English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.Amiga Game Factory

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 October 2013, 01:49   #1
Lord Riton
Registered User
Lord Riton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: France
Age: 46
Posts: 494
A or B ?

A1: Click image for larger version

Name:	041.png
Views:	321
Size:	89.9 KB
ID:	37095 B1: Click image for larger version

Name:	042.png
Views:	315
Size:	54.8 KB
ID:	37096

A2: Click image for larger version

Name:	043.png
Views:	305
Size:	96.7 KB
ID:	37097 B2: Click image for larger version

Name:	044.png
Views:	296
Size:	64.3 KB
ID:	37098

A = HAM8, but 3x1 pixels.
B = 256 colors
(both in 640x256)

Last edited by Lord Riton; 08 October 2013 at 01:55.
Lord Riton is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 08 October 2013, 08:09   #2
viddi
Moderator

viddi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 38
Posts: 3,471
A!
viddi is offline  
Old 08 October 2013, 09:01   #3
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,139
A aswell.
Codetapper is offline  
Old 08 October 2013, 09:35   #4
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
B.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 08 October 2013, 10:51   #5
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,602
On an LCD, A, but on a blurry CRT it might look similar.
demolition is offline  
Old 08 October 2013, 20:27   #6
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,299
A1 and B2.
prowler is offline  
Old 08 October 2013, 23:35   #7
Lord Riton
Registered User
Lord Riton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: France
Age: 46
Posts: 494
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
A1 and B2.
LOL, yes, true, but that's because the 256 color version has a lot of grey colors in them, and all grey colors between black and white is very well rendered so. But if you want diversity, a lot of different items, monsters, other textures.. i think it's better to use the HAM8 engine, wich i have decided to use now.

Also Ham8 mode is about 20% faster to draw, and takes 20% less memory (only 6 bits are used, because the 2 Ham8 control bits are always in the same order, and so don't need to be altered).

Trying to make some sort of graphical "roguelike" game with that engine, like "Dungeon's of Moria", "Angband", etc, but with turn based combat, like champions of Krynn for exemple, and with random generated levels
I'm not the fastest, so don't expect it to be done to fast
I'll surely make a thread on this forum when the game will be advanced enough, and when i got some demo to DL. It will be all free of course, no commercial project
Lord Riton is offline  
Old 09 October 2013, 16:38   #8
Leffmann
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,112
I like the HAM8 ones best.
Leffmann is offline  
Old 10 October 2013, 08:40   #9
demoniac
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: -
Posts: 1,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
A1 and B2.
Funny, I like A2 and B1.

The walls for A1 and B1 are different, is that how it is supposed to be?
demoniac is offline  
Old 10 October 2013, 11:46   #10
Lord Riton
Registered User
Lord Riton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: France
Age: 46
Posts: 494
Quote:
Originally Posted by demoniac View Post
Funny, I like A2 and B1.

The walls for A1 and B1 are different, is that how it is supposed to be?
You must be on a TV or a monitor whith some blur effect, to like B1 more than A1... interesting..

The walls are different because i didn't render the "brown" walls on the 256 color version, it was more to see the differences between grasses and skies.


Edit: I just rendered the stone wall, just for you

A3: Click image for larger version

Name:	046.png
Views:	211
Size:	92.1 KB
ID:	37137 B3: Click image for larger version

Name:	045.png
Views:	222
Size:	53.2 KB
ID:	37138

Edit2: and with scanelines display mode in WinUAE (closer to a real TV)

A3.2: Click image for larger version

Name:	048.png
Views:	210
Size:	90.8 KB
ID:	37139 B3.2: Click image for larger version

Name:	047.png
Views:	205
Size:	50.9 KB
ID:	37140

The textures aren't the final textures, they are just used to make the engine (i'm at doing the Object/monster part atm). Especially the sky will completly change, it should not be "cut" in squares like that.

Last edited by Lord Riton; 10 October 2013 at 12:47.
Lord Riton is offline  
Old 10 October 2013, 18:52   #11
Bluntman
Registered User

Bluntman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 13
The HAM ones look way better, glad you're going with it!

This reminds me of that new game Legend of Grimrock, how sweet would it be to have a game like that on the Miggy!
Bluntman is offline  
Old 11 October 2013, 12:44   #12
Lord Riton
Registered User
Lord Riton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: France
Age: 46
Posts: 494
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Riton View Post
Trying to make some sort of graphical "roguelike" game with that engine, like "Dungeon's of Moria", "Angband", etc, but with turn based combat ...
Reading again what i wrote, i realize how useless it is... these roguelike games ARE already turn based combat games
If not they would probably be called action-RPGs.

What i want is real time monster movement (like in Captive or other dungeon master typ games), but at the moment a monster attacks us, or we do attack a monster, the view changes in some strategic 2D playfield with turn based movements/attacks (actually what we have in roguelike games). If several monsters are close, they can join the 2D battlefield affter a combat turn or more, depending on how fast and far away from the player in the 3D dungeon view they were.
Lord Riton is offline  
Old 12 November 2013, 22:06   #13
Lord Riton
Registered User
Lord Riton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: France
Age: 46
Posts: 494
If anyone was curious about me and my Amiga project(s) status:

At the moment i'm not in the mood to program anything on my Amiga. I need to cure my illness, i'm dizzy everyday more and more, i get depressed, the doctors do not know what i have. Still have 2 appointments with 2 specialists, but my hopes aren't to big with them either...
I suspect my illness has to do something with Amalgam in my teeth i have since many years, but the doctors don't beleive on that.

I swear, if i ever get cure of what i have i'll do something BIG for the Amiga with one of the game engines i have done/started, but atm it's just not possible
Lord Riton is offline  
Old 12 November 2013, 22:21   #14
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Riton View Post
At the moment i'm not in the mood to program anything on my Amiga. I need to cure my illness, i'm dizzy everyday more and more, i get depressed, the doctors do not know what i have. Still have 2 appointments with 2 specialists, but my hopes aren't to big with them either...
I suspect my illness has to do something with Amalgam in my teeth i have since many years, but the doctors don't beleive on that.
As you are obviously aware, it's perfectly possible for your illness to be caused - at least in part - by amalgam fillings due to their mercury content. (Just offering moral support here.)

This is one of the reasons why the latest materials are based on glass, with the added benefit that they have a more neutral colour.

I hope you are soon back to health.
prowler is offline  
Old 13 November 2013, 10:00   #15
Lord Riton
Registered User
Lord Riton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: France
Age: 46
Posts: 494
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
As you are obviously aware, it's perfectly possible for your illness to be caused - at least in part - by amalgam fillings due to their mercury content. (Just offering moral support here.)

This is one of the reasons why the latest materials are based on glass, with the added benefit that they have a more neutral colour.

I hope you are soon back to health.
Thanks. I'll go that "mercury" path, if all other exams didn't give any results.
Lord Riton is offline  
Old 14 November 2013, 08:48   #16
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Riton View Post
I swear, if i ever get cure of what i have i'll do something BIG for the Amiga with one of the game engines i have done/started, but atm it's just not possible
That would be really cool to see, hope you get better soon man
NovaCoder is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.73787 seconds with 15 queries