English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 September 2009, 02:54   #1
ami_junkie
 
Posts: n/a
It could have been so good ...

Hi guys, I finally received my A1200 I bought off AmiBay in Japan, and I installed the lovely Indivision AGA and one of the new Typhoon 030/40 boards and booted the machine up. Beautiful screen and wonderfully nippy ..... but .... the sound, the sound is very crunchy and low, almost sounds like a spectrum. I am having the worrying feeling that maybe the CAPs are leaking, I had a check on the motherboard but could not see anything, but maybe it is recent. So I am kind of stuck, should I change the CAPs and if so, is there anyone in Japan who is able to do this? I have exploding thumbs and will probably set my A1200 onto fire if I do something like this. Looking forward to any suggestions, thanks guys!
Cheers,
Timo
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 September 2009, 03:22   #2
8bitbubsy
Registered User

8bitbubsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norway
Age: 28
Posts: 1,255
Send a message via MSN to 8bitbubsy
I had the exact same problem... I thought it was the caps, but no, it was because I overloaded the A1200 PSU... Try using a stronger PSU, like an ATX PSU!

My setup was:
A1200 + Indivision AGA 1200 + 030/50MHz 32MB RAM + 1GB CF
Standard A600/A1200 PSU

The sound works perfectly nice now, with the ATX PSU
8bitbubsy is offline  
Old 24 September 2009, 03:32   #3
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
It does sound like a poor -12v problem with the PSU,

as 8bitbubsy states, change the psu for a better powerd one, a modified ATX would be perfect for it.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 24 September 2009, 03:51   #4
ami_junkie
 
Posts: n/a
Cool thanks guys, I will put in an order with Amigakit then for a stronger PSU. I am terrible at creating a ATX adapter. Thanks for all the help guys, hope it will sort it out. Come to think of it, the machine was really unstable and crashing with guru meditation when I was running it from the hard disk, there was strange tearing on the screen too but when I unplugged the HD and ran from a disk the machine seemed more stable.
 
Old 24 September 2009, 04:10   #5
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
@ami_junky

thats certainly a power problem! you old brick needs replacing, please becarful power spikes from dying psu's can be very damaging to Amiga Components.

Its such a shame you dont live closer, I could sory you out a Converted ATX PSU =(

if you want, find one of the these locally and I will mod it for you, all you would have to pay is postage.... alas Japan, is a long way.....

I do hope to visit Japan one day.... =)


(best to find a good solid PSU in the 120watt or more, an MATX would be perfect)
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 24 September 2009, 04:18   #6
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 2,028
Please let us now how it went ami_junkie.
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 24 September 2009, 04:19   #7
ami_junkie
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks Zetr0, glad to it is just a PSU problem, phew! I`ll make sure not to use the miggy until I get a more powerful supply and thanks for your offer, I will have a look at the total cost from Amigkit and if it works out more I will see if I can find one here and send it to you, I feel bad though if all I would pay is postage, would there be anything you want from Japan? BTW would be great if you come to Japan, let me know if you make it, I`ll take you out for some beers or shochu
 
Old 24 September 2009, 04:20   #8
ami_junkie
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by T_hairy_bootson View Post
Please let us now how it went ami_junkie.
Cheers mate, will keep you updated on the progress.
 
Old 24 September 2009, 04:23   #9
8bitbubsy
Registered User

8bitbubsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norway
Age: 28
Posts: 1,255
Send a message via MSN to 8bitbubsy
http://www.redsretro.com/index.php?m...products_id=20
This one is nifty if you don't want to cut any cables on an ATX PSU.. I use this one with a 360W PSU.
8bitbubsy is offline  
Old 24 September 2009, 04:30   #10
ami_junkie
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8bitbubsy View Post
http://www.redsretro.com/index.php?m...products_id=20
This one is nifty if you don't want to cut any cables on an ATX PSU.. I use this one with a 360W PSU.
Brilliant, that is nice and cheap, I will buy one of those today and see if it makes a difference. Thanks for that one, I had forgotten about Red`s store.
 
Old 24 September 2009, 04:53   #11
Cammy
Registered User
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Age: 33
Posts: 1,134
You can get them cheaper and closer from here - http://www.amigamaniac.com/atx_to_amiga.html just to let you know.
Cammy is offline  
Old 24 September 2009, 05:31   #12
ami_junkie
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cammy View Post
You can get them cheaper and closer from here - http://www.amigamaniac.com/atx_to_amiga.html just to let you know.

Nice one Cammy, just got me in time, I was about to buy from Red`s store, was a bit disapoointed with the shipping cost, will check check out the other site.
 
Old 24 September 2009, 05:47   #13
ami_junkie
 
Posts: n/a
Right I ordered the cable from Amiga Maniac, pretty good 2,500 yen including shipping, I just need to head down to Hard Off (big cheap second hardware shop) and get the right PSU. Thanks for all the help so quickly guys, will let you know how it works along with some pictures of the lovey lady in japan
 
Old 24 September 2009, 05:53   #14
8bitbubsy
Registered User

8bitbubsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norway
Age: 28
Posts: 1,255
Send a message via MSN to 8bitbubsy
Hard Off! Every geek's wet dream.. I've seen some vids of lukemorse1 on youtube, shopping on Hard Off... It's like pr0n!
I hope I end up there when I die.
8bitbubsy is offline  
Old 24 September 2009, 06:00   #15
ami_junkie
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8bitbubsy View Post
Hard Off! Every geek's wet dream.. I've seen some vids of lukemorse1 on youtube, shopping on Hard Off... It's like pr0n!
I hope I end up there when I die.
LOL yeah it is a great place, would be much better if they had Amiga stuff but a Neo Geo AES for 25 quid aint too bad hehehe.
 
Old 24 September 2009, 07:44   #16
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,495
Quote:
Originally Posted by ami_junkie View Post
Right I ordered the cable from Amiga Maniac, pretty good 2,500 yen including shipping, I just need to head down to Hard Off (big cheap second hardware shop) and get the right PSU. Thanks for all the help so quickly guys, will let you know how it works along with some pictures of the lovey lady in japan
Hard Off Cool name. I guess they tried to register the company under the name 'Hard On' but a bureaucrat put a stop to that
Photon is offline  
Old 28 September 2009, 02:30   #17
ami_junkie
 
Posts: n/a
I just had a quick test of the Amiga by taking out the Indivision, Hard drive and Accelerator and ran the same game by disk, the sound is still extremely low and fuzzy sounding. I am running my psu from a transformer from 120 to 240 volts, and the cable from the amiga to the psu has been cut and twisted together again, could this still be the fault of the psu, or could the sound problem be with the motherboard?
 
Old 28 September 2009, 06:30   #18
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 52
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Just re-caping the motherboard to be sure. If the problem is just in the sound output just replace the two 22uF capacitors near the connectors and the problem will go away.
rkauer is offline  
Old 28 September 2009, 06:56   #19
ami_junkie
 
Posts: n/a
Ok, so not too much to replace, how tough is it with the soldering though? I have never unsolder-ed anything before :|
 
Old 28 September 2009, 07:17   #20
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 52
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Pending in your abilities with a soldering iron, not a very hard job.

If you have two soldering irons just heat the two legs of the capacitor and it will sack out the board quite nicely.
rkauer is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need some good help here... xalalalala support.Hardware 4 11 November 2011 21:55
Is this any good? chrispy Hardware mods 23 10 September 2010 18:14
2000 - black screen... Chips good... PSU good... chiark support.Hardware 45 09 January 2009 05:41
Is this any good? ORSM T New to Emulation or Amiga scene 3 30 June 2007 18:22

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.39977 seconds with 12 queries