English Amiga Board Amiga Lore



Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 June 2003, 23:22   #1
Meckert
 
Posts: n/a
cd32 an R7

OK, i have the correct cd32 roms (kick 40.60 and cd32 expanded rom), i configure winuae with ec020, 2 mb chip, and aga and when i start emulation winuae hangs right after it's window is displayed.... sometimes it even freezes the whole machine....

he re is the log :

Press F12 to show the Settings Dialog (GUI), Alt-F4 to quit.
End+F1 changes floppy 0, End+F2 changes floppy 1, etc.
Can't use a graphics card or Zorro III fastmem when using a 24 bit
address space - sorry.
Entered action_replay_load()
.action_replay_memory_reset()
Follow sprite mode set
No disk in drive 0.
Resetting frame rate hack
Building CPU table for configuration: 68020 24-bit addressing
1866 CPU functions
Building CPU function table (2 0 1).
Max CPUID level=2 Processor is GenuineIntel
have_cmov=1, have_rat_stall=1
JIT: Setting signal handler
JIT: Building Compiler function table
Ct: 00000009, picasso_vidinfo.selected_rgbformat 00000000
WinUAE now active via WM_ACTIVATE
SOUND: maximum supported frequency: 0
SOUND: Secondary CreateSoundBuffer() failure: 80070057 S=1 F=0007 C=0057 (87) (Invalid Parameter)
DirectSound driver freed
DDRAW: Primary surface created in video-memory
DDRAW: Secondary surface created in video-memory
CreateOverlaySurface being called with 16-bits!

an that's it. freeze and it's over :-(

oh, and the roms are fine, they work with akiko cd 32 emulation (sound also works)
 
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
Old 14 June 2003, 10:04   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 13,432
Quote:
sometimes it even freezes the whole machine....
Windows 98/ME?

Most common problem is old/buggy ASPI layer. (search older threads for more information about ASPI..)

Quote:
oh, and the roms are fine, they work with akiko cd 32 emulation (sound also works)
This doesn't necessarily mean anything, Akiko isn't real emulator..
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 14 June 2003, 12:20   #3
Meckert
 
Posts: n/a
I've updated ASPI, and winuae still doesen't work with cd32 roms....

I know that Akiko is not a real emulator. It's basically an older version (I dunno which) of WinUAE. So it's strange that it works, and the latest Winuae doesen't .

Help!
 
Old 14 June 2003, 12:49   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 13,432
Does R6 work?

I think the reason for your problem is sound driver bug that disables the sound -> no sound interrupts. Try setting sound to "disabled but emulated".
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 14 June 2003, 13:47   #5
Meckert
 
Posts: n/a
hmmm R6 also doesen't work.... and no, sound setting doesen't make any difference.... also setting different cpu types (ec020/020/030), disabling/enabling JIT, installing newer aspi, turning fastram on/off etc.... nothing helps :-(
 
Old 14 June 2003, 13:50   #6
Meckert
 
Posts: n/a
I also tried 08.21.r1 - the effect is the same
 
Old 14 June 2003, 14:38   #7
Quader
Registered User
Quader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Heidelberg/Germany
Age: 37
Posts: 49
Send a message via ICQ to Quader
Have you already tried another CD, or are you trying always the same?

Have you also tried it with a virtual cd-rom like virtual daemon, i work with this and works perfectly and i had not to update the ASPI-driver with this.

Also, are you shure nobody faked you with the name of the rom, because i got exactly the same problem when using the cdtv-rom which is not supported at the moment.
Quader is offline  
Old 14 June 2003, 14:46   #8
Meckert
 
Posts: n/a
well the rom is ok, since it works with akiko.... which BTW is crap, because it uses an old version of uae for emulating cd 32, and is slower in aga emulation than the current versions.....

the thing happens no matter i run winuae with cd32 cd in or without any cd....an the cd's I use work with akiko... so it must be something with uae......

on the other hand: could you e-mail your cd32 config me at meckert@go2.pl ??
 
Old 14 June 2003, 15:13   #9
Meckert
 
Posts: n/a
Ok, seems that its' the extended rom's fault. I've downloaded two extended rrom files, both of them DO WORK with akiko, and both of the don't work with latest winuae (r6 and r7). Emulator works fine with 40.60 rom, but it freezes right after start when it's configured with extended roms. Strange... When i turn off the winuae task the whole system freezes after winuae exits..
 
Old 14 June 2003, 15:19   #10
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 13,432
Are you sure your Kickstart ROM is real CD32 Kickstart ROM? (regular A1200 ROM won't work)

AFAIK Akiko only uses extended ROM for graphics (startup animations), it does not run any CD32 ROM code.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 14 June 2003, 15:23   #11
Meckert
 
Posts: n/a
it is kickstart 40.60 AFAIK this version was only used in cd32..... so i'm pretty sure it's the correct rom. ok, so it means that i can use it without the extended rom... cool, but how do i boot a cd ?? when i chose the cd as hd directory, the amiga (not winuae) crashed (suspend/reboot window) right after i booted it....
 
Old 14 June 2003, 16:38   #12
Meckert
 
Posts: n/a
ALLERT CALLED OFF!!

Ok, it works, after i've tried it out with the third cd32 expansion rom i've found. Strange that akiko works with either of three (displays cd32 boot anim with no problems). Thanx for hel guys !!!
 
Old 14 June 2003, 18:12   #13
pcGTW_Webmaster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 880
Re: ALLERT CALLED OFF!!

Quote:
Originally posted by Meckert
Strange that akiko works with either of three (displays cd32 boot anim with no problems). Thanx for hel guys !!!
As Toni said, Akiko isn't a real cd32 emulator. Akiko does not execute the extended rom...
pcGTW_Webmaster is offline  
Old 15 June 2003, 08:21   #14
Meckert
 
Posts: n/a
I know... it's really a winuae with a different frontend. And it requires both roms in it's configuration.
 
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using CD32 pad on A1200 running CD32 games issue RetroPaul support.Games 23 14 October 2013 23:51
Beneath a Steel Sky CD32 crashing on WinUAE/CD32 mk1 support.Games 0 18 September 2008 17:45
CD32 games not working on winuae'CD32 emulation laser support.WinUAE 8 03 July 2007 21:49
CD32+SX32 problem booting CD32 discs Rochabian support.Hardware 6 28 February 2007 20:36
CD32+Sx32 ->How to boot with CD32 mode Rochabian support.Hardware 10 04 February 2007 14:33

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19643 seconds with 11 queries