,335
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
Last time I checked it was not there, but installing compact flash drivers is not so difficult. Just get & install fat95 and cfd from aminet. Place the cf0 in your devs:dosdrivers or somewhere else as you desire and that's it. If you have fat95 in your L: and compactflash.device in devs: it's already installed.
coze is offline  
Old 04 March 2007, 13:59   #3
Mike UK
Motorollin
Mike UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Huddersfield UK
Age: 39
Posts: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by coze
Last time I checked it was not there, but installing compact flash drivers is not so difficult. Just get & install fat95 and cfd from aminet. Place the cf0 in your devs:dosdrivers or somewhere else as you desire and that's it. If you have fat95 in your L: and compactflash.device in devs: it's already installed.
That was easier than i thought can read fat format disks now
so its a case of turn amiga off put card in turn amiga on and it will show up as a disk drive?

Cheers

Mike
Mike UK is offline  
Old 04 March 2007, 14:08   #4
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 42
Posts: 1,335
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
No, it's even better than that you don't have to turn the amiga off, you can just hotswap
coze is offline  
Old 04 March 2007, 16:45   #5
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
I just love amigas!
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 04 March 2007, 16:47   #6
Mike UK
Motorollin
Mike UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Huddersfield UK
Age: 39
Posts: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0
I just love amigas!
Its taking time to get used to it
used to stupidly complex install scripts for windows workstations its never as easy as that with a windows install lol

oh btw you posted that ram yet? lol

Mike
Mike UK is offline  
Old 04 March 2007, 18:54   #7
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
yepo... should be with you monday / tuesday
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 04 March 2007, 20:09   #8
Mike UK
Motorollin
Mike UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Huddersfield UK
Age: 39
Posts: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0
yepo... should be with you monday / tuesday
Nice one ..still trying to figure out why just installing classic wb has fixed the problem lol

Cheers

Mike
Mike UK is offline  
Old 05 March 2007, 15:48   #9
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Hi Mike, about the wallpaper. You only change it via Scalos Pattern prefs, NOT Workbench Pattern prefs which should have nothing selected.

JPEGS will look grainy due to dithering on the limited colour display mode. Any file used for background wallpaper should be sized and colour optimised to match your Workbench screenmode requirements for best results. PNG files are nice as they're not compressed - just make sure you map them to a lower number of colours (remember newicons need some free colours to display properly as well).

It's a juggling act when you only have a max of 256 to work with.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 05 March 2007, 16:09   #10
Mike UK
Motorollin
Mike UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Huddersfield UK
Age: 39
Posts: 232
Tried with a few backgrounds and they either display very badly or not at all ..dont suppose anyones got any good backgrounds they want to share?

btw cheers bloodwych classic wb has saved me a heck of a lot of time and fixed a problem i thought i was going to have to start replacing hardware for
Cheers

Mike
Mike UK is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Classic Gaming Wallpaper Djay Retrogaming General Discussion 2 24 July 2013 22:19
Another desktop wallpaper Dunny Amiga scene 3 18 October 2010 22:05
wallpaper zambot3 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 2 09 February 2008 15:20
A wallpaper from me too! Akira project.EAB 23 24 October 2002 16:13
A wallpaper from me oldpx Retrogaming General Discussion 36 19 September 2002 20:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07471 seconds with 15 queries