English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 January 2007, 19:51   #1
Rochabian
The Big White Cat

Rochabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: France
Age: 41
Posts: 628
Question Renaming DF0: to DF1: at boot

Hi!!!
I'm running CD32+SX32 and i want to reassign my external DF0: to DF1: in the startup-sequence, then mount a virtual floppy drive as DF0: to use adf,dms or ipf image to run adf games (that's why it needs to be DF0: )

How can i rename a device in the startup (and let it available to be mounted....)
Thanks!!!
Rochabian is offline  
Old 23 January 2007, 21:01   #2
Rochabian
The Big White Cat

Rochabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: France
Age: 41
Posts: 628
I assume it's surely a newbie question but it's been a loooonnng time i've used Amiga OS....
Please help me
Rochabian is offline  
Old 23 January 2007, 21:12   #3
Coagulus
Gets there in the end...

Coagulus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 681
The old Two mouse buttons at reboot doesn't help does it?
Coagulus is offline  
Old 23 January 2007, 21:22   #4
Rochabian
The Big White Cat

Rochabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: France
Age: 41
Posts: 628
No, because the drive is always shown as DF0:
Whenever it switch the jumper on the drive to be DF1:, for the SX32 its's DF0:..........

(For info, my drive is Sony MPF520-1)
Rochabian is offline  
Old 23 January 2007, 23:17   #5
ganralf
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 97
You need two mountlists.
One to mount df0 as df1:
Code:
Device = trackdisk.device
Unit = 0
Flags = 0
FileSystem = L:FastFileSystem
Surfaces = 2
BlocksPerTrack = 11
Reserved = 2
LowCyl = 0; HighCyl = 79
Mask = 0x1FFFFF
GlobVec = -1
Buffers = 30
BufMemType = 3
Mount = 1
Save it as a file called df1.

An mountlist to mount a virtual floppy as df0 (using fmsdisk here):
Code:
Device = fmsdisk.device
Unit = 0
Flags = 1
Surfaces= 2
BlocksPerTrack = 11
Reserved = 2
Interleave = 0
LowCyl = 0; HighCyl= 79
Buffers = 2
BufMemType = 0
Save it as file called df0.

You can then unmount df0 and mount the others with:
Code:
assign df0: dismount
mount <path>df0
mount <path>df1
In the end you would like to put the files df0 and df1 in devs:dosdrivers and put the assign command into the startup-sequence above the mount command.
ganralf is offline  
Old 24 January 2007, 07:23   #6
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,839
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rochabian
Hi!!!
I'm running CD32+SX32 and i want to reassign my external DF0: to DF1: in the startup-sequence, then mount a virtual floppy drive as DF0: to use adf,dms or ipf image to run adf games (that's why it needs to be DF0: )
So these are ADF games that are OS friendly yet hit DF0? This sounds an awful lot like an idea that sounds good but will not actually work.

Can you name a couple of those games you're going to run with this method?

I think you ought to look at WHDLoad for better results.
Jope is offline  
Old 24 January 2007, 07:24   #7
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,839
Quote:
Originally Posted by ganralf
You can then unmount df0 and mount the others with:
Code:
assign df0: dismount
mount <path>df0
mount <path>df1
No need for a path in the mount command. Just stick the dosdrivers in sys:storage/dosdrivers.

Then you can directly mount them from the shell with mount df0: and mount df1:, no need to CD anywhere either.
Jope is offline  
Old 24 January 2007, 14:36   #8
Rochabian
The Big White Cat

Rochabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: France
Age: 41
Posts: 628
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope
So these are ADF games that are OS friendly yet hit DF0? This sounds an awful lot like an idea that sounds good but will not actually work.

Can you name a couple of those games you're going to run with this method?

I think you ought to look at WHDLoad for better results.
It's not just for games that i want to do that, but programs, etc
I want to store my progs/games as ADF because i think it's safer than real floppies in time.....
I use WHDLOAD for quite all games,and it's great, i just don't want to have a tower of floppies in my room

I will try the method described and tell you the result....
Thanks....
Rochabian is offline  
Old 27 January 2007, 13:54   #9
Rochabian
The Big White Cat

Rochabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: France
Age: 41
Posts: 628
So it works, but i cant' use IPF image and i can't use non-dos ADF with this system...........
So it's quite useless in fact........
Rochabian is offline  
Old 27 January 2007, 19:28   #10
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,839
Ok, so it was as I feared.

Oh well, whdload for the win!
Jope is offline  
Old 29 January 2007, 16:21   #11
alewis
Monochrome and 8 bit

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Underbarrow, Gods Country
Age: 53
Posts: 598
The only thing I can think of is a hardware mod based on some hardware adaptors that were around donkeys years ago for changing the floppy ID of various drives. Examples

AddXtra Boot Selector, ICD ShuffleBoard, or the ALF SWB-M-BT

Whether the Amiga will understand, at a hardware and OS level, that it doesn't have a df0: and then mount a virtual device as df0: is another matter...
alewis is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Swapping DF0 and DF1 on A600? CrazyIcecap support.Hardware 41 07 October 2016 14:20
Df0: Df1: Muerto support.WinUAE 3 19 May 2007 00:46
DF0 + DF1 connection? Fingerlickin_B support.Hardware 2 14 March 2007 08:53
Making my External DF1: act as DF0: Smiley support.Hardware 39 12 April 2005 17:38
DF1: to DF0: Carlos Ace support.Games 4 27 May 2002 00:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08696 seconds with 13 queries