English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 December 2003, 20:17   #1
hardtofin
 
Posts: n/a
Saving my speedball2 game

Hi guys im new to WINuae. I finally got speedball2 worknig with a little help from the guys on here. my next problem is how do i make a save game? i tried "create standard floppy" and mounted it in DF1 but it didnt work
any help would be appreciated, thanks

hardtofin
 
Old 08 December 2003, 20:29   #2
abelthorne
Registered User
abelthorne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: France
Posts: 140
Have you tried to put your blank save disk in df0: instead of df1: ? Some games don't support more than one floppy drive.
abelthorne is offline  
Old 08 December 2003, 23:32   #3
hardtofin
 
Posts: n/a
but if i do that, then how do i boot the speedball rom? can that go in DF1?

also do i have to make a "standard" or "Custom" floppy?

thanks
hardtofin
 
Old 09 December 2003, 00:54   #4
vertigo
 
Posts: n/a
While in the game press F12, then this will allow you to exchange your game adf to your save adf, look in the floppies tab and you can do this to exchange your save disk with your program disk, now you can use one drive. Also, you format standard floppy.

vertigo
 
Old 09 December 2003, 20:16   #5
Titler
Zone Friend
Titler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 295
Just to add to what everyone is saying, you won't need to worry about changing the Speedball II adf file. Just let it load to the start up menu first, and from there you won't need the adf in DF0; you can insert and leave your created "blank floppy" in DF0. (The real Amiga/Discs worked like that too)
Titler is offline  
Old 09 December 2003, 23:43   #6
hardtofin
 
Posts: n/a
oh wicked! thanks guys, youve all been really helpful. Ive got it running a treat now. Seems like u can only create a save game on the first game of a season though? after that the button is blanked out. is that normal?
 
Old 09 December 2003, 23:59   #7
abelthorne
Registered User
abelthorne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: France
Posts: 140
I don't really remember, as I haven't played Speddball 2 seriously for years, but here is an extract from the documentation :

Quote:
SAVING AND LOADING GAME
Games can be saved or loaded only when you play League or Cup games. Be sure that you have a blank disk ready.
Click on SAV from the Manager screen. The screen displays "insert save game disk". Press fire to save or ESC to cancel. Any existing file will be deleted. You can save one League or one Cup per disk.

(sorry for any syntax error and typo, I translate from my french manual)


Maybe you have to use a new disk each time you want to save (although this would be really dumb ; I guess that the game is smart enough to replace any existing game) ?
abelthorne is offline  
Old 10 December 2003, 00:42   #8
hardtofin
 
Posts: n/a
i think its a quirk of the game. i seem to remember you couldnt save it every match. Maybe there is some speedball playing veteran out there who can clarify this for me?
 
Old 10 December 2003, 09:52   #9
Melroc
Junior Member
Melroc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: (void)
Age: 44
Posts: 91
Send a message via ICQ to Melroc
in case everything fails, use the savestate function of winuae
Melroc is offline  
Old 23 April 2004, 16:27   #10
Dastardly
Into the Wonderful

Dastardly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: England
Age: 45
Posts: 2,241
Speedball 2 lets you save after every 3 games.
Dastardly is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Saving your Game Position Ravenhook support.Games 8 26 May 2010 22:34
Saving a game super10 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 27 February 2008 01:37
Speedball2 problem Stephen support.Games 3 11 January 2005 03:47
Speedball2 :( Burt0n support.WinUAE 4 07 December 2003 12:23
saving game states? Unregistered support.WinUAE 2 11 May 2001 18:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08505 seconds with 13 queries