English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 January 2015, 20:42   #1
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,025
What other ways can I find these elusive Commodore monitors?

EDIT: FOUND!

Original thread:

Hi, aside from Amibay, eBay, or Craigslist - where for the life of me I can't find any of these Commodore 1902A or 1084*-** monitors listed for the past month or two - does anyone have any advice on where to find one of them in the USA?

List of monitors:
http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?p=663100

Thanks!

Last edited by Starglider 2; 02 March 2015 at 18:45.
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 19 January 2015, 23:25   #2
Michael Sykes
WinUAE end user

Michael Sykes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Bremen
Age: 39
Posts: 640
Sorry at the moment they are out of stock but some of those monitors tend to pop up on recycledgoods from time to time for good prices imho.
http://www.recycledgoods.com/catalog...t/?q=Commodore

And it looks like they are closer than you think.

Company Info
Store_Location
3820 N. Ventura Ave.
Ventura, CA 93001

In fact I got a bunch of cool stuff from an electronics recycling yard here in Bremen.
You could look for one in your city. People seem to throw away real treasures.
Not just retro stuff.
Michael Sykes is offline  
Old 19 January 2015, 23:30   #3
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,025
Thanks for the tip, Sykes! Any relation to Star Wars' Gavyn Sykes?
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 20 January 2015, 00:01   #4
Michael Sykes
WinUAE end user

Michael Sykes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Bremen
Age: 39
Posts: 640
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starglider 2 View Post
Thanks for the tip, Sykes! Any relation to Star Wars' Gavyn Sykes?
None that I'm aware of.
It's just a character from the original Crysis PC game.
Maybe the writer of the script was a SW fan. Who knows.

I'm a proud fan of TOS,TNG and DS9. But under no circumstances Enterprise and Voyager!^^
And I have made my way through all episodes of Red Dwarf.(finest british trash)
So I can't even remember the name Gavyn Sykes from any of the 6 Starwars movies I'v been 'forced' to watch by my sick(fanboyism) friends.To make it short I lost a bet.

To use Mr. Spocks words: A fascinating experience Sir....
Michael Sykes is offline  
Old 20 January 2015, 00:44   #5
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,025
I'm a Brit and love Red Dwarf. They filmed a new series recently
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 20 January 2015, 02:07   #6
Michael Sykes
WinUAE end user

Michael Sykes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Bremen
Age: 39
Posts: 640
Noboby seems to know it here in germany. But it would suffer a lot from the (bad german tv)translation anyway.
I guess it's much like the old monty python movies.You can not tranlate any aspect of the british humor properly into any other language. Thanks to the great invention known as "the internet" I became not only aware of it but was able to watch it just a few minutes later.

BTW what to you mean with recently, Red Dwarf X from 2012?
I'm not aware of any later episodes or a movie.
Did they ever reveal how Rimmer survived without interrupting the damn sentence?
Michael Sykes is offline  
Old 20 January 2015, 02:14   #7
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,025
A new series is airing in late 2015 🙌
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 20 January 2015, 03:41   #8
Michael Sykes
WinUAE end user

Michael Sykes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Bremen
Age: 39
Posts: 640
What?
Thanks for the hint. Now that you mentioned it, I think I'v read about it some time ago.
I hope I don't forget it again. Still a long time 'til the end of the year...
Michael Sykes is offline  
Old 20 January 2015, 03:54   #9
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,704
i have 4 of them.. shipping is a killer though
kipper2k is offline  
Old 20 January 2015, 08:23   #10
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,025
If you mean price, I'm open to seeing what you could do. Photos would be wonderful, including the connections on the back. Yours excitedly...
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 20 January 2015, 15:16   #11
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,704
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starglider 2 View Post
If you mean price, I'm open to seeing what you could do. Photos would be wonderful, including the connections on the back. Yours excitedly...
Needless to say they are under my storage bench, i'll drag them out and test them... the wife loves me doing all my testing on the dining room table

edit; i will probably need to find schematics for the cables, i think there are a few different connector types

Last edited by kipper2k; 20 January 2015 at 15:25.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 23 January 2015, 07:25   #12
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,025
Please tell your wife it's all my fault, not yours
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 08 February 2015, 00:27   #13
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,025
Sorry to bother you, just wondering if you've had any luck photographing the monitors?
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 08 February 2015, 16:16   #14
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
I have a 1084-D1, I brought it aaaaall the way form Europe. I don't think there's another way. I am glad I moved all my Amiga and Commodore stuff when I moved to MA because they are either impossible to find in the US (unless you want NTSC stuff) and/or super, super expensive.

If you can bag one in Europe maybe you can find a slow courier that can transport it by sea, for "cheap", over there.
Akira is offline  
Old 09 February 2015, 13:24   #15
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,025
Does it work on the 110v US power supply though? Presumably the European models are 240v
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 09 February 2015, 13:45   #16
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starglider 2 View Post
Does it work on the 110v US power supply though? Presumably the European models are 240v

no they dont as far as i know.akira is probably using a stepup transformer.

akira will most likely tell you this himself.
roy bates is offline  
Old 10 February 2015, 15:11   #17
Nekoniaow
Banned

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Montreal
Posts: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
i have 4 of them.. shipping is a killer though
I have three at the moment but I plan to keep only one or two in the mid term (switchers are easy to make) but shipping is indeed a killer. I wish there was a "by horse cart" slow but cheap shipping option.
(Yes, I know it would actually cost more to use horses. )
Nekoniaow is offline  
Old 10 February 2015, 16:38   #18
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,025
Which do you have available to sell and how much to ship one to California? PM me.
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 11 February 2015, 01:27   #19
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starglider 2 View Post
Does it work on the 110v US power supply though? Presumably the European models are 240v
Yes, as roy says, I have a heavy duty (300W) step up converter to use it. People said it might give me trouble with the 50/60Hz signal but it didn't. It works great! > http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=985439&postcount=16
Akira is offline  
Old 12 February 2015, 00:56   #20
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,025
Cool. How much do they cost at best?
Starglider 2 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 X Aver v193W LCD monitors VGA Monitors kurtisebear MarketPlace 0 08 November 2013 12:48
captain blood titlescreen music, elusive oneshotdead request.Modules 9 27 March 2013 10:46
The search for that elusive last Amiga game alkis21 Retrogaming General Discussion 22 22 September 2012 18:46
Possibly an elusive mod from yesteryear... Echo Nostalgia & memories 2 27 January 2010 12:50
Finding a new mains switch for philips/commodore monitors Chain support.Hardware 2 15 March 2009 12:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.78572 seconds with 15 queries