English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 July 2019, 18:09   #1
b0lt-thrower
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: US
Posts: 76
Given this info, is it possible to port Diablo to the Amiga?

[ Show youtube player ]

Essentially, there's enough debug code on the Diablo (PC version) CD-ROM that a single coder reconstructed the code to run on just about anything, and the video's creator ported it to the Nintendo Switch in a single evening.

Just curious - I am not a coder!
b0lt-thrower is offline  
Old 01 July 2019, 18:11   #2
kamelito
Zone Friend
kamelito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 983
Well only doing the disassembly would cost more. After it is x86 code and the Switch is ARM...
kamelito is offline  
Old 01 July 2019, 19:29   #3
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 14,586
Funny you should mention this, there's a thread from 2 weeks ago about just that: Diablo demo conversion for Amiga!!!
DamienD is offline  
Old 01 July 2019, 23:09   #4
b0lt-thrower
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: US
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Funny you should mention this, there's a thread from 2 weeks ago about just that: Diablo demo conversion for Amiga!!!
Most excellent! I've followed up in that thread.
b0lt-thrower is offline  
Old 02 July 2019, 09:45   #5
Marlon_
AmigaDev.com

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 30
Posts: 584
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Funny you should mention this, there's a thread from 2 weeks ago about just that: Diablo demo conversion for Amiga!!!


That thread was not about this though.

This would either require SDL2 to be ported to AmigaOS 3.x or DevilutionX to be backported to SDL1.2. Either way as it’s written now it requires OpenGL...
Marlon_ is offline  
Old 02 July 2019, 17:54   #6
saimon69
J.M.D - Bedroom Musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 1,042
Am honest: even though i would love Diablo on Amiga i deduce that a 1:1 port would be tough for a machine that has less than a 030, lots of stuff happening: real time turn based, bunch of monsters, 256 colors hi-res, dynamic lighting and wall transparency;

however we might follow some of the footprints and create a similar game optimized for the platform, but definitely will not be a short task
saimon69 is offline  
Old 02 July 2019, 19:06   #7
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ft. Collins, CO USA
Age: 44
Posts: 1,266
Send a message via Yahoo to Samurai_Crow
Quote:
Originally Posted by saimon69 View Post
Am honest: even though i would love Diablo on Amiga i deduce that a 1:1 port would be tough for a machine that has less than a 030, lots of stuff happening: real time turn based, bunch of monsters, 256 colors hi-res, dynamic lighting and wall transparency;

however we might follow some of the footprints and create a similar game optimized for the platform, but definitely will not be a short task
Agreed. An 030 and Fast RAM would be the minimum. AGA wouldn't hurt either (mainly for huge sprites).
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 03 July 2019, 14:57   #8
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel
gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 38
Posts: 3,345
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0lt-thrower View Post
[url]and the video's creator ported it to the Nintendo Switch in a single evening.
A few evenings because the dude had to patch in controller based movement rather than mouse based movement, but it's still damned impressive.

But let's face it, the original PC specs were a Pentium 60 and the Playstation port had to be tuned down to make it run at a decent speed...
gimbal is offline  
Old 03 July 2019, 15:19   #9
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 1,276
A guy named Notaz wrote a PC -> ARM reverse engineering tool for this specific game, and then ported it to the OpenPandora.

Would be nice to see if it could be done for the Miggy indeed.
Dunny is offline  
Old 03 July 2019, 18:28   #10
captain_zzap
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Space
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by gimbal View Post
But let's face it, the original PC specs were a Pentium 60 and the Playstation port had to be tuned down to make it run at a decent speed...
Was speed on the PlayStation port really a Problem? I would have guessed that memory was the bigger problem.
captain_zzap is offline  
Old 03 July 2019, 21:16   #11
Overmann
Banned

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 179
The mac version had a PowerPC 601 as requirement. Which did not perform significantly better then the 040 (although on the Mac they had much higher clock speeds, so the upgrades were good) and should perform worse then an 060.
Looking at the benchmarks of the 601 I think a fast 040 should probably run it and an 060 should be able to handle Diablo fine on an AGA or RTG system (with properly optimized code).

