English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 November 2012, 13:47   #41
apachacha
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 158
I used the switch but yeah, nothing seems to have changed so far.

Could it be you.....have to use this on the first switch in the overworld ? But you can't go back out once you're in the dungeon.......
apachacha is offline  
Old 28 November 2012, 01:01   #42
robert
 
Posts: n/a
I have the same problem with those black bars, I couldn't find a way to break or pass through them. I think it is a bug from the game. I prefer Nicky Boom or Nicky 2 instead.

I can help to find the way to finnish the level if you agree.

BTW, I play the DOS version.

2nd BTW, I'm new in the forum!
 
Old 29 November 2012, 15:57   #43
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,545
welcome robert. one more helping hand
i agree with the option to go back to the first part of the level, but i still could not find more hidden parts. i also keep trying.
emufan is offline  
Old 29 November 2012, 16:15   #44
clenched
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Gainesville U.S.A.
Posts: 714
Add Atari ST to the list with the black bars, About all that could be discovered is the scrolling exposes a little more area and shows the gate opened by throwing switch. I wish there was a manual scan for this game to be sure the codes were entered right. It's hard to believe at least three versions are bugged.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SteemPic.PNG
Views:	182
Size:	24.4 KB
ID:	33287  
clenched is offline  
Old 30 November 2012, 11:12   #45
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,440
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
i have this game boxed in original with codes i guess i should do something here ?
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 30 November 2012, 23:33   #46
clenched
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Gainesville U.S.A.
Posts: 714
One thing that would help is to see if #79 is the correct answer on this screen. Any numbers will start the game in 3 tries or less but 79 starts it in one. A manual would be nice if it isn't too thick and troublesome to scan. Don't break apart any wheel or such for this purpose... it isn't worth it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Carlos_001.png
Views:	179
Size:	5.5 KB
ID:	33300  
clenched is offline  
Old 30 January 2013, 18:32   #47
apachacha
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 158
I'm amazed more people actualy got involved at some point !

And I agree about the manual, reminds me of that purposefully bugged version of Leander, except would this needlessly cruel bug be present in three different versions of the game ?
apachacha is offline  
Old 14 March 2014, 23:17   #48
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 40
Posts: 17,789
At least Atari ST version should be without any bugs as someone made longplay yesterday [ Show youtube player ]
s2325 is offline  
Old 26 March 2014, 17:27   #49
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 32
Posts: 1,278
I was one of the unlucky chaps to have got this piece of crap - and I even tried playing it!

I seem to remember that even Level 1 was unplayable without glitching all the way thru the level's ending door... Maybe it was just me getting bored of going thru hoops just to finish Level 1.

Anyway, I can clearly remember both the unreachable lever and the black bars issue, I thought I was missing something, but it seems now like the game is just bugged

I guess I should replay it someday... Only to get stuck at the same point as always. Ugh.
jbenam is offline  
Old 24 April 2015, 19:01   #50
apachacha
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbenam View Post
I was one of the unlucky chaps to have got this piece of crap - and I even tried playing it!

I seem to remember that even Level 1 was unplayable without glitching all the way thru the level's ending door... Maybe it was just me getting bored of going thru hoops just to finish Level 1.

Anyway, I can clearly remember both the unreachable lever and the black bars issue, I thought I was missing something, but it seems now like the game is just bugged

I guess I should replay it someday... Only to get stuck at the same point as always. Ugh.
Huh so it wasn't just me.

And I looked at that "longplay" only to find out it doesn't even seem to finish the first level.
apachacha is offline  
Old 24 April 2015, 21:32   #51
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,440
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
There is a possibility that this is a bad crack. Look at Nicky Boom, when Stingray reworked the slave, he has cornered checksums in the protection. Since it's the same engine, maybe it would be good to check it deeper.....
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 24 April 2015, 23:19   #52
clenched
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Gainesville U.S.A.
Posts: 714
There are three sets of those black bars to pass. I wound up dealing with it by just hacking the map.
Change these bytes from $19191919 to $1A1A1A1A to affect bars right to left.
$912A9
$911E1
$9101F
File A20.CDG is responsible for this map. It is the same as the one on Atari disk too. It is possible to unpack this file, change map, repack and the change be permanent on Atari and Amiga.
There is an altered savestate made from SPS disk Zoned at the first bar to try. I don't remember if all puzzle pieces need to be collected before going through the stairway.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CarlosBarrier.png
Views:	163
Size:	17.6 KB
ID:	44063  
clenched is offline  
Old 24 April 2015, 23:28   #53
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,440
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Clenched, i think that if it is tied to the protection, the map tiledata (a longword), is modified in RAM, making the barrier as we see it on screen.

The problem is not to correct in the file A20.CDg, but inside the main code. There must be a routine or an instruction which fucks the map big time.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 25 April 2015, 00:02   #54
clenched
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Gainesville U.S.A.
Posts: 714
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
The problem is not to correct in the file A20.CDg
I agree. That is why only savestate was uploaded instead of A20. Just so op could see the rest of the level. Since it happens on three different kinds of computers, I'm still not sure it is a bug or we are all doing something wrong.
clenched is offline  
Old 29 April 2015, 20:36   #55
clenched
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Gainesville U.S.A.
Posts: 714
From 1st post:
Quote:
Originally Posted by apachacha View Post
The first image is from the begining of level 2. There's a switch in the upper floor. Now it's already pressed and I can't seem to get to it. There is a high jump item on the top left of the above area but it wears off long before you get to this section.
The cheat published on HOL makes no mention of it but when the ENIRD code is entered pressing R will give the high jump powerup.Backspace to advance level. Now with high jump the switch is just out of Carlos' reach but within easy reach of the bird. No effect observed when bird hits switch.
All out of ideas.
clenched is offline  
Old 29 April 2015, 21:27   #56
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,440
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
we should ask Stingray to get a look in the engine.....
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 30 April 2015, 01:18   #57
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 32
Posts: 1,278
Maybe we're all over thinking it....

What if the game was rushed as they knew that it was crap and they didn't even care to properly bug-test and debug it before putting it on sale?

Jokes aside, this thread interests me greatly This game for me is one of those unfinished "things" that haunt you from your childhood

Is there an IPF of Carlos available to check if this is a protection issue or not?
jbenam is offline  
Old 30 April 2015, 01:54   #58
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,440
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
an ADF you mean ? IPF from SPS are not allowed to be zoned or posted.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 30 April 2015, 02:10   #59
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 7,618
Its bugged. Copy protection is utterly useless, i've looked for checksums and so far nothing is apparent.

I've just played this piece of shit, and one part of the level I could get through before, I now can't, because the collision detection is fucking appalling.

I can bypass the protection by giving it the correct answer, and the bugs still occur.

It might be something simple like a missing blit wait for blitting the map blocks.

I got the disk image from WHDDownload from the Carlos install as CFOU imaged the original, so I just used that image.

Protection is a joke. I also checked out the TRSI-Zenith crack, and they cracked it properly by ensuring a certain bit in memory was set.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 30 April 2015, 04:22   #60
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,440
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
ok So patching the data file is the way to go then.....
dlfrsilver is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with Magic Pockets - Bad Crack? hipoonios support.Games 81 30 May 2020 21:14
Carlos (1994) apachacha support.Games 0 10 November 2012 15:47
LucasArts Collection (1994/95) MethodGit request.Old Rare Games 0 16 September 2012 12:21
Wanted: Quarterback 2.5 (1994) gulliver request.Apps 7 28 April 2011 11:31
Bad MCP, BAD! Akira support.Apps 14 22 August 2003 16:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10055 seconds with 16 queries