English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 November 2016, 14:01   #1
Nostromo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The World!
Posts: 422
Weird A1200 issue

I never played games on my A1200 from floppy drive before so I thought I'd have a go.... and I'm having issues.

I can write .adfs to floppy correctly and without issues but once I try to play them, they always boot the cracktro fine, but when I click mouse to continue the game ALWAYS gurus, tried 4-5 games (all AGA/AGA compatible).
If I write something like Workbench to floppy disk it works fine. The floppy drive I am using was bought from AmigaStore.

Any ideas?
Nostromo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 November 2016, 14:33   #2
even
 
Posts: n/a
Do you have more details? What's your setup (PAL/NTSC, accelerator, software used to write disks)?
 
Old 07 November 2016, 14:41   #3
Nostromo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The World!
Posts: 422
PAL A1200 - no accelerator, files written with TSGUI (with verify and no errors reported).
Also, originally the motherboard had a hardware patch to make it compatible with a certain PC floppy drive (also had to be patched). The hardware patch has been removed and I am using an "Amiga" floppy drive from Amigastore.

Meanwhile I have tried the same floppy disks on a different motherboard but using the same floppy disk drive, and they all work fine.

Last edited by Nostromo; 07 November 2016 at 15:27.
Nostromo is offline  
Old 08 November 2016, 10:05   #4
foob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Gateshead
Posts: 80
I should preface this post by saying that i am by no means an expert here and my answer is derived entirely from pissing about with my gotek drive that came yesterday, in which i have set up externally with an a600 and encountered a similar issue (black scsreen not loading instead of guru). Basically, it was just the adfs themselves. I had to try multiple versions of a few (up to 4 in the case of magic damn pockets). i have collections of adfs from multiple sources and ultimately the ones with the highest success rate are all coming from the TOSEC collection i have.
foob is offline  
Old 08 November 2016, 12:47   #5
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,326
You probably need another wire patch to restore the original floppy compatibility to your Amiga.
idrougge is offline  
Old 08 November 2016, 12:59   #6
amigasith
Registered User

amigasith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Wild South / Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
You probably need another wire patch to restore the original floppy compatibility to your Amiga.
That's what I think, too The OP posted another thread about this issue here: http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=22082 See my reply there.
amigasith is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird Protracker issue. Akira support.Apps 8 07 February 2012 20:40
Weird A-Max / A1000 issue desiv support.Hardware 0 06 November 2011 06:35
Weird MaxTransfer issue Retroplay support.Hardware 2 11 May 2011 22:38
Weird WinUAE issue?! h0ffman Coders. General 4 07 December 2010 13:42
** Weird Screen Issue *** HELP!!! D4Ni3L3 support.Hardware 9 06 October 2009 13:21

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06117 seconds with 15 queries