English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.UAE Wishlist

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 September 2008, 16:57   #1
Another World
 
Posts: n/a
Automatic Savestates

It coul be VERY useful to have a keyboard combination
to automatically do a savestate, as the same way as screenshots

Something like this:
i press CTRL+END+S and a savestate "image name"+_001+".uss"
is automatically writed to disk in the savestates directory

What do you think ?
 
Old 02 September 2008, 17:00   #2
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,036
Now that you mentioned it, I'd prefer an easly configurable quick key.
Like on ZSNES, when I press R2 on me PS1 joypad I quick-save, and L2 is for quick-load.
Shoonay is online now  
Old 02 September 2008, 17:01   #3
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Belgarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,402
Already has shortcuts for savestates

Shift+End+numpad 0 for slot 0
1 for slot 1 etc etc.
Belgarath is offline  
Old 02 September 2008, 19:02   #4
OddbOd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 42
Posts: 663
@5h00n4y: There are two types of Save State and Restore State input assignments (quick and normal) available in the Input configuration panel isn't that enough?
OddbOd is offline  
Old 02 September 2008, 19:28   #5
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raking Woods...
Age: 47
Posts: 2,625
Quote:
Originally Posted by OddbOd View Post
@5h00n4y: There are two types of Save State and Restore State input assignments (quick and normal) available in the Input configuration panel isn't that enough?
IIRC quick state will always overwrite last normal save state. That's good to remember if you plan to assign controller button for it.
Anubis is offline  
Old 02 September 2008, 20:13   #6
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,036
Quote:
Originally Posted by OddbOd View Post
@5h00n4y: There are two types of Save State and Restore State input assignments (quick and normal) available in the Input configuration panel isn't that enough?
there are? damn, there are! lol, sorry then, i wasn't aware of that.
it's that i didn't really check what's winuae capable, as i still prefer me real amy, but, some games are just to hard...
Shoonay is online now  
Old 03 September 2008, 00:11   #7
rmcin329
NOOB
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Lost in a sea of madness.....
Age: 34
Posts: 217
Send a message via ICQ to rmcin329 Send a message via AIM to rmcin329 Send a message via Yahoo to rmcin329
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5h00n4y View Post
there are? damn, there are! lol, sorry then, i wasn't aware of that.
it's that i didn't really check what's winuae capable, as i still prefer me real amy, but, some games are just to hard...
haha yeah i know what you mean, Shadow of the Beast comes to mind, upon hearing you say that.
rmcin329 is offline  
Old 17 January 2009, 19:41   #8
Predabot
Registered User
Predabot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Swedun'
Posts: 397
Holy...!

WinUAE can ACTUALLY do this?? I've been wondering about this for months! Ever since a mater turned me on to Amiga and WINUAE, I've been wondering about this.

Like, in Kega Fusion, Zsnes and Mame save-states are all easily split-second accessible trough quick-keys, but in WINUAE I could only find it in the Input Config panel, by having to press F12 and then going into the right menu.

So there's actually a key-combo eh? But why is it **THREE** keys? Does it have something to do with keyboard emulation in WINUAE or something? Is it possible to change the combo, and set it to a specific key or keys?

Likey Shooney said... it would be really nice to be able to map it to your gamepad, so you just press a single button to save, and then another to load. Very fast, very comfortable, very organic.

Is it possible?

Also, I've been looking trough the documentation for this key-combo for some time, but I never found it, where does it say WINUAE can do this? Since I guess it's a pretty requested thing, maybe it can be made more clearer for newbies like me?
Predabot is offline  
Old 17 January 2009, 19:44   #9
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,645
You can map the save states to another key or a joybutton. Check Input --> Configuration#1.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 17 January 2009, 19:46   #10
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 24,012
Hi Predabot,

you can use the Input window to configure buttons on your joystick/pad to quicksave and load Have a look at this picture :



The Input panel is very powerful once you know how it works
TCD is offline  
Old 17 January 2009, 19:50   #11
Predabot
Registered User
Predabot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Swedun'
Posts: 397
Ooooh... ME LIKE! This will DEFINITELY make my life easier. Now I don't have to break up the gameplay when I have to reload 'cause I die.

Cheers for the info, mates!

Last edited by Predabot; 17 January 2009 at 19:59.
Predabot is offline  
Old 17 January 2009, 19:52   #12
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,645
And you can i.e. map Joy1/Joy2 Up to joypad buttons. Play Turrican like a console game, hehe.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 17 January 2009, 19:55   #13
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 24,012
Not to forget the very nice 'surround and autofire at the same time' trick for Turrican I love the Input window
TCD is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SaveStates Retro1234 support.WinUAE 3 11 July 2019 23:03
Can savestates break a game? nsd support.WinUAE 7 07 December 2010 09:03
Savestates and hard files Sigma support.WinUAE 6 21 June 2009 11:26
autostart savestates: how to? moagt support.WinUAE 2 30 June 2008 22:07
REQ: Automatic resolution change ; automatic resolution detection Borg_Number_One request.UAE Wishlist 3 21 August 2004 14:16

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07516 seconds with 13 queries