By all accounts the 060 running at 50mhz is a more powerful/faster CPU then a pentium 60.
Overmann is offline  
Old 03 July 2019, 23:40   #12
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,243
Diablo does not run particularly well on a Pentium 60 though, Blizzard recommended a Pentium 90. That said, a 68060 version would be interesting to see. Though I expect it's a game better suited to RTG than AGA.
roondar is offline  
Old 04 July 2019, 00:06   #13
Overmann
Banned

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by roondar View Post
Diablo does not run particularly well on a Pentium 60 though, Blizzard recommended a Pentium 90. That said, a 68060 version would be interesting to see. Though I expect it's a game better suited to RTG than AGA.

I can imagine that to be true. The slowest machine I've ever played it on was a P90 and it ran perfectly. The P90 probably has a bit of an edge on the 060, but with some inventive use of the MMU for graphics routines I don't see why some inventive and motivated coders can't work it out

It is sure to be a huge task though.. I don't know who would take it upon themselves to do it, but I sure hope someone does
Overmann is offline  
Old 06 July 2019, 20:04   #14
b0lt-thrower
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: US
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by Overmann View Post
I can imagine that to be true. The slowest machine I've ever played it on was a P90 and it ran perfectly. The P90 probably has a bit of an edge on the 060, but with some inventive use of the MMU for graphics routines I don't see why some inventive and motivated coders can't work it out

It is sure to be a huge task though.. I don't know who would take it upon themselves to do it, but I sure hope someone does
Me too, man. I mean, I'm in no way a coder (in any real sense) it would sure be nice if someone took a crack at this though.
b0lt-thrower is offline  
Old 06 July 2019, 22:43   #15
ExiE
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: T/C
Posts: 121
Looks like Vampire would be perfect match
ExiE is offline  
Old 07 July 2019, 04:54   #16
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 43
Posts: 3,487
Diablo is an incredible game,
but the chalenge will be high.
Higher than the port i asked if it was possible,
the port i thought about was ufo 2 terror from the deep, it was a sdl
version, easier to port, but nobody pick it.
But perhaps diablo is more attractive.
ps: openxcom https://github.com/OpenXcom/OpenXcom sdl-opensource and can play xcom 1 and 2 (terror from the deep never released on the amiga) !!
turrican3 is offline  
Old 08 July 2019, 09:48   #17
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel
gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 38
Posts: 3,345
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain_zzap View Post
Was speed on the PlayStation port really a Problem? I would have guessed that memory was the bigger problem.
Fair enough, that sounds very likely. I don't know the exact details of what the limitations were.
gimbal is offline  
Old 15 July 2019, 18:26   #18
Marlon_
AmigaDev.com

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 30
Posts: 584
Arczi, Klaus and I are currently working on OS3.x port:
Marlon_ is offline  
Old 15 July 2019, 18:30   #19
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 14,586
Good stuff indeed, hope you guys succeed
DamienD is offline  
Old 15 July 2019, 22:36   #20
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 879
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marlon_ View Post
Arczi, Klaus and I are currently working on OS3.x port:
What is you target system?
utri007 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Diablo demo conversion for Amiga!!! ecalius Coders. AMOS 15 03 July 2019 03:35
sys info lazy port? vertigo support.Other 0 25 May 2015 20:23
Diablo 1 like game for Amiga? diablothe2nd Amiga scene 6 24 May 2014 23:51
OT: X-Box and Diablo x lucadip Retrogaming General Discussion 28 18 September 2008 19:15
A2000 Comp.Z Tower: info on floppy port mod... keropi support.Hardware 14 17 May 2007 21:40

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08649 seconds with 13 queries